What's your WEI score? Only Win 7

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by sir_carew, Dec 23, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. sir_carew

    sir_carew Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2003
    Posts:
    884
    Location:
    Santiago, Chile
    Hello,
    Considering you had Windows 7 (Vista's max score is limited to 5,9), which are the scores of your hardware components? a.k.a. WEI score.
    Please specify the scores and the hardware you had.
    My hardware is in my signature.

    Mine are: (My hard disk is a bottleneck however I can play games perfectly at high resolutions and quality without issues)
    I had Windows 7 Ultimate x64.
     

    Attached Files:

    • wei.jpg
      wei.jpg
      File size:
      151.3 KB
      Views:
      60
    Last edited: Dec 27, 2009
  2. ronjor

    ronjor Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2003
    Posts:
    57,757
    Location:
    Texas
    Windows Experience Index
     
  3. 1boss1

    1boss1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2009
    Posts:
    401
    Location:
    Australia
    wei.png

    How did you get 7.3 for RAM? I also have 4GB of RAM but DDR3, and yours says DDR2 i thought the 3 would of been faster than 2.

    Mine is a Quad Core Q8300 2.5Ghz, and the video is NVIDIA GeForce GT 220 according to SIW.
     
  4. sir_carew

    sir_carew Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2003
    Posts:
    884
    Location:
    Santiago, Chile
    Hi,
    I'm not an Intel's architecture expert since I built my systems based in AMD components (except for netbook) but as far as I know your processor only accept DDR2 memory. i5 or i7 from Intel accept DDR3 and Q8300 is a Core2Quad model.
    Anyway is strange my score because my ram are just only Kingston Value RAM 667 MHz and there're quicker DDR2 models like 1066 or more if you OC.
    My RAM score is higher than you because AMD processor had the memory controller itself unlike Intel that had it at chipset level (except the new i7 architecture that had integrated memory controller) and the fact that Phenom give you the possibility to enable unganged mode to enhance multi core applications.

     
  5. whitedragon551

    whitedragon551 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2008
    Posts:
    3,189
    Location:
    USA
    My laptop specs are in my sig. Sad thing is the 9500GS 512Mb GPU is rated that low on a scale up to 7.9. I have yet to find a game it cant play. Its the same card as an 8600GT, but on a smaller die so it actually runs cooler.
     

    Attached Files:

  6. Zero3K

    Zero3K Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2004
    Posts:
    340
    Here's my WEI score:

    WEI.png
     
  7. sir_carew

    sir_carew Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2003
    Posts:
    884
    Location:
    Santiago, Chile
    That's a cool notebook :cool:
    Why your GPU Aero score is lower than 3d one? I think that games are much more demanding than Aero GUI.
    This 4850 in the contrary run very hot, a good card but with a very bad thermal design. With FAN at 80% speed graphic card reach 80° while playing.

     
  8. 1boss1

    1boss1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2009
    Posts:
    401
    Location:
    Australia
    Interesting thanks.

    I'm not much of a hardware expert, i had an AMD for the last 5 years and only 3 weeks ago got this Intel Quad Core simply because it was one of the better ones the shop had and since i work online and do a lot of multi-tasking it seemed to fit the bill.

    Strange it doesn't support DDR3 since that's how it came, and the DDR3 RAM was one of the things that influenced my decision to get it.

    Anyhow after i made the post yesterday, i got curious about the WEI RAM score compared to yours and i noticed that despite it having 4GB the system only sees 3072MB. So i guess this maybe another reason, your using 64 bit and addressing all 4GB of yours. Not sure if this effects the WEI score or not.

    But this is the CPU/RAM info from Everest

    http://i49.tinypic.com/ve0hex.png

    I might need to do some research about my processor not accepting DDR3, i may have to get a refund and get one of those i7 ones instead. :argh:
     
  9. SourMilk

    SourMilk Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2006
    Posts:
    630
    Location:
    Hawaii
    Here is my WEI:

    SMWEI.jpg

    Alienware Aurora
    Intel CPU 7 - 920 (stock)
    ATI Radeon 5870
    DDR3 6 GB
    850 W Power Supply
     
  10. sir_carew

    sir_carew Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2003
    Posts:
    884
    Location:
    Santiago, Chile
    Sorry, I was wrong. As I said, my knowledge aren't so advanced at Intel side. Apparently Core2Quad generation is compatible with DDR3 as well.
    Here's an article about that: http://www.tomshardware.com/reviews/core-memory-scaling,2342.html

     
  11. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    8,644
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    Here is one at the other end of the spectrum. My test computer.

    Pentium 4 1.3 GHz
    384 MB RDRAM
    32 MB Video card
    9 GB Win7 partition
     

    Attached Files:

  12. Meriadoc

    Meriadoc Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2006
    Posts:
    2,642
    Location:
    Cymru
    @Brian, how well does it run?
     
  13. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    8,644
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    Meriadoc,

    It is quite acceptable, surprisingly. A little slow as you would expect. I mainly use the computer for image/restore testing and multi-booting testing. WinXP, Vista, Win7, Ubuntu, DOS.

    I have installed Ghost 15 into Win7 and as expected it is slow, but it works. I've done a lot of tests with Ghost 15, cloning the partition to another HD. Something that I would not have been able to do from my main computer so I can live with the somewhat less than blazing speed.

    Vista on this computer was terrible. Not worth playing with.
     
  14. Meriadoc

    Meriadoc Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2006
    Posts:
    2,642
    Location:
    Cymru
    Mmm, similar experience on comparable test machine.

    Here's scores for a P4 2.93Ghz 512mb test machine. No av, not that I would install av not my everyday machine but 7 runs very well indeed.
     

    Attached Files:

  15. sir_carew

    sir_carew Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2003
    Posts:
    884
    Location:
    Santiago, Chile
    My netbook scores a little higher than your PC except for the HDD.
    I though that installing Windows 7 with less than 1GB of RAM was impossible but not :eek:

     
  16. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    8,644
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    384 MB is OK.
     
  17. Reimer

    Reimer Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2008
    Posts:
    217
    Intel C2D E8400
    6GB DDR2 RAM
    Nvidia 8800GT
    OCZ Vertex SSD
     

    Attached Files:

  18. Franklin

    Franklin Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2005
    Posts:
    2,517
    Location:
    West Aussie
    So why does my Raptor 74 gig and WD 640 gig drives post the same score?

    Score.JPG
     
  19. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Webroot Product Advisor

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    12,012
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    Well here is mine! Dell XPS M1710 Laptop Core 2 Duo T7600G 2.33Mhz The G stands for Unlocked Processor and able to Over Clock to 3.16Mhz, 4GB OCZ DDR2 677 RAM, Nvidia 7900GS 256DDR3, 320GB 7200RPM SATAII Hard Drive, 17" 1920x1200 screen! And it screams! And the second test is Over Clocked to the Max! Still not bad for a 3 year old Laptop! :cool:

    TH
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: Dec 28, 2009
  20. guest

    guest Guest

    Using an Acer Aspire 5100-5033 bought in 2007.

    It was the first Acer notebook which came with a graphics card compatible with Vista Aero interface (a now ancient ATI Radeon Xpress 1100 with 256MB of shared HyperMemory).

    wei score.jpg
     
  21. Ade 1

    Ade 1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2006
    Posts:
    471
    Location:
    In The Bath
    Here's mine. Got 2 HDDs in Raid 0 which have the same index (5.9) as I had in Vista. My other hardware is I7 920@3.20ghz, BFG nVidia GTX 295 and 12gb of Corsair DDR3 ram@1600hz. Running W7 x64.
     

    Attached Files:

    • WEI.png
      WEI.png
      File size:
      43.3 KB
      Views:
      9
  22. Sputnik

    Sputnik Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2005
    Posts:
    1,198
    Location:
    Москва
    First one to post a WEI where the processor is the bottleneck :p
    It's a shame to see so many systems where the HDD is the bottleneck, a fast HDD is the key to a smooth working system.

    Specifications:
    Intel Core2Duo E6300 @ 1.86GHz (standard clockspeed)
    Intel DP-965LT Motherboard
    4GB Corsair DDR2-800
    XFX NVIDIA GeForce 7600GT
    Seagate 7200.10 320GB (Primary)
    Samsung F1 1TB (Secondary)
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: Dec 29, 2009
  23. sir_carew

    sir_carew Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2003
    Posts:
    884
    Location:
    Santiago, Chile
    What processor do you had? Maybe a little OC will help you :p
    HDD bottleneck are very notorious when for example I'm decompressing huge amount of files in RAR packages and processor usage is only 20% but HDD is at 100% or when I'm installing games.

     
  24. Fuzzfas

    Fuzzfas Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2007
    Posts:
    2,753
    Here's mine.

    2.png

    I don't care about the 3,7. For my current gaming habbits, it's irrelevant.

    AMD quad 605, 8 GB DDR2 800Mhz.
     
    Last edited: Dec 29, 2009
  25. Sputnik

    Sputnik Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2005
    Posts:
    1,198
    Location:
    Москва
    Good suggestion, however this motherboard doesn't allow overclocking :( This system was paid by my employer and at that time this board was the only stable (workstation-class) 965 board that fitted the budget. I believe I put this system together somewhere in January 2007.

    Updated previous post with specs.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.