What ports open firewall config for NOD32?

Discussion in 'ESET NOD32 Antivirus' started by guruuno, Nov 11, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. guruuno

    guruuno Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2004
    Posts:
    61
    I want to setup a customer location to block all traffic except e-mail and anti-virus updates.

    So, I allow Ports 25 & 110 for e-mail, but what/how do I configure router to allow NOD32 antivirus update?

    Not using server to push, individual workstation installs.

    Or, it the preferred method to make a machine the NOD32 'push' server?

    After reading here the process, seems way too long and convoluted, no?
     
  2. Joliet Jake

    Joliet Jake Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2005
    Posts:
    911
    Location:
    Scotland
    Looking in my Comodo firewall NOD ekrn.exe is using ports 80 and 143 and when I clicked 'update NOD' port 53.

    You'll get a more detailed response soon!
     
  3. xTiNcTion

    xTiNcTion Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2003
    Posts:
    253
    Hi,

    NOD32 updates are via standard HTTP port 80 by default (internet update).
     
  4. guruuno

    guruuno Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2004
    Posts:
    61
    Well then, if I block HTTP (80) so end users cannot browse the web, how to do NOD32 to update then?
     
  5. xTiNcTion

    xTiNcTion Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2003
    Posts:
    253
    Hi,

    Well in that case you should use LAN Update Server. Block your users :( and only "allow" LAN Update server connect to the internet. EAV's workstation will update locally via a different port.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.