What is your security setup these days?

Discussion in 'other anti-malware software' started by dja2k, Dec 15, 2005.

  1. firzen771

    firzen771 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2007
    Posts:
    4,815
    Location:
    Canada
    thats why u can just download the firefox extension for it, so that way it will scramble ur keys just when browsing (eg. banking) ive never had any issues when i used to use, i think u shuld give it a try, no harm done since its just an addon.
     
  2. jmonge

    jmonge Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Posts:
    13,742
    Location:
    Canada
    i use IE from microsoft version 6 full of holes:D and i love it:D maybe if i use firefox to try it to see how it works:cool: let' see:)
     
  3. firzen771

    firzen771 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2007
    Posts:
    4,815
    Location:
    Canada
    ah i see, lame IE 6 :p u shuld give it a shot with the free version addon for firefox, its nice and doesnt bother the user with anything really.
     
  4. jmonge

    jmonge Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Posts:
    13,742
    Location:
    Canada
    i know how secure is firefox and if i tried it i will be tented to delete all my security apps :)just kidding,but i like the ie and all the holes that way i know my security apps are doing it's job:D man i paid for this security stuff they must do their job:D by the way i never tried, you are provoking a test here;) thanks for the advise:thumb:
     
    Last edited: Mar 22, 2009
  5. dja2k

    dja2k Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2005
    Posts:
    2,113
    Location:
    South Texas, USA
    Updated List March 22, 2009

    Vista Home Premium SP1 (UAC OFF\WD OFF)

    Resident
    Online Armor AV+ v3.1.0.37 Beta (Paid)*
    Avira Antivir Personal v9*
    Sandboxie 3.35.19 Beta (Paid)*

    On-Demand
    Shadow Defender 1.1.0.278*
    VMWare Workstation 6.51 (Various Operating Systems)*

    Other

    Spybot Search & Destroy (Immunized)
    Spyware Blaster (Immunized)
    Vista Services Optimizer (Manual Tuneup)
    Ultimate Windows Tweaker (Customized)

    I removed SUPERAntispyware cause Avira Personal v9 now includes Antispyware detection.


    dja2k
     
    Last edited: Mar 22, 2009
  6. EASTER

    EASTER Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2007
    Posts:
    9,619
    Location:
    U.S.A. (South)
    But wouldn't it be more logical to seriously question yourself in that regard?

    SAS for one example is been collecting malware AS samples and formulating detections successfully for similar variants for a long time more then Avira, not taking anything away at all from Avira, but likewise any AV who is been virus tracking for years doesn't IMO overnight simply come up to the same level & par with an AS company this recently who is been malware tracking for years themselves.

    Just a word up for consideration since Avira's AS is new.

    EASTER
     
  7. firzen771

    firzen771 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2007
    Posts:
    4,815
    Location:
    Canada
    Avira's AS isnt new, they have been doing it for a while, the only thing new is they now included it in the free version
     
  8. RSpanky

    RSpanky Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2009
    Posts:
    220
    Location:
    Arizona, USA
    Windows Vista Home Premium 32 UAC off/ DW off

    Resident
    DefenseWall 2.52 Paid
    Prevx Edge 3.01.17 Paid
    Router Nat/SPI
    Windows Firewall Enabled

    On Demand
    Sandboxie 3.34 Paid
    Super Anti Spyware
    Malwarebytes
    Dr. Web Cure It
    WWDC
     
    Last edited: Mar 22, 2009
  9. Creer

    Creer Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2008
    Posts:
    1,345
    Realtime:
    DefenseWall v2.52 v2.53 (pre-built)
    Online Armor v3.1.0.26 Public Beta (waiting for final release)

    Backup:
    Shadow Protect Desktop
    SyncBack (data backup)
     
    Last edited: Mar 22, 2009
  10. EASTER

    EASTER Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2007
    Posts:
    9,619
    Location:
    U.S.A. (South)
    Very well then. Long time NOD32 holder here so it IS a new feature for some including myself.

    In your opinion how does it stack up to the detection/clearing operations (AS specific) in comparison to SAS or MBAM or ASQUARED if you done any testings with it or experienced other AS's results as compared to what you been experiencing all along apparently since Avira AS is not new i assume in the Premium Division.
     
  11. risl

    risl Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2006
    Posts:
    581
    Still having only Dr.Web, Windows Firewall and Firefox. I always seem to find something annoying in programs that are supposed to "complete" AV's :'(
     
  12. jmonge

    jmonge Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Posts:
    13,742
    Location:
    Canada
    the only thing about avira/nod32 especially nod32 is that their abilities to remove rogues/spy apps is week or not remove/bypass/not detect at all,i tested a couple of in the wild rouges applications from the jungle(web)and very sad/disapointed here to see this wonderfull antivirus fail in real time:)
    note:the best way to find out about a security app is to try it our selfs and not depend on av'/as' comparatives:) that is exactly what i do,before buying an antivirus/antispyware,download limewire and download what ever suspicious files i can and test it my selt:)then i judge/decide which one deserve to stay in my pc:)
    also i want to mention that mbam is very good at removing the trashout very easilly:)
     
    Last edited: Mar 22, 2009
  13. firzen771

    firzen771 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2007
    Posts:
    4,815
    Location:
    Canada
    tbh, Avira's spyware detection is actually quite high through my own experiences, i wouldnt put it higher than SAS, MBAM is better at detecting new variants but not as good on older ones. A2 isnt a pure AS, so i wont compare that atm.

    ther was a test that was done for a bunch of AV's and it showed the % of viruses caught seperate to the % of spyware caught, cant find the test atm, if someone else finds it, post it. im guessing here what it was, but Avira had somewer between 98%-99% on spyware detection, so Avira's AS is actually pretty good.
     
  14. FloorMatt

    FloorMatt Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2008
    Posts:
    13
    Real-Time:
    Avira AntiVir Premium 9 (KIS is gone)
    Windows Firewall
    UAC

    On-Demand:
    Superantispyware
    Malwarebytes

    My computer boots up and runs faster than ever before.
     
  15. jmonge

    jmonge Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Posts:
    13,742
    Location:
    Canada
    in what way was avira a better choice matt?thanks
     
  16. jmonge

    jmonge Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Posts:
    13,742
    Location:
    Canada
    added OpenDns
    SpyWare Blaster
    Mvps Host File
     
  17. firzen771

    firzen771 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2007
    Posts:
    4,815
    Location:
    Canada
    ur list is looking quite large again :p
     
  18. jmonge

    jmonge Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Posts:
    13,742
    Location:
    Canada
    trying new stuff in 2 diferent pc's;) i like the opendns for blocking adult content and adware sites;)
     
  19. firzen771

    firzen771 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2007
    Posts:
    4,815
    Location:
    Canada
    NEW SETUP: trying out Prevx Edge for now

    Real-Time:
    - Avira Antivir Premium 9
    - Mamutu
    - Prevx Edge Trial
    - Rollback Rx
    - WinPatrol

    On-Demand:
    - SAS
    - MBAM
    - SpywareBlaster
    - Sandboxie

    no added slowdown from adding Edge so far.
     
  20. LoneWolf

    LoneWolf Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2006
    Posts:
    3,683
    It's also good against dns poisoning.
    There's a test here and here as well as here to see if your at risk.
     
  21. jmonge

    jmonge Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Posts:
    13,742
    Location:
    Canada
    cool thanks;)
     
  22. jmonge

    jmonge Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Posts:
    13,742
    Location:
    Canada
    The DNS server at xxxxxxxx is NOT overtly vulnerable,it was all green and good;)
     
  23. FloorMatt

    FloorMatt Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2008
    Posts:
    13
    KIS 09 was slowing down my boot times by a lot. I play a lot of PC games and I noticed lower framerates and general sluggishness. I installed Avira and got my performance back.
     
  24. jmonge

    jmonge Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Posts:
    13,742
    Location:
    Canada
    ah,i see
    the reason i ask cause i also experience a slow down when i tested this antivirus before,thanks
    but also avira slow me down too
     
  25. jmonge

    jmonge Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Posts:
    13,742
    Location:
    Canada
    i just got organize with my signiture,what i did is that i only listed those apps that i use in my xp2 machine:) so for now this is my current security set up;)
     
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.