What is your security setup these days?

Discussion in 'other anti-malware software' started by dja2k, Dec 15, 2005.

  1. Noob

    Noob Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Posts:
    6,491
    If you ever test the "Try & Decide" feature, be sure to stop any defragging process/services/schedules. (The feature is NOT compatible with any defragger)
    If you don't do it you might get in serious trouble according to the help file ;)
     
  2. Kernelwars

    Kernelwars Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2010
    Posts:
    2,155
    Location:
    TX
    :) got it my good friend:) thanks for the heads up
     
  3. Page42

    Page42 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2007
    Posts:
    6,738
    Location:
    USA
    I replaced NortonDNS with ClearCloud.
    From what I read, they are nearly identical, but CC has a better blocking UI.
    CC was faster in the DNSBench, too, so I wanted to give it a whirl.
    :) :thumb:
     
  4. zerotox

    zerotox Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2009
    Posts:
    419
    Ditched Zemana as it was messing with my Solsuite patience card game, slowing it down miserably.
     
  5. TheIgster

    TheIgster Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2009
    Posts:
    719
    Location:
    Canada
    Rollback Rx allows the same thing. You can easily create a snapshot of your nice running system (takes about 5 seconds), then do whatever you want to your system and then restore back to that snapshot in about 30 seconds.

    It's a great program that allows testing on your system very easily.
     
  6. IBadget

    IBadget Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2009
    Posts:
    59
    Location:
    Waipahu, HI
    I recently ditched Comodo Internet Security after bugs emptied the Trusted Vendor List, thereby causing pop-ups for legitimate applications. I am now using Avira Personal, Immunet Protect, and BufferZone Pro, which was offered for free. IMO running your browser in a virtual environment is better than relying on a Trusted Vendor List because what if there was malware signed by Microsoft, Google, Apple, and other trusted vendors?
     
  7. firzen771

    firzen771 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2007
    Posts:
    4,815
    Location:
    Canada
    not quite, rollback rx doesnt virtualize ur system temporaily, it makes snapshots in time of what ur system looked like and lets u go back and fourth. programs like rollback rx are much more risky since if anything goes wrong u can have massive data loss (happened to me twice now, altho both time was with Comodo Time Machine, but they are based on the same code and work the exact same)

    temporary on demand virtualizing the system like try and decide is much safer and better for simply testing purposes.
     
  8. TheIgster

    TheIgster Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2009
    Posts:
    719
    Location:
    Canada
    I know Rollback is not a virtual system, but I have not had a single issue simply going back to an old snapshot.

    I suppose it could happen, if something deletes the data on your drive (data from Rollback Rx), but I have had no issues whatsoever. And I've loaded tons of malware on my system and simply gone back to a snapshot without issue at all.

    Of course, I always have a nice image just in case using Macrium Reflect.

    I do use Shadow Defender from time to time as well (which does create a virtual system) if I don't need to reboot.

    I've just loaded a copy of Windows 32 bit on VMWare and will be using that for testing from now on anyway.
     
  9. firzen771

    firzen771 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2007
    Posts:
    4,815
    Location:
    Canada
    ye i def dont advice anyone to use rollback rx and the like without having an image on hand.

    and problems typically only occur during install or uninstall of thos types of software (during uninstall is where it screwed up my system with frozen uninstallation or some sort of error.)
     
  10. Noob

    Noob Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Posts:
    6,491
    IMO, snapshot software are really really good!
    I tried rollback rx in the past for a few weeks (Yeah not long enough) and it was really good, i like the lightness and speed!
    The only thing that made me uninstall snapshot software was because i move lots of files daily (And Chrome does too) so i always defrag every once (2-3 days) and i always have to create a new base image or there would be a huge snapshot. :rolleyes:
     
  11. TheIgster

    TheIgster Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2009
    Posts:
    719
    Location:
    Canada
    Well, I bought Rollback Rx and don't have any plans to uninstall it...;)
     
  12. TheIgster

    TheIgster Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2009
    Posts:
    719
    Location:
    Canada
    I move things constantly. And delete things. Rollback Rx takes care of the defragging as required. I don't have to worry about it anymore.
     
  13. zerotox

    zerotox Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2009
    Posts:
    419
    Well I was tempted to try some of the built-in goodies, so finally I surrendered (after all these years running always as Admin) and created a LUA and imposed SRP. Feels good but I have a question, after introducing SRP, when running as Standard user, regedit, as well as programs that normally before generated a UAC prompt, do not do it any more, though UAC is set to always ask. I presume SRP allowing progams starting from Program files and Windows folders takes precedence over UAC. Am I right and is there a way to turn back UA prompts on regedit command?
     
  14. Creer

    Creer Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2008
    Posts:
    1,345
    I have to agree with you. If my memory serves me well about year ago I had to restore all my (second) data partition when during uninstall Rollback rx deleted all data on it.
    Anyway good backup plan (strategy) is always welcome :thumb:
     
  15. PoetWarrior

    PoetWarrior Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2007
    Posts:
    341
    Removed new ram after discovering it conflicted with system. So I think we have a stable system now. Might reinstall MSE now.

    Added Acronis TI Home 2011 after trialing it. Worked fine to my utter surprise. I really think the Try & Decide mode will help out now when trying new software and recover from any bugs.

    :thumb:
     
  16. Noob

    Noob Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Posts:
    6,491
    Nice decision Poet :)

    EAM officially added to setup and tweaks done to PC. :thumb:
    All in sig.
     
  17. AlexC

    AlexC Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2009
    Posts:
    1,288
    Added Prevx SOL (inside unsandboxed browser) and Adblock Plus addon.
     
  18. jmonge

    jmonge Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Posts:
    13,744
    Location:
    Canada
    prevx+nod32+mbam pro+hitman pro
     
  19. Kernelwars

    Kernelwars Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2010
    Posts:
    2,155
    Location:
    TX
    Thats a killer setup..are u expecting a sudden malware attack J?o_O o_O
     
  20. jmonge

    jmonge Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Posts:
    13,744
    Location:
    Canada
    i am getting ready for 2012 for jut in case :D
     
  21. Watasha

    Watasha Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2010
    Posts:
    233
    Location:
    United States
    The only thing I've changed is my search engine. Many people may say your search engine has nothing to do with security but when you think about the privacy issues & tracking that Google & others have I think it matters a great deal. Anyway I've switched to DuckDuckGo & I love it.
     
  22. Kernelwars

    Kernelwars Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2010
    Posts:
    2,155
    Location:
    TX
    what you using for firewall?:D
     
  23. jmonge

    jmonge Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Posts:
    13,744
    Location:
    Canada
    i am using windows own;)
     
  24. jmonge

    jmonge Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Posts:
    13,744
    Location:
    Canada
    removed mbam pro and added winpatrol plus now i am a litle faster:thumb:
     
  25. jmonge

    jmonge Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Posts:
    13,744
    Location:
    Canada
    also removed spyshelter
     
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.