What is your security setup these days?

Discussion in 'other anti-malware software' started by dja2k, Dec 15, 2005.

  1. lodore

    lodore Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2006
    Posts:
    9,064
    you might want to get the new nod32 2.7 since it has better rootkit detection with antistealth technology.
    lodore
     
  2. Clweb

    Clweb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2002
    Posts:
    127
    Location:
    France
    Here:
    Avast antivirus 4.7.892 standard shield
    DI604 router with SPI firewall
    Windows XP SP2 firewall
    Windows Defender
    ProSecurity 1.23 (HIPS and Oubound protection)
     
  3. TECHWG

    TECHWG Guest

    "Vmware server" running win2k guest that has the external ip (internet connection) then using kerio winroute firewall to NAT upnp router my system with no need for extra hardware or cost (the guest is set to start with the system)

    Nod32 2.7
    ProSecurity Paid 1.23
    Comodo firewall freeware
     
  4. trjam

    trjam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2006
    Posts:
    9,102
    Location:
    North Carolina USA
    Not for long my friend.:)
     
  5. cello

    cello Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2006
    Posts:
    17
    Location:
    Milano, Italy
    This is my first post here, but I think that even a newbie point of view on this subject could be useful, at least to see if a careful reading of previous posts could do the job for people like me (I'm an IT professional, but in a totally different area).

    My security setup includes:

    Resident:
    Jetico V1.0 (NTWrapper)
    Avira Antivir PE
    SSM Free
    Sanboxie

    On demand:
    a-squared free
    SuperAntiSpyware
    SpywareTerminator (resident protection disabled)

    My system is an old laptop (celeron 650, 128mb ram, win2k sp4) and I found this setup very light on resources and even very stable.
    The only software that at first sight I found hard to get was Jetico, but now I love it! I never found a firewall so rationally and clarly implemented and yet so light and powerful!

    If you agree with my setup, I will be very glad to suggest it to some friend of mine that, either for money or time shortage, don't want to move from older PC's.

    Thanks a lot

    Cello
     
  6. lodore

    lodore Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2006
    Posts:
    9,064
    true:D
    lodore
     
  7. dja2k

    dja2k Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2005
    Posts:
    2,113
    Location:
    South Texas, USA
    When will the better one come :D ?

    dja2k
     
  8. trjam

    trjam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2006
    Posts:
    9,102
    Location:
    North Carolina USA
    It is in its second phase and hopefully will be out after that. Avira makes it a point to make sure things are as right as can be, before releasing.
     
  9. dja2k

    dja2k Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2005
    Posts:
    2,113
    Location:
    South Texas, USA
    Good to hear! How well is the firewall going?

    dja2k
     
  10. trjam

    trjam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2006
    Posts:
    9,102
    Location:
    North Carolina USA
    The firewall is out now, in the suite. Solid and quite, read here.
     
  11. dja2k

    dja2k Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2005
    Posts:
    2,113
    Location:
    South Texas, USA
    Hmmm...okay I saw the link! Great AV and good firewall.

    dja2k
     
  12. QBgreen

    QBgreen Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2005
    Posts:
    627
    Location:
    Queens County, NY
    11/29/06 9:00 PM EST: Security Application Rotation completed.

    Persistent:
    A very high quality router
    BOClean

    Active:
    Avira Premium Security Suite
    SUPERAntiSpyware Pro
    Cyberhawk
    System Safety Monitor

    Passive:
    McAfee Anti-Virus (standalone)
    a-squared free
    RootkitRevealer
    Sophos Anti-Rootkit
    SpywareBlaster

    All of my active apps work in concert, and no, my system is not bogged down at all. :D
     
  13. 337

    337 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2006
    Posts:
    232
    Location:
    Georgia, USA
    I'm using kis 6 and am quite happy with it!! Thinking of adding spyware blaster to my arsenal. If it doesn't conflict with Kis 6 that is...
     
  14. dja2k

    dja2k Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2005
    Posts:
    2,113
    Location:
    South Texas, USA
    Spyware Blaster doesn't conflict with many other apps, KIS is one of them! Kaspersky and Spyware Blaster are good together.

    dja2k
     
  15. yankinNcrankin

    yankinNcrankin Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2006
    Posts:
    406
    Its in my signature :D
     
  16. dja2k

    dja2k Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2005
    Posts:
    2,113
    Location:
    South Texas, USA
    For now, changes to my security setup will be done in my signature. Most people are listing their setup like that and well mine keeps changing a lot these days for me to be posting every day or every other day.

    dja2k
     
  17. 337

    337 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2006
    Posts:
    232
    Location:
    Georgia, USA
    Good deal, will give it a shot!!:thumb:
     
  18. dja2k

    dja2k Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2005
    Posts:
    2,113
    Location:
    South Texas, USA
    Now why would Kav's PDM find this right away to be invaders, explorer.exe, services.exe, svchost.exe, etc. Now having to put those in trusted mode to avoid having to answer the pop-up all the time is useless in my view. Aren't those three of the main critical processes that get hit? I always knew they wouldn't get the PDM right.

    dja2k
     
  19. WSFuser

    WSFuser Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2004
    Posts:
    10,634
    vista setup:

    added
    changed
    removed

    Resident:

    Kaspersky Internet Security

    On-Demand:

    a-squared free

    Other Security / System Hardening:

    vLite'd Windows Vista
    Service tweaking (taken from here and here)
    Process Explorer
    Firefox extensions: Cookie Button (in the status bar) and noscript
     
  20. WSFuser

    WSFuser Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2004
    Posts:
    10,634
    XP setup:

    added
    changed
    removed

    Resident:

    Ad Muncher
    CHX-I Packet Filter
    Kaspersky Anti-Virus
    NOD32
    Prevx1

    On-Demand:

    a-squared Free

    Other Security / System Hardening:

    nLite'd Windows XP (with service tweaking based on TweakHound's guide)
    RyanVM's Windows XP Post-SP2 Update Pack
    Xable's Light Windows XP Post-SP2 Update Pack
    Harden-it
    SocketLock
    Windows Worms Doors Cleaner
    xpy
    Process Explorer
    Firefox extensions: Cookie Button (in the status bar), noscript, and permit cookies
     
    Last edited: Dec 8, 2006
  21. lodore

    lodore Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2006
    Posts:
    9,064
    active-
    KIS6.0 MP1
    Open DNS

    System hardening-
    spyware blaster (always use is but dont always say)
    XP-anti spy

    on demand scans-
    A Squared
    spy sweeper 5.2 (need to reinstall since it disabled 2 shields due to f-secure incompatibility)

    lodore
     
  22. farmerlee

    farmerlee Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2006
    Posts:
    2,585
    At this point in time,

    On my dell laptop,
    NOD32 2.7
    Outpost Firewall Pro 4
    Ghost Security Suite

    On my sony laptop,
    Avira Antivir Premium
    Look'n'Stop 2.05
    Ghost Security Suite
     
  23. Long View

    Long View Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2004
    Posts:
    2,295
    Location:
    Cromwell Country
    Netgear DG834 hardware Firewall
    Windows Xp Firewall
    Avast
    Windows Defender
    ProSecurity 1.24

    Not really sure that Avast and Windows Defender are really needed. Either they are crap at picking things up or Firewalls plus ProSecurity are keeping the bad guys out or my machines are full of bugs ? Life is too short to worry.
     
  24. farmerlee

    farmerlee Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2006
    Posts:
    2,585
    Yeah if you know what you're doing with prosecurity then you're pretty safe just using that imo. You could also do away with the windows firewall as well seeing as you have a hardware firewall.
     
  25. Long View

    Long View Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2004
    Posts:
    2,295
    Location:
    Cromwell Country
    ProSecurity is a keeper. As to the others - I keep changing looking for the perfect program - which of course does not exist. Tried Ghost recently but seems to be going nowhere ? lot of people rave about Comodo (firewall ) but not about the virus program. Might just give them both a trial. All I want is a 2 meg suite than doesn't slow my machine down and never lets anything bad happen.
    :D
     
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.