What is your security setup these days?

Discussion in 'other anti-malware software' started by dja2k, Dec 15, 2005.

  1. boonie

    boonie Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2007
    Posts:
    238
    Same for me. I always keep that and MBAM for on demand.

    Re: Avast. I suddenly today find that I can't send email from Thunderbird (Gmail SMTP) when Avast's Web Shield is on. Going to check their forums.
     
  2. Boyfriend

    Boyfriend Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010
    Posts:
    1,070
    Location:
    Pakistan
    I agree with boonie. I also had issue with DefenseWall Personal Firewall. It was reporting WinPatrol attempts to open Firefox/Chrome processes (two-three entries in log per minute). Ilya was very helpful and replied each query within few hours. The best support, I have ever got from security vendor :) :thumb: Thanks Ilya :D
     
  3. Matthijs5nl

    Matthijs5nl Guest

    True, people mostly base their opinion on idle RAM usage. ESET is a little on the high side there, but that doesn't determine the performance. In fact it's CPU usage is really low. I am absolutely sure of it ESET is the fastest on boottime and resource usage during computer scans.
    Also true, in all comparisons ESET and Microsoft Security Essentials are the kings of false positives.
    Next to that it is extremely stable, I never encountered a bug and it never let me down.

    I really tried a bunch of other antivirus programs and there few I do really like, and not a single one which is on par with ESET in my eyes.

    Microsoft Security Essentials is very nice in several aspects, but it is heavy.
    AVG Anti-Virus Free Edition has Identity Protection and is nice and light and gives good protection, but I hate the GUI, advertisements and crippled update cycle.
    F-Secure has a really nice GUI, a good feature-set, which performs well. But feels a little heavy sometimes.
    Norton is a great program (Insight, SONAR etc.), but a little messy (GUI), bad heuristics and not as light as they claim to be. And most of all it is too expensive.

    I don't like all the others, however avast! 6.0 and Prevx 4.0 seem very promising.

    I was really in doubt whether to renew my license, since ESET seemed to be dropping in performance (however the latest RAP says the opposite) and I don't like the fact they don't say anything about their new version (i.e. what new zero-day protection features are coming). But the previously mentioned arguments probably make me renew, I am quite sure of it.
     
  4. adik1337

    adik1337 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2010
    Posts:
    199
    new setup in my sig .... fast, light and effective :D
     
  5. acr1965

    acr1965 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2006
    Posts:
    4,995
    Avast Security Suite with firewall disabled as well as the IM and P2P shields
    Prevx paid
    Windows firewall
    applocker, usually
    Windows 7 Ultimate, 32 bit

    PS- if I install Windows 7 Ultimate 64 bit can I do so while saving all my programs and files, just upgrade the OS to 64 bit?
     
  6. Boyfriend

    Boyfriend Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010
    Posts:
    1,070
    Location:
    Pakistan
    No. You can not upgrade from 32-bit OS to 64-bit without complete fresh installation.
     
  7. acr1965

    acr1965 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2006
    Posts:
    4,995
    ok, well shoot- that may be a pain then
    thanks for the info
     
  8. justenough

    justenough Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2010
    Posts:
    1,549
    Since I am using Sandboxie and have a system image, the AV is not as important a part of my security, so I would be willing to use one that isn't as effective in exchange for not being noticeable in the system and having few false positives. But NOD32 also scores pretty good in detection in most tests.

    Along with how an AV feels in the system, I found this helpful in figuring out how lightweight an AV is: http://www.raymond.cc/antivirus/
     
  9. LoneWolf

    LoneWolf Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2006
    Posts:
    3,701
    Giving NOD32 4.2.64.12 another spin along with.......
    DefenseWall 3.08 and ShadowDefender 1.1.0.325
     
  10. eugene91

    eugene91 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2010
    Posts:
    192
    Why don't you just use the avast! firewall o_O
     
  11. acr1965

    acr1965 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2006
    Posts:
    4,995
    when the PC Tools firewall version 7 is released I'll probably use it instead. I like different security programs from different vendors. If not PC Tools, I'll go with Online Armor or stick with Windows firewall.

    I originally just wanted the Avast av paid version but there was a much better promo with the security suite- so I chose not to install the firewall and a couple shields.
     
  12. x ZauX x

    x ZauX x Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2010
    Posts:
    139
    Bullguard Internet Security 10 ;)

    /EDIT

    Just notice that i forgot to uninstall avast before installing bullguard, they seem too run nicely together ? :D
     
  13. x ZauX x

    x ZauX x Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2010
    Posts:
    139
    Removed Bullguard Internet Security 10 :D

    Back to Avast :thumb:
     
  14. Kernelwars

    Kernelwars Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2010
    Posts:
    2,155
    Location:
    TX
    Just added security process explorer :D
     
  15. Sjoeii

    Sjoeii Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2006
    Posts:
    1,240
    Location:
    52?18'51.59"N + 4?56'32.13"O
    Just playing around on one of my machines. What do you think?

    * Emsisoft Anti-malware
    * Prevx paid
    * Winpatrol paid
    * Windows firewall
    * CTM

    and last but certainly not least Hitman Pro
     
  16. Boyfriend

    Boyfriend Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010
    Posts:
    1,070
    Location:
    Pakistan
    @Sjoeii: Nice setup :)
    Why not add a decent firewall with NIP (Comodo/ Online Armor/etc.) or install Firewall control for better handling of permission (allow/deny) of applications.
    CTM is working fine for you? Use it with precautions.
     
  17. Kernelwars

    Kernelwars Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2010
    Posts:
    2,155
    Location:
    TX
    The setup looks very tight:D prevx and tinywatcher if you ask me:D and ofcourse Hitman:cool:
     
  18. Sjoeii

    Sjoeii Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2006
    Posts:
    1,240
    Location:
    52?18'51.59"N + 4?56'32.13"O
    Thanks guys. An extra firewall as well?
     
  19. Kernelwars

    Kernelwars Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2010
    Posts:
    2,155
    Location:
    TX
    just add spyshelter .. and you be more than set with your windows firewall.:D that way u will have protection and popup question answer series too..:argh:
     
  20. Boyfriend

    Boyfriend Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010
    Posts:
    1,070
    Location:
    Pakistan
    @Sjoeii: No extra firewall. Just strength existing firewall or replace it with another powerful.
     
  21. moontan

    moontan Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2010
    Posts:
    3,931
    Location:
    Québec
    just add Windows Firewall Control free to your existing Windows firewall.
    (if you have Vista or W7)
    it's light without any of the headaches of a firewall with HIPS.

    -http://www.sphinx-soft.com/Vista/order.html-
     
  22. Boyfriend

    Boyfriend Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010
    Posts:
    1,070
    Location:
    Pakistan
  23. ReverseGear

    ReverseGear Guest

    With avast my pc starts at 30 sec , with mse at 44 and with kis at 1 minute
    avast is fastest on my system ... waiting for 5.1 now :thumb:
     
  24. Plati

    Plati Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2009
    Posts:
    26
    Location:
    Poland
    and how many sec with avira personal ?
     
  25. phaser

    phaser Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2010
    Posts:
    35
    Trying something new...
    My previous setup was Comodo FW/Avast Free and I replaced it with PC Tools FW 7 RC/Norton Antivirus 2011.


    [Later edit]:

    I removed PC Tools Firewall 7 because it's still buggy (CPU spikes, applications freezing). Moved to Norton Internet Security 2011 for now...
     
    Last edited: Nov 1, 2010
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.