What is your take?

Discussion in 'other anti-malware software' started by Thomas Platts, Feb 25, 2019.

  1. Thomas Platts

    Thomas Platts Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2016
    Posts:
    9
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    Hi all,

    I have AppGuard on my machine ( I will not go anywhere without this app).Today, I discovered that Hitman Pro Alert wanted to be downloaded on next boot: try as I may, HMPA would not download on next boot or on any reboot. Here, AppGuard stopped the HMPA download. I erroneously believed there was a fault with HMPA.

    I contacted HMPA. When I told the Sophos engineer that I had AppGuard and HMPA running in tandem, I was informed that I should not be running two AV apps (AppGuard and HMPA). The advice given was: uninstall AG to allow HMPA to download and then, reinstall AG.

    Question. Is AppGuard and AV program?

    Thomas Platts
     
  2. Stupendous Man

    Stupendous Man Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2010
    Posts:
    2,043
    Location:
    the Netherlands
    @Thomas Platts,

    Shouldn't HitmanPro.Alert, including the HMPA update mechanism, be a trusted application in AppGuard, so that HMPA can update?
    I don't know if including HMPA and the HMPA update mechanism as trusted should be default in AppGuard, or if it is something you need to set manually in AppGuard .
    I can't recall that I've seen the issue of AppGuard blocking HMPA update in the HitmanPro.ALERT Support and Discussion Thread.

    P.S.
    I think it may be helpful if you'd change your subject title to something that tells what this thread is about, AppGuard blocking HitmanPro.Alert update.
    Also, you may consider posting in the mentioned HMPA support thread, or in an AppGuard support thread, if there is any.
     
  3. LoneWolf

    LoneWolf Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2006
    Posts:
    3,537
    AppGuard is not an AV.
    I have had AppGuard on my laptop for some time and also will not surf the web without it.
    Either set AppGuard in Install mode or turn protection off when needing to undated any program, uninstalling AppGuard should not be necessary.
     
  4. Stupendous Man

    Stupendous Man Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2010
    Posts:
    2,043
    Location:
    the Netherlands
    As LoneWolf said.
    This corresponds to respectively "Allow Installs" and "Off" as shown in the screenshot at the AppGuard support page.
    That screenshot also shows "Protected - Allows automatic update for trusted applications."
    That is why I wrote, earlier,
     
  5. G1111

    G1111 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2005
    Posts:
    2,258
    Location:
    USA
    Is there an update to HMPA? Currently running 3.7.9 Build 775 RC. Usually mine does not update automatically. I download it, scan and set AppGuard to allow installs.
     
  6. Krusty

    Krusty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Posts:
    6,580
    Location:
    Among the gum trees
    That's the version I have and HMP.A does auto-update on my machines. It is the latest listed here too:

    https://www.hitmanpro.com/en-us/downloads.aspx
     
  7. Umbra

    Umbra Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2011
    Posts:
    5,553
    Location:
    Europe then Asia
    When updating HMPA, AG's protection level must be set as Off.

    Not at all, it is SRP.

    Be advised, AppGuard is no more destined to home users.

    If you are using v4, it must be removed (it is obsolete and abandoned). Only v6 (aka Solo) is recommended and supported.
    Using v4 it is at your own risk, any issue/bypass is on you.
     
    Last edited: Feb 26, 2019
  8. bellgamin

    bellgamin Very Frequent Poster

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2002
    Posts:
    6,376
    Location:
    Hawaii
    What is the best substitute -- VoodooShield or... ?
     
  9. Umbra

    Umbra Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2011
    Posts:
    5,553
    Location:
    Europe then Asia
    Appguard is quite unique because while being a SRP it has memory containment.

    The closest substitute is by using corporate 3rd party products like Symantec Endpoint Protection (managed version) which also contains SRP mechanism.
    SRPs are mostly corporate things.

    However, there is a home user tool called Hard_Configurator which is a GUI for the Windows own SRP mechanism.
    https://github.com/AndyFul/Hard_Configurator

    Anti-exes aren't substitutes because they are a different mechanism and shouldnt be compared with SRPs even if they look functioning in similar ways.
    I will point that OSA would be the bridge between anti-exe and SRP because the way it works.
     
Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.