What RootKit Detection Software Do You Use?

Discussion in 'other anti-malware software' started by Cutting_Edgetech, Oct 22, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Cutting_Edgetech

Cutting_Edgetech Registered Member

I've been using GMER for several years now. What are some other good rootkit detectors and removers?

2. Konata Izumi

Konata Izumi Registered Member

3. Meriadoc

Meriadoc Registered Member

I've always found GMER to be really buggy.

I don't know what formal method approach he uses in developing but for years now I've known gmer can fail and be easily crashed, - a lesson in assertion testing and fuzzing would also help.

FYI - ark list at KernelMode.info

A nice tool that shows promise and actively developed is the Tuluka Kernel Inspector ark. Tools from that list I would normally recommend for today's rootkits are RkU, Kernel Detective and RootRepeal. Mandiant Memoryze is a tool I like to use on that list also and VBA32 ark shows a lot.

4. SUPERIOR

SUPERIOR Registered Member

i guess this question has been raised over and over again
    here is a list like KM list
    http://www.ntinternals.org/anti_rootkits.php
    BTW, there is a cool tool by mandiant called "memoryze" ...i heard that can be used against rootkits

5. CiX

CiX Registered Member

XueTr :thumb:

6. G1111

G1111 Registered Member

Signature and HitmanPro, Sophos AR and SpyDLL Remover.

7. AvinashR

AvinashR Registered Member

I use various tools like GMER, Tizer Anti-Rootkit, Hitman Pro and many more.. Though i have never got infected with Rootkit.

8. blacknight

blacknight Registered Member

RootRepeal.

9. TheKid7

TheKid7 Registered Member

I have seen claims that Antivirus type Rescue CD's (i.e., AVIRA, Kaspersky, AVG, Panda, DrWeb, etc.) do a better job at detecting rootkits since Windows is not running when the scan is performed. Does anyone have feedback on Rescue CD performance at detecting and removing rootkits?

Thanks in Advance.

10. wat0114