What is your security setup these days?

Discussion in 'other anti-malware software' started by dja2k, Dec 15, 2005.

  1. xnevermore

    xnevermore Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2010
    Posts:
    143
    i like your setup i will copy your build :thumb:

    sadly geswall is not win 7 x64 compatible any alternatives?

    and also about comodo timemachine can you explain how do you use that cause i read that your using windows default system image also isnt comodo doing the same purpose already? any tips how to use them properly so to secure my machine
     
    Last edited: Mar 24, 2011
  2. lws

    lws Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2009
    Posts:
    196
    Where I really had a problem concerning BZ was with firefox. It wouldn't work right for me as it would just lock up while trying to browse. Had no problem with iexplorer or google chrome. I really don't know if comodo was causing the problem regarding BZ and firefox. I have been mixing and matching quite a bit the last few months trying to find that perfect match which also included geswall with various other firewalls. lol. Private firewall was my original choice but I could never get it to work with geswall. So hence started the firewall switching which is how I ended up with Comodo and geswall. Then it was Comodo and BZ...but then the problem with firefox. So, the switch to Pfw and it seemed to work well with BZ while using Google Chrome as the browser but still a problem with firefox. But...now firefox 4.0 came out so I tried it and to my surprise it is working well with BZ along with Private firewall and so far as of right now things are running smooth according to what I have regarding my signature. Hope I didn't confuse with all of the above. P.S. Probably when I finally let go of XP and graduate to either win. 7 or 8 in the future I'll probably end up getting sandboxie pro. and be done with all this mixing and matching.:argh:

    Moontan is probably right about the above.
     
  3. moontan

    moontan Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2010
    Posts:
    3,931
    Location:
    Québec
    seen in a member's signature here:
    "If it ain't broke it's because you haven't tweaked it enough". :D
     
  4. PoetWarrior

    PoetWarrior Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2007
    Posts:
    341
    Win 7 64 bit:

    1. Standard accounts
    2. UAC full
    3. Windows firewall
    4. Firefox 4 (Adblock plus, Quick Image)
    5. Windows Defender
    6. Behind router
    7. Family Safety
    8. Business with Linux Live CD
    9. Image with Acronis TI Home 11 (use recovery disk only)
     
  5. lws

    lws Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2009
    Posts:
    196
    My Tweaker is pretty much "tweaked out". It's time to take a "tweakin rest"...and with that I rest my "tweakin case" . :D
     
  6. JoeBlack40

    JoeBlack40 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2009
    Posts:
    1,579
    Location:
    Romania
    Thank you for the response lws.
    Ok,as i planned,installed BZ,PFW and SS free.Added Avira free without file Guard as on demand scanner.'Till now i'm very pleased with this configuration.:thumb:

    On demand
    MBAM,SAS,EAM starter kit

    Norton DNS
     
    Last edited: Mar 24, 2011
  7. lws

    lws Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2009
    Posts:
    196
    Great :thumb: I'm finding that Google Chrome still is working better and faster than the new firefox 4.0 with BZ. Might be my settings though.
     
  8. Konata Izumi

    Konata Izumi Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2008
    Posts:
    1,545
    I suggest you copy setup 1-6 then think of something to improve it.
    I'm not yet satisfied what apps to use. :)

    about comodo time machine yes its purpose is to rollback but I make sure I have Windows Image Backup to restore my PC to a clean state when I feel like ditching CTM or any other software which I will do right after this post. :D

    I'll be using setup 1-6 and try Outpost Security Suite FREE :)
     
    Last edited: Mar 24, 2011
  9. xnevermore

    xnevermore Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2010
    Posts:
    143
    thanks well follow your suggestions :thumb:
     
  10. Konata Izumi

    Konata Izumi Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2008
    Posts:
    1,545
    actually I know I'm done with my setup if I could have Sandboxie paid but I don't have the money to pay for it :'(
    about your OS which is in 64bit you might want to try Shadow Defender but its not FREE. ^^
     
    Last edited: Mar 24, 2011
  11. JoeBlack40

    JoeBlack40 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2009
    Posts:
    1,579
    Location:
    Romania
    Actually,the same thing for me too.Chrome is my primary browser,and is much more faster than FF4 or IE9.:thumb:
     
  12. The Hammer

    The Hammer Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2005
    Posts:
    5,751
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
    I'm not in that much of a hurry on the information superhighway. I can wait until IE9 gets me to where I need to go.;)
     
  13. JoeBlack40

    JoeBlack40 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2009
    Posts:
    1,579
    Location:
    Romania
    Well,i like that my browser to open fast and i hate to wait more than 5-6 seconds for a web page to load.
    I don't want to age in front of my laptop.:D
     
  14. The Hammer

    The Hammer Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2005
    Posts:
    5,751
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
    I might agree with you if I waited even half that long which I don't.;)
     
  15. J_L

    J_L Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Posts:
    8,738
    Shared Network:
    Actiontec Modem with SPI Firewall
    Sunbelt ClearCloud

    Real-time Protection:
    Avast! Free Antivirus (w/ Network, WebRep, Web Shield) [Password Protected]
    Comodo Firewall (w/o Antivirus) [Password Protected]
    Malwarebytes' Anti-Malware Pro (w/ IP Blocking)
    Microsoft Security Essentials (Monitor only Incoming) [UAC Protected]
    WinPatrol Free Cloud Edition

    System (Windows 7 Pro 64-bit SP1):
    Enabled DEP, SEHOP, Default-Deny SRP, Silent UAC
    Disabled Windows Firewall, System Restore, Internet Explorer, Autorun/Autoplay
    Enhanced Mitigation Experience Toolkit
    Spybot - Search & Destroy (Immunize)

    Firefox 4.0:
    Adblock Plus (Malware Domains subscription)
    LastPass
    WOT - Safe Browsing Tool
    SandBoxie Free (+ DropRights & Internet Access Restrictions)

    On-demand Scanning:
    Avira Rescue System
    BugBopper
    Comodo Cleaning Essentials
    Dr.Web LiveCD
    Hitman Pro
    Norton Power Eraser
    SUPERAntiSpyware Free

    Analyzers:
    http://camas.comodo.com/
    Sysinternals Autoruns
    http://www.urlvoid.com/
    VirusTotalUploader

    Updates:
    Freeware Files RSS
    KC Softwares SUMo

    Backup:
    Paragon Backup & Recovery Home Special Edition


    Ubuntu Maverick Netbook:
    Chromium --safe-plugins, Adblock Plus, BitDefender TrafficLight, LastPass, LinkExtend
    BitDefender Free, chkrootkit, ClamAV, rkhunter
    Regularly updated. Sudo only, no root
     
  16. xnevermore

    xnevermore Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2010
    Posts:
    143
    i have some questions on your setup can you tell how you do that internet explorer 9 tweak? also is your default browser internet explorer?

    also in your DEP did you choose for essential programs only or for all programs except what i select
     
    Last edited: Mar 25, 2011
  17. Konata Izumi

    Konata Izumi Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2008
    Posts:
    1,545
    Here :-*
     
  18. xnevermore

    xnevermore Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2010
    Posts:
    143
    thanks konata.

    OT

    im having problems with keriver 1 click restore im getting this error

    http://i53.tinypic.com/2iad4c4.png

    i cant do snapshots please advice
     
  19. moontan

    moontan Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2010
    Posts:
    3,931
    Location:
    Québec
    you should move this post to the *backup, imaging & disk mgmt* forum for more exposure.
     
    Last edited: Mar 26, 2011
  20. ExtremeGamerBR

    ExtremeGamerBR Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2010
    Posts:
    1,351
    I copied the wrong my security setting, now yes last version and updated!

    Laptop Setup:

    • TP-Link TL-WR941ND (SPI Firewall)
      • Windows 7 SP1 Home Premium 64 Bits:
        • Windows Firewall: Enabled
        • Windows Defender: Disabled
        • Windows System Restore: Disabled
        • Administrator Account
        • Data Execution Prevention
        • User Account Control:
          • Default Level
        • Structured Exception Handling Overwrite Protection
        • Enhanced Mitigation Experience Toolkit 2.0.3:
          • All Internet Facing Softwares
          • All MS Office 2007 Suite
          • Maximum Settings
        • USB and DVD Drives Autorun: Disabled
        • Norton DNS (Block Malicious Websites)
        • Windows Internet Explorer 8:
          • Drive-by Protection via 1806 Trick
          • Protect Mode
          • ActiveX Filter Enabled

    • Backup & Restore:
      • Microsoft SyncToy 2.1:
        • Daily Synchronization
        • Data Saved in External HD
      • Keriver 1-Click Restore Pro 2.2:
        • Original System Snapshot (W7 + Drivers)
        • Snapshots Weekly
        • Automatic Deletion of Old Snapshots
        • Snapshots Saved in Internal HD

    • On-Demand:
      • Hitman Pro 3.5.8.119:
        • Automatic Daily Scans

    • Keriver 1-Click Restore Proalready covers all types of problems. The only danger is if you give physical problem in HD, but everything will be saved in external HD (Thanks to SyncToy).

    • Definitely my best security configuration, does not weigh anything in my system, is fast and strong, if the Hitman Pro detects something just restore the snapshot (With Keriver 1-Click Restore Pro) and poof, everything new again.
     
  21. Ed_H

    Ed_H Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2004
    Posts:
    662
    Location:
    Chicago, IL
    Trying a new setup...by far the lightest I have tried.

    Resident
    PrivateFirewall
    Sandboxie

    On Demand
    Hitman Pro
    Avira Premuim
    Shadow Defender

    ShadowProtect
     
  22. Konata Izumi

    Konata Izumi Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2008
    Posts:
    1,545
    Windows 7 Professional 32-bit

    Setup:
    1. Disabled Windows System Restore and Windows Defender
    2. User Account Control set to Highest
    3. Software Restriction Policy Disallowed by default
    4. Microsoft Security Compliance Manager (MSCM) for downloading Baseline Security Templates from Microsoft that will harden OS Firewall and Group Policy settings.
    5. LocalGPO (included in MSCM) this tool is used to apply Security Templates.
      • Templates used: Merged copy of Win7SSLFComputer, Win7SSLFUser and IE8SSLFComputer, IE8SSLFUser
      • Modified GPO thru 'gpedit.msc' to allow Legacy Apps to run and allow Administrators to debug programs for compatibility purposes also included some Safe-Admin tweaks
    6. Enhanced Mitigation Experience Toolkit (EMET) to apply the ff. and more:
      • Data Execution Prevention (DEP): Opt-out
      • Structured Exception Handling Overwrite Protection (SEHOP): Opt-out
      • Address Space Layout Randomization (ASLR): Opt-in
    7. Outpost Security Suite FREE (anti-spam disabled / anti-leak: advanced / antimalware: scan on-execution)
    8. Sandboxie FREE
    9. Norton DNS
    10. Firefox 4 (adblock plus, noscript)

    For backup I use the built-in Windows System Image Backup.
    Outpost is probably the lightest security suite I've tried.
     
    Last edited: Mar 25, 2011
  23. ocsi

    ocsi Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2011
    Posts:
    95
    Avast! 6 Free + ZoneAlarm Free 9.2.105.000 + Malwarebytes'Anti-Malware Free 1.50.1 = it is ok (PC Laptop, 512 Mb, !,6 GHz processor, 40 Gb)?
     
  24. trjam

    trjam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2006
    Posts:
    9,102
    Location:
    North Carolina USA
    back to Avira, will stay that way till September when 64 bit Defensewall comes out and then, dump everything and use DW. I loved it once, till I had to buy 64 bit puters and Ilya is the best. No Prevx, no Eset, no Avira, no AppGuard, no Geswall, just please give me 64 bit Defensewall.:thumb:
     
  25. The Hammer

    The Hammer Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2005
    Posts:
    5,751
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
     
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.