What is your security setup these days?

Discussion in 'other anti-malware software' started by dja2k, Dec 15, 2005.

  1. EASTER

    EASTER Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2007
    Posts:
    9,770
    Location:
    U.S.A. (South)
    Added DEEP FREEZE Powered By Faronic's
     
  2. Threedog

    Threedog Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2005
    Posts:
    1,125
    Location:
    Nova Scotia, Canada
    New set up

    XP Pro SP2 protected by
    Dlink Router
    Windows Firewall
    Returnil
    Sandboxie
    Nod32 2.7.39
    SAS Pro (on demand)
    Firefox with No Script and Adblocker

    and thats it....so far
     
  3. Kerodo

    Kerodo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2004
    Posts:
    8,005
    Trying a new approach now for me. Just router, with Avira on-demand only, nothing resident, LUA and software restriction policy. IE7 for browser... That's it.. Oh, and a nice image or two in case something goes wrong.... :)
     
  4. danny9

    danny9 Departed Friend

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2004
    Posts:
    678
    Location:
    Clinton Twp. Mi
    You're a brave little soul. Hope the devil don't come and snatch it. :D
    I'm not that trusting or as brave.
    Let us know how your new approach works out.
    All the Best.
    Dan
     
  5. Kerodo

    Kerodo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2004
    Posts:
    8,005
    Yep, I will report on it later if it works out. Actually it doesn't take much bravery with a good image to fall back on... 10 minutes fixes any problem. :cool:
     
  6. danny9

    danny9 Departed Friend

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2004
    Posts:
    678
    Location:
    Clinton Twp. Mi
    Having a good image is a must but...
    Since you have no type of av, a little buglet could get in unnoticed, a bot or a rootkit etc. and set up it's new home.
    In the evening, when it's bored, it could call home to see how mom's doing and give her an update on the days events since there's nothing to stop out going calls.
    Before you can run a scan it could be to late. The info it came for is already sent.
    An image restore will get rid of the bug but cannot stop the personal info that is already is gone.
    Personally, I use an av and softwall firewall just for that reason.
    At this point, I'd rather be safe then sorry. :cool:
     
  7. FadeAway

    FadeAway Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2007
    Posts:
    270
    Location:
    USA
    I've learned quite a lot in the past nine months.
    Thanks to all here that helped.

    Now running, on DSL:

    Wired router to Linksys switch, to 3 XP machines.
    Router firewall is off. Router UPnP is off.
    Router config password is complex.

    Active on each machine:

    XP SP2 FW, or CHX 3.
    Proxomitron

    Avast AV
    PG free
    WinPatrol Plus
    SpywareBlaster

    As necessary on demand:

    Returnil, ATI10
    SAS, AVGAS, AVGARK
    File encryption
    CCleaner.

    Systematic off-machine data & image back-up.

    And a partridge in a pear tree.
     
    Last edited: Jan 20, 2008
  8. Kerodo

    Kerodo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2004
    Posts:
    8,005
    That's not going to happen in an LUA with SRP...
     
  9. danny9

    danny9 Departed Friend

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2004
    Posts:
    678
    Location:
    Clinton Twp. Mi
    My misunderstanding, sorry.
    Dan
     
  10. sukarof

    sukarof Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2004
    Posts:
    1,885
    Location:
    Stockholm Sweden
    I´ve been running a similar setup for a couple of months (minus the router. I do have Look´n´stop FW) and all is just fine and dandy. For me this gave a boost to my computer performance. Let us know what it does (or doesnt) do for you.
     
  11. Kerodo

    Kerodo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2004
    Posts:
    8,005
    Yep, saw a definite boost in overall performance and responsiveness here too. I have that setup saved in an image and I'll return to it later, right now I'm running Win2k, which is even snappier.... Kinda nice, although a bit dated now, but still good.
     
  12. Alcyon

    Alcyon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2008
    Posts:
    438
    Location:
    Montr?al, Canada
    New setup:

    Windows XP Pro SP2

    External Firewall: Linsys wrt54g router/spi firewall (WiFi & upnp disabled)
    Software Firewall: Look'n Stop v2.06p2
    Antivirus: Avira Premium Security Suite v7
    HIPS: EQSecure v3.41
    Sandbox: SandBoxie v3.22 (IE + Firefox + mail soft. sandboxed)
    Antispyware: SuperAntiSpyware
    Others: Proxomitron (own filters)
    Port135-139,445 + rdp and all useless services removed

    I'll test this setup for some months. My computer is now MUCH more faster than before and EQSecure seems to be a really nice hips.
     
    Last edited: Jan 21, 2008
  13. WSFuser

    WSFuser Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2004
    Posts:
    10,634
    added
    changed
    removed


    XP setup 1 & 2

    Resident:

    AVG Anti-Malware
    Online Armor
    Sandboxie
    ThreatFire
    Windows Firewall

    On-demand:

    Avira AntiVir

    Other Security / System Hardening:

    nLite'd Windows XP SP2 (with service tweaking based on TweakHound's guide)
    Xable's Windows XP Post-SP2 Update Pack
    Seconfig XP
    xp-AntiSpy
    Process Explorer
    Firefox extensions: AdBlock Plus, Permit Cookies, RefControl, and Secure Login
     
  14. CogitoErgoSum

    CogitoErgoSum Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2005
    Posts:
    641
    Location:
    Cerritos, California
    Vista 32 set-up "changes" in bold as of 1/21/08(work-in-progress):

    Resident:

    DefenseWall HIPS v2.10
    DriveSentry Full v3.0.1.8[Temporarily uninstalled]
    LinkScanner Pro v2.7(w/SearchShield disabled)[Installed]
    Netgear RP614 v2 Router w/NAT & SPI
    Primary Response SafeConnect v3.0.0.1443
    Vista Firewall

    Other "Paid" Security Applications at My Disposal(Not currently using):

    DriveSentry Full
    Look'n'Stop
    RegRun Platinum

    On-Demand:

    Autoruns
    AVZ Antiviral Toolkit
    BitDefender v10(Free)
    GMER
    Prevx CSI+
    Process Explorer
    RootKit Hook Analyzer
    Rootkit Unhooker
    Runscanner
    ShadowDefender(For testing purposes)
    SUPERAntiSpyware Free

    System Hardening:

    Applied manual system hardening tweaks
    Disabled non-essential Vista services
    Enabled Software DEP for all programs and services
    Disabled UAC
    Disabled Windows Defender
    Windows Worms Door Cleaner

    Miscellaneous:

    Primary Web Browser - Opera 9.50 Beta Weekly Build(w/UserJS scripts; Java disabled, JavaScript enabled, but with options disabled, Iframes disabled and plug-ins disabled)
    Email - The Bat! Home


    Peace & Gratitude,

    CogitoErgoSum
     
  15. InfinityAz

    InfinityAz Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2005
    Posts:
    828
    Location:
    Arizona
    CogitoErgoSum,

    Are you running DefenseWall with Vista 32?

    I own a license and tried running it with Vista 32 but it labelled audiodg.exe as untrusted and thereby disabled sound on my computer. I tried everything listed in the forums but nothing worked so I un-installed it.
     
  16. CogitoErgoSum

    CogitoErgoSum Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2005
    Posts:
    641
    Location:
    Cerritos, California
    Hello InfinityAz,

    I am running DefenseWall v2.10 with Vista 32. As for audiodg.exe being flagged as "untrusted" it is a known issue and Ilya has said that it will be addressed in the next DW build. FYI, the reason that it does not affect me is because, for the most part, I have the sound turned off.


    Peace & Gratitude,

    CogitoErgoSum
     
  17. dja2k

    dja2k Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2005
    Posts:
    2,113
    Location:
    South Texas, USA
    Dropped Nod32 and RegRun Platinum, couldn't stand the small speed decrease. The new list is below and future updates to it will be based on that:
     

    Attached Files:

  18. ronjor

    ronjor Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2003
    Posts:
    123,162
    Location:
    Texas
    Several off topic posts removed. Innuendos, conspiracy theories, politics, and rumors are not what this thread is about.

    Anyone that would care to answer the thread topic "What is your security setup these days?", feel free to do so.
     
  19. ProSecurity

    ProSecurity Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2007
    Posts:
    123
    My security setup?

    None.

    My common sense.

    And with that, I think my time is over here.


    Best Regards to All,
    Alex.
     
  20. Fano effect3

    Fano effect3 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2008
    Posts:
    37
    Location:
    Amsterdam, Holland
    Socketlock is no longer needed if you have SP2. The maker Steve says it too.
     
  21. dja2k

    dja2k Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2005
    Posts:
    2,113
    Location:
    South Texas, USA
    Thanks for pointing that out Fano effect3.

    dja2k
     
  22. blade runner

    blade runner Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2008
    Posts:
    6
    Location:
    Albuquerque & Lake Michigan

    Good Day Kerodo,

    I'm brand new to Wilder -- would you please explain what "an LUA with SRP" is ??

    I'm curious, because of your confidence that it's quite solid.

    THANKS for your trouble ... blade runner
     
  23. lucas1985

    lucas1985 Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2006
    Posts:
    4,047
    Location:
    France, May 1968
    - Limited User Account. How to setup a LUA
    - Software Restriction Policies. Example
    :)
     
  24. fred22

    fred22 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2004
    Posts:
    229
    old setup:

    look'n'stop
    system safety monitor
    nod32

    new setup:
    comodo firewall pro
    comodo boclean
    avira antivir
    sandboxy
    protowall


    tools:
    regprot
    wwdc
    bugoff
    mvps hostsfile
    spywareblaster
    sas on demand
    a-squared on demand
    rootkit unhooker
    gmer
    services disabled
     
  25. Bubba

    Bubba Updates Team

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2002
    Posts:
    11,271
    blade runner, I have removed the post you made and numerous follow up posts to a thread of it's own for further discussion. That will keep this thread somewhat free of extended off topic type posts and maintain the threads intended purpose.

    Please follow this link---> https://www.wilderssecurity.com/showthread.php?t=198440

    Bubba
     
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.