What's Running-- calling home?

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by aigle, Feb 25, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. aigle

    aigle Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2005
    Posts:
    11,111
    Location:
    Saudi Arabia/ Pakistan
    Anybody using What's Running?

    I wonder why it needs to call home? For updates? BTW grossly I did not find any option for updates or may be mised it.
    Any idaes?

    Thanks
     

    Attached Files:

    • w.jpg
      w.jpg
      File size:
      39.7 KB
      Views:
      161
  2. screamer

    screamer Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2006
    Posts:
    922
    Location:
    Big Apple USA
    aigle,

    I don't think it's necessary to "allow" it to call home. I believe it checks the "version you are using" and will suggest updates (manually). Also it's a parent to your browser to check application status on WhatsRunning.net.
    Personally, I allow it "limited" DNS activity.

    hth,

    ...screamer
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Feb 25, 2007
  3. twl845

    twl845 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2005
    Posts:
    4,186
    Location:
    USA
    aigle - on the top toolbar on the right of the main page it says "updater". Click that to check for updates. :)
     
  4. aigle

    aigle Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2005
    Posts:
    11,111
    Location:
    Saudi Arabia/ Pakistan
    Thanks. I had denied its access. BTW not found the Check for updates option. Can u post a snapshot.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.