What's up with NOD's servers?

Discussion in 'NOD32 version 2 Forum' started by JimmyD, Sep 13, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. JimmyD

    JimmyD Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2004
    Posts:
    100
    Since approximately Sept 8, '04, I've been getting alot of "error connecting to server" whenever NOD32 tries to do it's auto update. I recently updated to version 2.12 and it hasn't gotten any better. Most of the time it's server u2a.eset.com that fails to connect although sometimes some of the others fail. I'm running WIN XP, have NOT downloaded SP2 yet. Any idea what the problem with NOD's servers are?

    Thanks,

    JD
     
  2. Mele20

    Mele20 Former Poster

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2002
    Posts:
    2,495
    Location:
    Hilo, Hawaii
    That's the USA server. I have 19 connection errors for that server since the last update on Sept 10. I can ping that server just fine so I think it just means no update available. I just changed the choice of servers from automatic to U2a and then tried to manually update. I got an instant response that I have the latest update. So, I don't think those errors mean much.
     
  3. leehigdon3

    leehigdon3 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2004
    Posts:
    132
    Location:
    Plano, TX USA
    I *think* what you're seeing is that u2a is the first derver to get the request. On my system, ~50% of the time the connection fails and bounces over to the next in line. That likely means everyone/anyone updating will all converge on the same server and, depending on traffic, the probability is some percentage will see these errors. The good news is , this problem which was affecting all servers last week, seems to have gotten much better.
     
  4. azumi21

    azumi21 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2004
    Posts:
    129
  5. MNKid

    MNKid Guest

    Well, I hope that http://www.eset.sk/ is working for you guys, because it is not working here in my part of the US. The other 2 servers do not respond either.

    To me, this is a totally unacceptable situation. I guess it's one of those things you never think about much until a problem arises. For antivirus programs especially, though, this should NEVER happen.

    I am a satified customer overall, despite the problems some have encountered with the new version, but this is just one of those things that really bugs me.

    MNKid
     
  6. JimmyD

    JimmyD Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2004
    Posts:
    100
    There definitely has to be some type of problem. I've gotten sporadic connection errors before but not nearly the rate I'm getting them now. If there are no new updates when it checks, it should not display a connection error message. If you can ping the server ok, it's probably working at the time you are pinging it.
     
  7. Sweetie(*)(*)

    Sweetie(*)(*) Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2004
    Posts:
    419
    Location:
    Venus
    if u need to update[currenet 1.869] click on update setup choose the eset.sk.com server. it seemed to work for me.
     
    Last edited: Sep 13, 2004
  8. JimmyD

    JimmyD Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2004
    Posts:
    100
    I eventually can get the latest update, it's the constant "error connecting to server" that bothers me.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.