When is a new build coming out?

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by Artistar, Apr 9, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Artistar

    Artistar Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2007
    Posts:
    12
    Almost six months without a new build?! Come on Acronis - do you people really think that you can get away with this kind of behavior towards your customers?
    That same customers should be No.1 in every modern company, and ignoring every user's complaint in this forum just shows that you don't belong to that same group.

    I have encountered numerous bugs (on both TI and DD), all reported on this same forum by other users, and most of them are from previous versions (some even from version 9!). That is pathetic! How dare you release new versions every year or so without straiting things out with the old ones?!

    Backup software MUST be stable and reliable, because it's core purpose is to kick in when all other software fails to be stable and reliable. Think about it for a bit, and maybe, just maybe, you may understand how to successfully do business on a long therm.

    The current situation is a disaster and you should better consider allocating your people from working on a new version to cleaning up this mess that you made.

    Until then i'm going to try some competitors software, and after some time come back to see if anything has changed.
     
  2. pluskey

    pluskey Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2007
    Posts:
    19
    I too am frustrated with the Acronis TI11 product defects. The most severe I found was the password security defect which unlocks your backups. The second most severe problem I found is the scheduler stop problem.

    I used in the past a backup product from Novastor (www.novastor.com) and was happy with it, but TI offered a one-stop shop for backup and system imaging.

    Until TI10, I had no problems. TI11 is so badly broken, I downgraded back to V10 while awaiting bug fixes.

    I may end up going back to novastor if Acronis doesn't fix soon.
     
  3. Magic Man

    Magic Man Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2008
    Posts:
    3
    As a new user I find these posts slightly worrying :eek: What exactly is "broken" in TI11 that I should be aware about...?
     
  4. winders

    winders Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2008
    Posts:
    15
    Magic Man,

    Keep in mind that people with problems are always more vocal than people without problems. TI11 is not a perfect product. But, in general, it works quite well. For me, and what I use TI11 for, it works great.

    The sky isn't falling.....

    S-
     
  5. jmk94903

    jmk94903 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Posts:
    3,329
    Location:
    San Rafael, CA
    It all depends on where you are standing. :)
     
  6. winders

    winders Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2008
    Posts:
    15
    John,

    The fact that not everyone is experiencing problems proves the sky is not falling. If every part of TI11 had problems and did not work and work well for most people, the story would be different. Do I want the bugs fixed? Yes! Is it ridiculous that major bugs make it from one major release to another? Of course it is. But that does not make my observations any less accurate.

    S-
     
  7. Xpilot

    Xpilot Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2005
    Posts:
    2,318
    TI 10 on my XP computer works a heck of a lot better than TI 11.
    In my innocence I had always assumed that improvements and fixes in one edition would be passed on to the next. This is what had happened from Version 8 to 9 to 10. The first build of Version 11 was a disaster in terms of new and old bugs which had resurfaced. It was so bad that it disappared from the web site update when the second build came out. Some of the bugs were were fixed with the second current build but several things which worked in previous versions still do not work as they should and some much requested improvements were not included.
    I jumped ship and went back to version 10.

    Xpilot
     
  8. brandis

    brandis Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2005
    Posts:
    60
    I did have a talk about this with the support about this matter, this is what they wrote:

    We plan to release new build of Acronis True Image 11 Home English right after release of the first service pack for Windows Vista, which will be released in April.​

    As I did allready wrote in my post, since I started to use TI 6.0 in my company, I did never regred it and it did save me from some PC desasters. Even if some propblems appear in a version or a hardware was not supported, I did get solutions and workarounds from the support. This support is very important and would hope that other software companies would work like Acronis. Unfortunatly the most do not really have something like this.
     
  9. jmk94903

    jmk94903 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Posts:
    3,329
    Location:
    San Rafael, CA
    Sorry if it seemed that I was making any kind of disparaging remark about your observations. I think they are quite accurate.

    All I meant to say was that for the ones with the problem/bug that was preventing TI from working, then their sky was falling. Unfortunately, there seem to be too many such people with version 11.

    For those who have no problem, it's fine. I don't use any of the advanced features, so TI 11 is fine for me. But I do think that scheduling should work, and if a feature is added, it should work and not randomly stop or never work for users.
     
  10. haerdalis

    haerdalis Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2006
    Posts:
    74
    I've been waiting for a new build to resolve the need to ALWAYS delete/create same task after a restore..
    The restore changes the diskid and therefore invalidating any tasks made for the drive in question.

    I hope the new build comes soon..
     
  11. RAD

    RAD Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2007
    Posts:
    332
    Who really wants to use backup software that is known to have multiple, serious bugs that will prevent restoration of images ? Security is the whole reason for such software. 'It works most of the time" is just sort of silly. :D

    Of course, I am one for whom it doesn't work. But I don't have any sort of unusual computer system at all. It is as mainstream as could possible be (an HP, with Athlon dual-core) No unusual devices, drives, etc...
     
  12. Dave49

    Dave49 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2008
    Posts:
    162
    Location:
    Northeast U.S.
    Software companies don't make any money fixing current software. They make money coming out with new "improved" versions. They are in a tough position.

    ~Dave
     
  13. winders

    winders Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2008
    Posts:
    15
    Dave,

    Any software company with a large installed base should have two groups of engineers: one developing new releases and another doing "Sustaining Engineering" or maintaining current software releases.

    Acronis should be doing this too. And any bugs should be fixed with new releases promptly. Basically Acronis is falling down on the job here and they would be wise to address it before that lose more loyal customers to flawed products.

    S-
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.