What percent of your RAM should all your real time security programs use?

Discussion in 'polls' started by Saint Satin Stain, Mar 1, 2011.

?

What percent of your RAM should all your real time security programs use?

Poll closed Mar 30, 2011.
  1. 0 - Only hardware appliance

    14.3%
  2. 1

    9.5%
  3. 2

    16.7%
  4. 3

    2.4%
  5. 4

    0 vote(s)
    0.0%
  6. 5

    16.7%
  7. 6

    0 vote(s)
    0.0%
  8. 7

    2.4%
  9. 8

    0 vote(s)
    0.0%
  10. 9

    0 vote(s)
    0.0%
  11. 10

    11.9%
  12. 11

    0 vote(s)
    0.0%
  13. 12

    9.5%
  14. 13

    0 vote(s)
    0.0%
  15. 14

    0 vote(s)
    0.0%
  16. 15

    2.4%
  17. 16

    0 vote(s)
    0.0%
  18. 17

    0 vote(s)
    0.0%
  19. 18

    0 vote(s)
    0.0%
  20. 19

    2.4%
  21. 20

    4.8%
  22. 21

    0 vote(s)
    0.0%
  23. 22

    2.4%
  24. 23

    0 vote(s)
    0.0%
  25. 24

    2.4%
  26. 25 + I don't need word processor, browser, etc

    2.4%
  1. Saint Satin Stain

    Saint Satin Stain Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2004
    Posts:
    222
    Location:
    Huntsville, AL and Greenwich Village, NYC
    What percent of your RAM should all your real time security programs use?


    12%
     
    Last edited: Mar 1, 2011
  2. dw426

    dw426 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2007
    Posts:
    5,543
    That's really dependent on how much RAM you have, IMHO, so this poll should be all over the place. In my case, I have 6Gb, and I think it's ridiculous to let them take up anymore than 2% of my RAM ( 122 or so Mb). I personally think security programs should be the last items using up resources.
     
  3. Saint Satin Stain

    Saint Satin Stain Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2004
    Posts:
    222
    Location:
    Huntsville, AL and Greenwich Village, NYC
    I should have thought about the poll a bit longer. I have a grand of RAM, but I generally believe it should be less than 10, usually 7%. Mine is 12% now because I am doing a trial of NOD32 alongside my regular, Prevx. I wanted to see how well they fared. The two of them together, with Online Armor , do not slow down the system perceived by the senses; although I can measure a slight slowdown with instruments. Sometimes I have a word processor, two or three browsers, not constantly all, intermittently, a dictionary, thesaurus and so without problem though I only have a gig of RAM. Default, one using now, SeaMonkey, plus Google Chrome, K-Meleon, Firefox, and IE8. I use them in a clerical manner, so often have two or three open.If I had 2 gigs of RAM I'd probably use 6%. After the trial of NOD32 and don't keep it, my percent will be about 6%. I figure if you use more or much more than 10 or 12 percent, you need more RAM. I use my computer for research and writing, so few RAM hogs or cpu pigs. Google Earth is probably the program I have that uses a lot of RAM.

    I have XP on this one. The one that I build this year to install 7 will have 2 gigs of RAM, maybe 3.

    SeaMonkey is not a hog; it uses less RAM than Firefox and Thunderbird duet.

    You folk, listen, read dw426 and state total RAM.
     
  4. xxJackxx

    xxJackxx Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2008
    Posts:
    4,047
    Location:
    USA
    Where is the option for I have 8GB of RAM and don't understand why people still complain about this? A poorly coded program that uses little RAM can still drag your system down more than a well coded one that uses more RAM.
     
  5. J_L

    J_L Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Posts:
    8,516
    ~5% of total RAM (4GB).

    I think CPU and Disk I/O usage are far more important though.
     
  6. Noob

    Noob Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Posts:
    6,468
    around 2% :D
     
  7. noone_particular

    noone_particular Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2008
    Posts:
    3,798
    At this moment, my entire security package is using about 1% of my 1GB RAM (11364K total for 3 processes). Explorer.exe is using more than the combined package, and with 3 open tabs, my browser is using more than 4 times as much.
     
  8. xMarkx

    xMarkx Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2008
    Posts:
    447
    I think that there are too many options. The choices should have been broken down into different categories, eg: 1-5% 5- ... etc
     
  9. safeguy

    safeguy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2010
    Posts:
    1,709
    I've got 3GB RAM but I like to be a minimalist. I don't think it's worth letting security programs take more than 100MB....the range of 50-70 MB is 'fine' while anything lower than that is 'good'. Anything that is less than 10MB is 'bliss'.

    I don't subscribe to the idea where just because I have more RAM means the software I have installed is allowed to be a glutton...

    And I don't understand why others need keep on trying to implicitly say "nay, RAM is no longer an issue these days" or something along those line whenever there's a thread on the word "RAM". Come on- isn't it so obvious? If you've got more RAM and you're fine with letting your software use more (for the added advantages), then so be it - we understand that you're utilizing what you've paid for and that not using those RAM would be a 'waste'. However, others don't necessarily have to feel the same way or they might not be lucky or as well-off as you are and perhaps has to multi-task with the amount of RAM available (which may not be as much) and hence, have to be more 'conservative' or 'mindful' of these so-called "issues".
     
  10. Creer

    Creer Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2008
    Posts:
    1,345
    ~2% to 3% max.
     
  11. PJC

    PJC Very Frequent Poster

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2010
    Posts:
    2,959
    Location:
    Internet
    RAM:4GB.
    From 12% to 22%.
     
  12. J_L

    J_L Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Posts:
    8,516
    Wow.. Must be a record. Would you mind telling us the ram-hogging program(s)?
     
  13. Noob

    Noob Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Posts:
    6,468
    Mine is around 2 currently but if i install my usual EAM and a HIPS it would be like 5% :D
     
  14. Konata Izumi

    Konata Izumi Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2008
    Posts:
    1,544
    I voted 0% is that possible? I'm on linux :D
    I have 1gb and I think 10-15% is enough for security programs :D

    i dont want programs that has high disk I/O activity even if it uses very few ram
     
  15. TairikuOkami

    TairikuOkami Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2005
    Posts:
    2,508
    Location:
    Slovakia
    You got that right. As long as there is enough RAM (8GB), it does not matter, if it uses 4GB, but CPU and I/O will allways affect performance, even if it is only 1%.
    But since I have only 2GB and even that is taken by an integrated GPU, I prefer as little as possible. Windows takes 350MB and firewall 6-30MB, that is reasonable.
     
  16. PJC

    PJC Very Frequent Poster

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2010
    Posts:
    2,959
    Location:
    Internet
    Dreamweaver, Photoshop, Encryption & Stenography Apps, browsers, players, etc.
    If all open during the same time...
     
    Last edited: Mar 3, 2011
  17. Boyfriend

    Boyfriend Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010
    Posts:
    1,070
    Location:
    Pakistan
    Maximum Limit = 10%
     
  18. YanK33

    YanK33 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2010
    Posts:
    195
    3% i think at most, i dont use any resident active AV i only use it on demand, my Windows 7 firewall dont eat that much
     
  19. zfactor

    zfactor Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2005
    Posts:
    6,012
    Location:
    on my zx10-r
    with 8gb of ram id say less than 1%
     
  20. ExtremeGamerBR

    ExtremeGamerBR Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2010
    Posts:
    1,115
    Only Windows Firewall: 1% - 4GB
     
  21. Saint Satin Stain

    Saint Satin Stain Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2004
    Posts:
    222
    Location:
    Huntsville, AL and Greenwich Village, NYC
    I learn every time I read here. I will check those some day in the near future. Thank you.
     
  22. Saint Satin Stain

    Saint Satin Stain Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2004
    Posts:
    222
    Location:
    Huntsville, AL and Greenwich Village, NYC
    Some interesting ideas. I was running Prevx 3.0 along with NOD32 4.x and they worked well together, both superb antibaddies. I removed NOD32 and kept the Prevx on this system. So my percentage falls to 7% on a one gig RAM system.

    I use 79.72 MB RAM. That includes Online Armor, Prevx, these two are on all the time, but also includes these which run some of the time, so do not use RAM most of the time or very little, Sandboxie, Secunia Update Agent (I use Secunia PSI ondemand, not running all the time), and Vidalia Bundle which I use only with Firefox sometimes.

    The programs that run all the time use, Online Armor and Prevx, use 44.01 MB RAM about 4%.

    I should include Sandboxie - thinking as I type - with OA and Prevx because I run browsers sandboxed., except Google Chrome.
     
  23. guest

    guest Guest

    0 - Only hardware appliance.

    Sorrrry.
     
  24. dawgg

    dawgg Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2006
    Posts:
    817
    Honestly, I don't care and cannot say what % they should use. I just look at how much it degrades speed and performance and what's acceptable to me.
     
  25. sbseven

    sbseven Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2011
    Posts:
    140
    Less than 2% for me with 2GB...

    Real Time (for 2 Sandboxes, 1 of them for Firefox) = ~30MB in Task Manager
    • Sandboxie ~ 1.5MB + 5MB per sandbox
    • Firefox "Security" Add-ons (NoScript, WOT) ~ 12MB
    • Windows Firewall ~ 4MB
    • EMET Shim = 16KB per monitored process
    • UAC/SRP = ?? but not much extra I'd expect...
     
Loading...