When is the next version of AVG 8.0 coming out?

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by robinb9, May 14, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. robinb9

    robinb9 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2006
    Posts:
    219
    I am talking about the one that fixes the active x incompatibilities that show up on the "Warning tab"

    Grisoft said it was going to be soon, but that was about a month ago.

    Can someone from Grisoft tell us when it will be coming out via the updater?

    thanks
    robin
     
  2. iwod

    iwod Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2004
    Posts:
    708
    I would want to know too... hopefully some speed improvement as well
     
  3. vinzenz.ewido

    vinzenz.ewido former ewido team

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2005
    Posts:
    425
    Location:
    Brno, Czech Republic
    Hi,

    well the first beta for that is scheduled for next week.

    Regards,
    Vinzenz
     
  4. robinb

    robinb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2006
    Posts:
    456
    Location:
    NJ
    please let me know if you want me to test it- i am also running xp sp3

    and i have a test machine to do this

    robin
     
  5. vinzenz.ewido

    vinzenz.ewido former ewido team

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2005
    Posts:
    425
    Location:
    Brno, Czech Republic
    Hi robinb,

    the best would be to track the beta site of AVG, there you can subscribe for testing our beta products :)

    http://www.grisoft.cz/ww.79461

    Regards,
    Vinzenz
     
  6. robinb9

    robinb9 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2006
    Posts:
    219
    i am a member there and i see no software there yet

    robin
     
  7. vinzenz.ewido

    vinzenz.ewido former ewido team

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2005
    Posts:
    425
    Location:
    Brno, Czech Republic
    yeah right, that's why I said it is best to track it :)
    As I said the next beta is scheduled for next week. So at the moment there can't be anything. ;)

    I am not sure if it was postponed already, but I was told about Tuesday. So have a look on Tuesday evening or Wednesday.

    Regards,
    Vinzenz
     
  8. robinb

    robinb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2006
    Posts:
    456
    Location:
    NJ
    ok i will look next week for it
    btw will it work with firefox 3? i am beta testing that one now

    robin
     
  9. vinzenz.ewido

    vinzenz.ewido former ewido team

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2005
    Posts:
    425
    Location:
    Brno, Czech Republic
    Well afaik it should work then, but I am not positive.
    I will have to ask my colleagues on Monday.

    Regards,
    Vinzenz
     
  10. robinb

    robinb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2006
    Posts:
    456
    Location:
    NJ
    btw so you know the link scanner doesn't work in Firefox 3. When installing firefox 3.0 beta it disabled the avg Save Search because it said it is not compatible. Will this be fixed before Firefox 3.0 is final in June? on Grifsoft side?

    robin
     
  11. Macstorm

    Macstorm Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2005
    Posts:
    2,531
    Location:
    Sneffels volcano
    Hi Robinb, sorry for hijack this thread, i have a question about the current AVG 8: how many processes does it run? (standalone av, free or paid, if there's a difference in the number of procs.). Thank you.
     
  12. vinzenz.ewido

    vinzenz.ewido former ewido team

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2005
    Posts:
    425
    Location:
    Brno, Czech Republic
    @robinb

    The Linkscanner was successfully tested in our internal build for Firefox 3 RC1

    @Macstorm:

    It depends on the installed features and what you're doing at the moment but in a peek (when running a scan, updating, and have the GUI opened on a 64 Bit machine with the System Tools active (which uses 2 Processes alone while viewing the component)) then you'll have about 10 Processes running.

    But this is only in the paid version with all features installed.
     
  13. Tarkus

    Tarkus Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2006
    Posts:
    8
    Greetings all,

    Hi Vinzenz,

    Can you share any information about estimated time from beta with ActiveX FPs fixes to the final release?

    And another question, if I may, since Link Scanner was mentioned.
    Was browsing slowdown issue(s) addressed in this beta?
    Because all those web related new features were disabled here

    Thank you in advance
     
  14. robinb9

    robinb9 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2006
    Posts:
    219
    test the USA English Version- the newest one out because when i installed firefox beta it automatically disabled the AVG Scanner during install and if you go to addons you will see it says it is incompatible and is disabled. I did nothing- the program did it all by itself on install

    I used the avg free 8.0 version for this which should not make a difference since they are basically the same except for a bunch of extras.

    I got it here http://www.mozilla.com/en-US/firefox/all-beta.html

    and here is a picture of what is in firefox add ons

    http://home.comcast.net/~robinb9/avgfirefox.jpg

    robin
     
    Last edited: May 19, 2008
  15. Macstorm

    Macstorm Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2005
    Posts:
    2,531
    Location:
    Sneffels volcano
    Thank you Vinzenz :thumb:
     
  16. vinzenz.ewido

    vinzenz.ewido former ewido team

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2005
    Posts:
    425
    Location:
    Brno, Czech Republic
    I am sorry but I am not quite sure what those ActiveX False Positives are related too. Is this related to the AV Scan?
    Well I am not sure what component produces those false positives, but I need to say that I don't know about all the problems which occour with our products. Since the company is not that small like it was with ewido :blink:

    Yes those issue were adressed. The WebShield was heavily improved it's at least 10 times faster than before. And LinkScanner is under improvement all the time as well.

    @robinb9:
    As I said, we tested it with the internal build, not the one outside, so it might be a different result. I cannot go too deep into the details since I am neither in QA nor working on the component at the moment itself.

    Best Regards,
    Vinzenz
     
  17. robinb9

    robinb9 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2006
    Posts:
    219
    Vinzenz, then maybe you should pass my post to someone at Grisoft because firefox 3.0 is coming out in late May or early june and it would not be a good thing if Link Scanner doesn't work with it

    robin
     
  18. vinzenz.ewido

    vinzenz.ewido former ewido team

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2005
    Posts:
    425
    Location:
    Brno, Czech Republic
    I think you didn't get it right. Our internal Linkscanner build was working with the Firefox 3 RC1 and of course we keep track of it. ;)

    I was talking about your results which might be different from our results, because you don't have our internal builds. :)

    BR
    Vinzenz
     
  19. Tarkus

    Tarkus Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2006
    Posts:
    8
    Hi Vinzenz,
    Thanks for reply.
    ActiveX Compatibility (immunization by SpywareBlaster/SpyBot S&D) FP's actually is a major issue. All are waiting for the fix.
    That cause global rollback to v7.5. I did not but I am not using scan with V8 at all (just "happy" with Guard sitting there).
    One of the threads is actually here. Posts 16 & 19 are the central point I think.
    https://www.wilderssecurity.com/showthread.php?p=1231666
    I asked because I was sure FPs will be addressed in stable but not in beta.

    Web related improvements at the same time may stay in beta... because I disabled all those I am not using the said features... so I don't care :D
    But "10 times faster"!..:thumb: if you promise ;) I may check it out in a future final

    Thanks again
    Best wishes
     
  20. robinb

    robinb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2006
    Posts:
    456
    Location:
    NJ
    my results come from downloading at firefox website- their latest rc1. and what is the difference between your internal builds and the one that is on their website now?

    All i know is that i put it on 2 computers so far.
    1 running free avg 8.0
    1 running avg 8.0 pro
    Different complete computers running xp home sp3 and xp pro sp3

    In both cases link scanner was disabled in firefox 3.0
    So I think you need to look into this a bit more and see why it is disabling the Save Search.

    Again I will not sell AVG 8.0 (I am a reseller for AVG) until the active x compatibility issue is fixed and now this issue.

    I cannot have customers calling me up that their system is not working properly because they deleted the items in the "warning" tab thinking they are trojans when they are not or going nuts thinking they have over 400 trojans which they really do not have, until this issue is fixed.

    I have many customers who use firefox and will be downloading the 3.0 when it comes out and would like to know that link scanner is working for them on both ie and firefox.

    How can i reassure them that AVG 8.0 is an excellent product if it has now 2 major faults?

    Once you fix these problems then I will again sell your product.

    robin
     
  21. vinzenz.ewido

    vinzenz.ewido former ewido team

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2005
    Posts:
    425
    Location:
    Brno, Czech Republic
    Hi Robin,

    Ok I try it once more. The internal build of the linkscanner (Means AVG Internal not any what is out at the moment) was tested with Firefox 3 RC1 and it has been working with it. Means the compatibility will come with the SP1 release of AVG 8.

    About the ActiveX issue, could you please provide some more information?
    What issue is it? A detection of ActiveX objects as malware? Or what?

    We're really in need of more input about that topic.

    Regards,
    Vinzenz
     
  22. Tarkus

    Tarkus Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2006
    Posts:
    8
    Hi Vinzenz,
    In my post above I put the link to the discussion in this forum but that issue is all over the whole huge spider's Net :)
    Cheers
     
  23. vinzenz.ewido

    vinzenz.ewido former ewido team

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2005
    Posts:
    425
    Location:
    Brno, Czech Republic
    Ah now I see. Well "JardaN" who replied there is from our engine development team and he already answered the question. Thanks for this link Tarkus I wasn't aware that he was answering in this forum.

    To quote him for all here:

    It means that this fix will be included in the AVG 8 SP1 beta which should be out there soon and the release for the SP1 of AVG 8 is scheduled for mid of June.

    Regards,
    Vinzenz
     
  24. robinb

    robinb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2006
    Posts:
    456
    Location:
    NJ
    i went there today and there is still no beta. You said either tuesday or Wednesday. Today is Wednesday. Can you give me an idea when to go there?

    robin
     
  25. vinzenz.ewido

    vinzenz.ewido former ewido team

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2005
    Posts:
    425
    Location:
    Brno, Czech Republic
    Well the internal schedule has been for the 20th but it seems like this has been post poned a week because of the internal testings.
    I wasn't aware of this there was no internal notification of it.

    I am sorry for it :(

    Regards,
    Vinzenz
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.