What should I pair with MSE?

Discussion in 'other anti-malware software' started by Metal425, Jan 19, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Metal425

    Metal425 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2007
    Posts:
    188
    Location:
    Southern California
    I just got MSE the other day for my new Windows 7 x64 Ultimate install, and I love it so far. I need some advice on what else I should run next to it, any advice? This is my gaming PC.
     
  2. JerryM

    JerryM Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2003
    Posts:
    4,221
    I don't game, but have become convinced that some degree of layering is necessary. Accordingly, I run MBAM in real time with KIS. Others that might be considered are SAS and A-squared.

    Regards,
    Jerry
     
  3. wat0114

    wat0114 Guest

    Applocker and LUA.
     
  4. dcrowe0050

    dcrowe0050 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2009
    Posts:
    378
    Location:
    NC
    DefenseWall, Online Armor, Sandboxie, MBAM

    Whatever suits you best. I am currently running DefenseWall and Avast 5 Free and I think it is the best setup I have ever tried. Very light and very secure.
    Just don't try Geswall with it, those two did not play well together when I tested them.
     
  5. pegr

    pegr Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2008
    Posts:
    2,279
    Location:
    UK
    Prevx is another possibility.
     
  6. Threedog

    Threedog Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2005
    Posts:
    1,125
    Location:
    Nova Scotia, Canada
    Defensewall and MSE dont get along at the moment. Ilya has contacted Microsoft about the problem but hasn't heard anything back.
     
  7. dcrowe0050

    dcrowe0050 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2009
    Posts:
    378
    Location:
    NC
    Prevx is a great choice
     
  8. nomarjr3

    nomarjr3 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2007
    Posts:
    502
    A layered security setup would give your system rock-solid protection IMO.

    I suggest you use on-demand scanners (MBAM and SAS just to make sure nothing slips through), GeSWall or Sandboxie, a virtualization program (Returnil, DeepFreeze, or ShadowDefender), and/or an imaging/rollback software (Rollback RX, Comodo Time Machine, Acronis True Image, Macrium Reflect)
     
  9. iravgupta

    iravgupta Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2009
    Posts:
    605
    If you want to keep it real simple, couple it with on-demand scans from a-squared free.
     
  10. cheater87

    cheater87 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2005
    Posts:
    3,125
    Location:
    Pennsylvania.
    Sandboxie can not be used its a 64 bit OS and Sandboxie can't be used with that because of the kernel security patch. Spyware Terminator and Geswall will have 64 bit versions soon so that should be good for behaviour blocking for 64 bit Windows.
     
  11. Kees1958

    Kees1958 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2006
    Posts:
    5,857
    or next best SRP and UAC on full, since you have the ultimate.

    Also try to get an idea what you can realise through Group Policy settings with GPedit, Microsoft has nice tutorials on this.

    Nice thing with Windows 7 own features (x64 having kernel protection), is that you reduce the attack surface (in stead trying to defending everything while running admin, only guard the LUA-> Admin elevation and the user space vulnabilities)

    Regards Kees
     
  12. Espresso

    Espresso Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2006
    Posts:
    975
    64bit Sandboxie is available in the latest beta versions.

    http://www.sandboxie.com/phpbb/viewtopic.php?t=6842
     
  13. Greg S

    Greg S Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2009
    Posts:
    1,039
    Location:
    A l a b a m a
    If I were forced to use MSE, I would pair it with a couple extra CPU's. I'm one of the unlucky ones where it's 100 percent CPU on boot, opening folders, browsing websites.
     
  14. WSFuser

    WSFuser Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2004
    Posts:
    10,632
    MSE + Windows Firewall + LUA. KISS.
     
  15. Sadeghi85

    Sadeghi85 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2009
    Posts:
    747
    I had the same experience...
     
  16. Spiral123

    Spiral123 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2007
    Posts:
    128
    Just good old LUA and SRP here...

    I think that 100% CPU usage may be a botched uninstall of old AV. Just my experiences.
     
  17. iravgupta

    iravgupta Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2009
    Posts:
    605
    Very true, and I have already posted my experiences in detail regarding this. Even then, when I had to choose an antimalware for my parents' PC, who have just begun using PCs, I could not find a better alternative than MSE just for its ease of use. Since performance is not a big issue with them, I find MSE perfect for their needs.
     
  18. Scoobs72

    Scoobs72 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2007
    Posts:
    1,108
    Location:
    Sofa (left side)
    Gaming PC? Just add Applocker & LUA.
     
  19. Fly

    Fly Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2007
    Posts:
    2,069
    Firewall. I presume Windows 7 has one ?
    And a good imaging setup. :thumb:
     
  20. Threedog

    Threedog Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2005
    Posts:
    1,125
    Location:
    Nova Scotia, Canada
    With x64 you should be ok with just MSE and Win 7's own firewall. You don't want to load up too much on a gaming PC. Depends on your surfing habits tho.
     
  21. Greg S

    Greg S Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2009
    Posts:
    1,039
    Location:
    A l a b a m a
    Brand new install of Win 7 on 10/22. I assume no prior AV
     
  22. Greg S

    Greg S Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2009
    Posts:
    1,039
    Location:
    A l a b a m a
    Don't get me wrong, I think it's one of the best AV's and do recomend it but the recomendation comes with the warning that it's a crap shoot as to whether one is going to get the CPU hog bug. I'm sure one's system has alot to do with it. As for me, I will not install this POS ever again.
     
  23. trjam

    trjam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2006
    Posts:
    9,057
    Location:
    North Carolina
    Greg, I respect your thoughts. But have you tried the beta. I honestly have to admit the version coming out soon has corrected several issues. It really is a nice product.
     
  24. Ibrad

    Ibrad Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009
    Posts:
    1,949
    I would recommend running Winpatrol with MSE.
     
  25. Threedog

    Threedog Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2005
    Posts:
    1,125
    Location:
    Nova Scotia, Canada
    I've been running the Beta also. Works very smooth on my XP SP3 system with no high cpu issues.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.