What's Running-- calling home?

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by aigle, Feb 25, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. aigle

    aigle Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2005
    Posts:
    11,047
    Location:
    Saudi Arabia/ Pakistan
    Anybody using What's Running?

    I wonder why it needs to call home? For updates? BTW grossly I did not find any option for updates or may be mised it.
    Any idaes?

    Thanks
     

    Attached Files:

    • w.jpg
      w.jpg
      File size:
      39.7 KB
      Views:
      161
  2. screamer

    screamer Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2006
    Posts:
    921
    Location:
    Big Apple USA
    aigle,

    I don't think it's necessary to "allow" it to call home. I believe it checks the "version you are using" and will suggest updates (manually). Also it's a parent to your browser to check application status on WhatsRunning.net.
    Personally, I allow it "limited" DNS activity.

    hth,

    ...screamer
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Feb 25, 2007
  3. twl845

    twl845 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2005
    Posts:
    4,186
    Location:
    USA
    aigle - on the top toolbar on the right of the main page it says "updater". Click that to check for updates. :)
     
  4. aigle

    aigle Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2005
    Posts:
    11,047
    Location:
    Saudi Arabia/ Pakistan
    Thanks. I had denied its access. BTW not found the Check for updates option. Can u post a snapshot.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.