What's difference between v11 and 2009?

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by tonyseeking, Mar 8, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. tonyseeking

    tonyseeking Former Poster

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2008
    Posts:
    406
    I own Acronis Trueimage v11.

    What is the difference between v11 and the new Trueimage 2009?

    Worth upgrading? And if so, for what benefits? Because v11 seems to work good on my Vista and Linux partitions now.

    So any benefit for me to upgrade to Trueimage 2009?

    Thanks.
     
  2. jmk94903

    jmk94903 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Posts:
    3,329
    Location:
    San Rafael, CA
    Read this forum about all the problems with TI 2009 and then ask yourself if you have enough problems already. If you don't, then go ahead and upgrade.

    If TI 11 is working for you, be happy and wait until you buy new hardware that won't work with TI 11. Then you'll need to upgrade.
     
  3. shieber

    shieber Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2004
    Posts:
    3,710
    Otoh, if you are one of the many folks that ATI11's many critical bugs drove absolutely nuts, then moving on to ATI12 or even better, moving back to ATI 10 might be just the thing you need. ATI11 is the buggiest and most seriously flawed of all ATI releases, including 12/2009, which comes in a close second. Acronis just doesn't devote the resurces to bug fixes that it used to.

    ATI 12 use a new way of dealing managing files -- it keeps an internal database of backups so any file operations on bckups must be done with ATI -- no more deleting or copying form within explorer isyo know what's good for you. AATI12 finally fixes the bug wre restore to Vista need to be reparied before the partiont is bootable -- score one for "finally they got it right." Otoh, Backup Locations are no longer a part of ATI and that brings a host of changes. Still if using ATI 11 is like getting a club to the head evry time you try it, you might find 12/2009 to no worse than a slap in the face. Either can work on some systems if not much is demanded of them.

    I wouldn't upgrade unless a specific function that you need and the upgrade has, your current version lacks. That's why I tossed ATI 11 and 12 and continue to use ATI 10. Folks with newer hardware won't have that luxury, however.
     
  4. seekforever

    seekforever Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2005
    Posts:
    4,751
    Not really. It can be a bit disconcerting when you don't see an archive listed in the default list but if you do a Browse they can all be found. I only do manual full images and the only time I have ever used an already created task was when my archive disk ran out of space during the imaging and I had to clean it up. I was able to re-run the last task TI created.
     
  5. valnar

    valnar Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2006
    Posts:
    137
    Is it time to jump ship? I'm still on v10 and want something that recognizes AHCI/SATA natively without a Bart boot disk. What else is out there?
     
  6. yashau

    yashau Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Posts:
    151
    Yes 11 is very buggy. I can't get version 10 to install on Windows 7 x64 so I have to resort to version 11. Btw 2009 wont install either.
     
  7. BChat

    BChat Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2006
    Posts:
    79
    I have been using version 10 in every 64 bit build of Windows 7 - 6801 - 6936 - 7000 - 7022 - 7048. Sometimes you have to use the Troubleshooter in the Control Panel to get it to install. Sometimes you have to right click on setup.exe and use the compatibility mode. I always right click on setup.exe and run as administrator. IMO version 10 is much better than version 11. I do complete backup and restores manually. I have done over 50 with all the Win7 installs, not 1 single problem.

    FWIW - ATI 2009 will install in Win7 build 7048, I've tried it, I prefer version 10 - JMO.
     
  8. yashau

    yashau Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Posts:
    151
    Didn't try the troubleshooter thing sorry because sometimes it causes problems in the long run (issues and etc) but anyway if it works fine for you I'm reverting to 10 right away :D . By the way I tried 2009 first assuming since since it was the latest version it would work better but it didn't install on build 7000 and never really tried it again on 7048. Did they release a new version to make it compatible? Thanks
     
  9. BChat

    BChat Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2006
    Posts:
    79
    No new version of ATI - they must have changed Win 7 in build 7041 to accept ATI 2009.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.