What would you run with Sandboxie?

Discussion in 'other anti-malware software' started by justenough, Nov 14, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. justenough

    justenough Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2010
    Posts:
    1,509
    Is there a security risk that you think Sandboxie might not be dealing with? Which program would you run with Sandboxie to take care of that risk?
     
  2. tomazyk

    tomazyk Guest

    I don't know of any way how something would break SBIE protection. I complement SBIE with Malware Defender. I doubt there is anything out there that would successfully break out of sandbox and then bypass my HIPS.
     
  3. justenough

    justenough Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2010
    Posts:
    1,509
    This is why I ask the question, tomazyk, I haven't experienced or even heard of anything bypassing Sbie, and yet I often have Privatefirewall running, which I think is similar to Malware Defender. It's hard to know what vulnerabilities to cover for when nothing is getting by.
     
  4. tomazyk

    tomazyk Guest

    My thoughts exactly :) A good HIPS or BB is sufficient addition to SBIE in my opinion.
     
  5. kjdemuth

    kjdemuth Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2005
    Posts:
    2,960
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    Appguard, a few OD scanners and a good firewall. Just in care something got downloaded and recovered.
     
  6. blacknight

    blacknight Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2007
    Posts:
    2,434
    Location:
    Europe
    A fw with a classical HIPS and an av.
     
  7. Dark Shadow

    Dark Shadow Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2007
    Posts:
    4,553
    Location:
    USA
    AppGuard in lockdown.On Demand - Hitman Pro and malwarebytes.
     
  8. Dark Shadow

    Dark Shadow Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2007
    Posts:
    4,553
    Location:
    USA
    I dont think you have to worry to much if something escapes but more of what is allowed to run or have internet access in the sandboxie.Use its restrictions to reinforce its already strong protection and there very little to worry about IMO.The only security risk I can see at the moment would be a user mistake.
     
    Last edited: Nov 14, 2011
  9. blasev

    blasev Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2010
    Posts:
    763
    I still think a malware must be detected even tough it was trapped on sandbox. So that I know where did they come from, and what was my mistake.

    So I vote for AV :D

    And firewall for blocking incoming threat. Outgoing is not a big issue if we use sandboxie restriction
     
  10. Hungry Man

    Hungry Man Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2011
    Posts:
    9,148
    EMET, that's it.
     
  11. Trooper

    Trooper Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2005
    Posts:
    2,825
    You keep dropping the name of AppGuard.

    /me thinks I gotta look into this.

    Thanks.
     
  12. Page42

    Page42 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2007
    Posts:
    5,829
    Location:
    Last Breath Farm
    I like this explanation, blasev. :thumb:
     
  13. jmonge

    jmonge Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Posts:
    12,883
    Location:
    Canada
    AppGuard blocks the nasties;) :thumb:
     
  14. Cyrano2

    Cyrano2 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2010
    Posts:
    125
    Location:
    Spain
    Sandboxie has became my main tool against malware and I only use an AV because it's handy to not have to worry too much about my downloads :).
     
  15. Francis93

    Francis93 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2011
    Posts:
    311
    AppGuard in lock down. :thumb:
     
  16. kjdemuth

    kjdemuth Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2005
    Posts:
    2,960
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    Yeah I'm not too worried about anything escaping. I'm worried about me downloading something and forgetting to scan it or leaving it out of my sandbox folder. Human error to be more precise. ;) I just happen to be human.
     
  17. Dark Shadow

    Dark Shadow Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2007
    Posts:
    4,553
    Location:
    USA
    I love it,No impact on my netbook and with lockdown I feel very safe.
     
  18. jmonge

    jmonge Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Posts:
    12,883
    Location:
    Canada
    agree dave:D :thumb:
     
  19. Dark Shadow

    Dark Shadow Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2007
    Posts:
    4,553
    Location:
    USA
    Exactly.I almost ran malware unsandboxie once.:eek:
     
    Last edited: Nov 14, 2011
  20. jmonge

    jmonge Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Posts:
    12,883
    Location:
    Canada
    i tested sadboxie againts a adove flash player malware type ,saved it/recover it to my documents and i pretended i dint know a peep about sandboxie at all and i got infected ofcourse:D and i one day let my sister in law use my pc after i came home i found like 250 items in my destop:D hitman pro took care of it
     
  21. Dark Shadow

    Dark Shadow Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2007
    Posts:
    4,553
    Location:
    USA
    Opps.
     
  22. jmonge

    jmonge Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Posts:
    12,883
    Location:
    Canada
    for me it was like a natural malware testing:D
     
  23. kjdemuth

    kjdemuth Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2005
    Posts:
    2,960
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    Yeah did a similar thing. I had opened up an email link from my bank. I opened up in another window. I didn't think anything of it and was about to enter my account login when Prevx safeonline said that my link might be a phishing link. Sure enough it was. I didn't notice that the bank of america was out of .CHM. Whoops. ALmost a really big mistake.
     
  24. jmonge

    jmonge Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Posts:
    12,883
    Location:
    Canada
    :cool: :D webroot saved your bacon:thumb:
     
  25. m00nbl00d

    m00nbl00d Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2009
    Posts:
    6,623
    What do you intend as a Sandboxie bypass? Deliberately bypassing it or unintentionally bypassing it? The latter one happened before... So, the question is: Could any malware unintentionally bypass Sandboxie? :argh:

    That said, I got AppLocker.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.