Where are the backups

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by blockie, Mar 23, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. blockie

    blockie Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2007
    Posts:
    73
    I scheduled my backup to operate every week day. It does that. However, I can only find the most recent backup on the restore tag. How can I reach back to an earlier backup? TI 2009.
    Bill
     
  2. nb47

    nb47 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2006
    Posts:
    183
    Possibly , it might be on the Windows 'search'-not sure though.(Or on Ext. HD itself if it's plugged in.
     
  3. blockie

    blockie Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2007
    Posts:
    73
    The backups are made in the Acronis Secure Zone. There are probably more than one ,Buit I can only see the latest.
    Bill
     
  4. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello blockie and nb47,

    Thank you for choosing Acronis Disk Backup Software.

    Could you please clarify the following:

    1. The backup type you create (My Computer\My Data\My e-mail)
    2. The settings of Acronis Secure Zone (specified size)
    3. Do you create a backup per task (incrementals\differentials)?

    Thank you.
    --
    Alexander Nikolsky
     
  5. blockie

    blockie Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2007
    Posts:
    73
    Always a full backup of my system HD.
    Secure Zone size is 150 GB.
    Never a differential or incremental .
     
  6. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello blockie,

    Thank you for using Acronis True Image

    Please download Acronis Report utility available here and run it, create a report and attach it to your post.

    Thank you.

    --
    Oleg Lee
     
  7. blockie

    blockie Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2007
    Posts:
    73
    Here's the report.
     

    Attached Files:

  8. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello blockie,

    Thank you for the provided information.

    Your Acronis Secure Zone contains three full backup files. All of them should be listed on the restore tag. Could you please create a sceen shot of the appropriate program window where only the recent backup is seen?

    If you are not familiar with making screen shots, please read the below step-by-step instructions.

    - Get to the window which you want to make a screen shot of;
    - Hit the (Alt+)PrintScreen button on your keyboard;
    - Run Paint usually available in Start\Programs\Accessories or another graphics application;
    - Choose Paste command in Edit menu;
    - Save the result picture in JPEG format being preferable.

    Please attach the screen shot to your post.

    Thank you.

    --
    Oleg Lee
     
  9. blockie

    blockie Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2007
    Posts:
    73
    Yes I do have three full backups in there. What I want to know is where are all the successful backups that were performed per the calendar? It is my understanding that TI will continue to add backups to the SZ until it is full and then delete the oldest one to make room for the new one.
     

    Attached Files:

  10. jmk94903

    jmk94903 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Posts:
    3,329
    Location:
    San Rafael, CA
    The dates shown on the three backups listed are for 3/7 a day where the backup failed, 3/18 and then 3/30 which hadn't ocurred when you made the screen shots. The backups all have different names.

    Are you sure these are your scheduled backups? Something doesn't make much sense. Is it possible that your scheduled backups are not running at all or are being stored somewhere other than the SZ?
     
  11. blockie

    blockie Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2007
    Posts:
    73
    John,
    You brought up a good point. What I am going to do is copy and then delete all of the backups I will delete the present schedule and start over with a new name. Then we'll see what happens.
    Thanks,
    Bill
     
  12. GroverH

    GroverH Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2006
    Posts:
    2,405
    Location:
    Massachusetts, USA
    blockie,

    1. Do a file search of your computer (external drive attached if being used for backups) and search for *.TIB.

    2. Then go back to the screen as shown in your second attachment and click on the All Backups Tab. Compare this list with the results of your search.

    3. Many of my backups are on externals and I have to use the Browse function (upper right corner) to locate the desired archive.
     
  13. blockie

    blockie Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2007
    Posts:
    73
    GroverH.,
    Too late already deleted. Maybe as I do what I said in the last post I can do it.
    Bill
     
  14. jmk94903

    jmk94903 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Posts:
    3,329
    Location:
    San Rafael, CA
    Sounds like a plan. Let us know what happens.
     
  15. Xpilot

    Xpilot Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2005
    Posts:
    2,318
    I do not use V2009 so my understanding of the problem of multiple full backups may be incomplete.

    Is it not true that to ensure a full backup is not overwritten each time it is necessary to use a workaround?
    Schedule a full backup and also schedule increments with a saved number of zero, consolidation has also to be specified. Apparently this Kludge lets more than one full image to be kept in a secure zone or elsewhere.
    I have not read any reports of what happens when the zone is full.
    Of course FIFO should then kick in just as it used to do in all previous versions of TI , However V2009 incorporates a whole lot of changes which are not for the better.

    Xpilot
     
  16. shieber

    shieber Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2004
    Posts:
    3,710
    I think Xpilot has got it right. It's part of the wild and whacky wonderful world of ATI 12/2009. Unless you name each of your fulls differently, I think you only get one, unless you use the kludge. ATI 12/2009 will keep filling with incs/diffs, if you are doing those kinds of backups, until full and then consolidating.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.