What is your security setup these days?

Discussion in 'other anti-malware software' started by dja2k, Dec 15, 2005.

  1. shoe

    shoe Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2002
    Posts:
    201
    Security Essentials and common sense
     
  2. ExtremeGamerBR

    ExtremeGamerBR Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2010
    Posts:
    1,351
    Avira is really amazing, good choice! :thumb:
     
  3. zerotox

    zerotox Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2009
    Posts:
    419
    And do you have webguard turned on?
     
  4. trjam

    trjam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2006
    Posts:
    9,102
    Location:
    North Carolina USA
    Avira is good, but give it a day or slow and you will see your web browsing slowing down on page loadings.
     
  5. ReverseGear

    ReverseGear Guest

    When will proactiv be ready for x64 versions in avira ?
     
  6. ExtremeGamerBR

    ExtremeGamerBR Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2010
    Posts:
    1,351
    Long ago I used Avira Premium Security Suite 10, the Web Guard left my internet super slow, my downloads were at 10KB/s.

    The Web Guard improved or not?
     
  7. zerotox

    zerotox Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2009
    Posts:
    419
    Very much depends on the individual system - for me, on WIN 7 ultimate 32 bit it is very slightly felt when loading graphics intensive pages, otherwise I can't almost feel it's there. As to downloading - it's discussed sooo many times on their forum - it acts like a proxy, so first the downloaded file is tunneled through the proxy and then returned back to the browser, that's why all the incorrect readings in different speed tests and download managers. When measured with a stop-watch - almost the same. So if you can live with that - then OK. I personally prefer to see how much is left of my download in real time, so I don't install webguard.
     
  8. ExtremeGamerBR

    ExtremeGamerBR Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2010
    Posts:
    1,351
    In January I could not even use the interent right because of this protection. o_O

    Thankfully now I've found a suite that pleases me in every way.
     
  9. Ibrad

    Ibrad Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009
    Posts:
    1,970
    Still holding steady with my current setup but I feel I need a Policy Based Sandbox or some sort of HIPS. So most likely later this week I will be switching to one of the following.

    Defencewall 2.56 (If it works on Windows 7)

    GeSwall: I am kinda worried about that one because it is known to wipe out your OS on uninstall.

    Malware Defender: Much more to learn but rather powerful.
     
  10. huntnyc

    huntnyc Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2004
    Posts:
    1,014
    Location:
    Brooklyn, USA
    Current setup

    Windows vista Business 23bit
    Cradlepoint MBR1000 router
    Windows firewall
    LnS firewall
    WinPatrol Plus
    Malware Defender
    Avast! Free
    Sandboxie
    Shadow Defender (on demand)
    Firefox with AddBlock, Noscript, WOT
    Opera 10.62

    Never thought I would be running so many security programs, but all seems good so far. Might think of taking a couple of layers off but not sure what exactly. Might leave it alone unless somehting conflicts.

    Gary
     
  11. Kernelwars

    Kernelwars Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2010
    Posts:
    2,155
    Location:
    TX
    so far everything is smooth..webguard is turned on as well.. it definitely improved:thumb:
     
  12. ExtremeGamerBR

    ExtremeGamerBR Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2010
    Posts:
    1,351
    It's good to know! :thumb:
     
  13. The Hammer

    The Hammer Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2005
    Posts:
    5,751
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
    I haven't experienced that yet.
     
  14. The Hammer

    The Hammer Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2005
    Posts:
    5,751
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
    You can go with only one firewall for sure.
     
  15. huntnyc

    huntnyc Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2004
    Posts:
    1,014
    Location:
    Brooklyn, USA
    Thank you. I turned Windows Firewall off. Not running MD's network protection becuase I think LnS should be sufficient for outbound protection. Thanks again.

    Gary
     
  16. icr

    icr Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2008
    Posts:
    1,589
    Location:
    Mumbai

    It will take a while to be implemented as such the proActive version was implemented(or may be not AFAIK) on 32bit system after so long time:mad:
     
  17. IBadget

    IBadget Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2009
    Posts:
    59
    Location:
    Waipahu, HI
    Removed
    • Avira Antivir Personal
    • Immunet Protect

    Added
    • Comodo Internet Security 2011
     
    Last edited: Oct 12, 2010
  18. Ibrad

    Ibrad Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009
    Posts:
    1,970
    Removed PrivateFirewall
     
  19. ExtremeGamerBR

    ExtremeGamerBR Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2010
    Posts:
    1,351
    Real-Time Protection
    Norton Internet Security 2011

    Behavior Blocker
    Emsisoft Mamutu 3.0.0.16

    Web Protection
    IE8 Hardenned - ClearCloud DNS

    Windows Hardenning
    DEP - SEHOP - EMET - Safe-Admim

    On-Demand
    Hitman Pro - Emsisoft Emergency Kit
     
  20. trjam

    trjam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2006
    Posts:
    9,102
    Location:
    North Carolina USA
    change for the better
     
  21. atomomega

    atomomega Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2010
    Posts:
    1,292
    Why do you use EEK, when Hitman Pro includes EAM's engine? Just wondering cause I've seen a lot of people here @ Wilders doing the same. I just wanna know if there's any advantage on doing so?
     
  22. ExtremeGamerBR

    ExtremeGamerBR Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2010
    Posts:
    1,351
    For the simple fact that with the EEK I can do a deep scan.

    Once a computer from a friend, I spent the Hitman Pro, and they found nothing and then I spent the EEK and found an infection.

    For me, the Hitman is only for a scan daily, weekly but only trust in the NIS and EEK.

    Sorry for my english!
     
  23. atomomega

    atomomega Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2010
    Posts:
    1,292
    Thank you for taking the time to explain! Didn't know that... :thumb:
     
  24. ExtremeGamerBR

    ExtremeGamerBR Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2010
    Posts:
    1,351
    It is a pleasure to help you! :thumb:
     
  25. jmonge

    jmonge Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Posts:
    13,744
    Location:
    Canada
    how is norton this days man?does it have parentalcontrol?
     
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.