Whats the latest ZAP version?

Discussion in 'other firewalls' started by ellison64, Dec 8, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. ellison64

    ellison64 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2003
    Posts:
    2,499
  2. Chubb

    Chubb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2005
    Posts:
    1,967
    9.1.008.000 is the latest
     
  3. tipo

    tipo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2008
    Posts:
    408
    Location:
    romania
  4. fax

    fax Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2005
    Posts:
    3,723
    Location:
    localhost
  5. ellison64

    ellison64 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2003
    Posts:
    2,499
    Thanks for the clarification ,ill update manually
    ellison
     
  6. disPlay

    disPlay Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2009
    Posts:
    17
    Location:
    Lisbon
    Anyone thing that zone alarm is still a god firewall?
     
  7. gery

    gery Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2008
    Posts:
    1,785
    I would not think of ZA as a god but as a very good firewall. yes it is very good as always has been. :thumb:
     
  8. fax

    fax Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2005
    Posts:
    3,723
    Location:
    localhost
    "God" may be excessive... :D always the best... YES :p :D :p
     
  9. gery

    gery Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2008
    Posts:
    1,785
    my point too :thumb: :thumb: :thumb: :thumb: :thumb:
     
  10. nomarjr3

    nomarjr3 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2007
    Posts:
    502
    It still is the best firewall I have ever used (for me anyway :D )

    As soon as it was compatible with Windows 7, I installed it on all of my systems.

    Together with Norton, it is a solid combination.
     
    Last edited: Dec 11, 2009
  11. Fajo

    Fajo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2008
    Posts:
    1,812
    I'm surprised you are not having issues with Norton and ZA On my system no matter what I tried they wont install and work together.
     
  12. ellison64

    ellison64 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2003
    Posts:
    2,499
    Im finding the firewall very good ,although it was consuming 30% cpu for a while.Apparently it installs (sometimes? or always?) with debug log set to default rather than off.To complicate things further the debug menu is hidden but pressing CTRL SHIFT and right clicking the tray icon brings it up.
    ellison
     
  13. fax

    fax Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2005
    Posts:
    3,723
    Location:
    localhost
    Hi!
    debug level has always been at default, it can be a very useful tool. In fact, heavy writing in logs (i.e. heavy filtering of the ZA truevector monitor superseding all system activity) can be an indirect indication of a potential conflict in the system (typically third party software) or corrupted/incorrect ZA settings.

    Anyway, unless you expect to contact support for troubleshooting the debug logs can be happily left off. :)
     
  14. ellison64

    ellison64 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2003
    Posts:
    2,499
  15. fax

    fax Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2005
    Posts:
    3,723
    Location:
    localhost
    Yeap, I know... but this does not solve the problem, only removes the symptoms (like an aspirin).

    High CPU may be driven by many different factors, the most common is conflicts. Some of these conflicts can be resolved easily (e.g. exceptions in respective packages) others not and requires a software patch.

    The option is hidden since it is only supposed to be used on request by ZA support :)

    Well... if it works... then happy surfing. :thumb:
     
  16. BILL G

    BILL G Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2004
    Posts:
    80
    Location:
    MN USA
    ellison64
    Thanks for the Info
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.