What is your security setup these days?

Discussion in 'other anti-malware software' started by dja2k, Dec 15, 2005.

  1. Sampei Nihira

    Sampei Nihira Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2013
    Posts:
    2,499
    Location:
    Italy
  2. Sampei Nihira

    Sampei Nihira Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2013
    Posts:
    2,499
    Location:
    Italy
    it happens that both you and I use UBO in Hard Mode.
    Then continues:


    I do not know in Canada, but in Italy worse than useless........;):)
     
  3. wat0114

    wat0114 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2012
    Posts:
    3,589
    Location:
    Canada
    Haha...okay I'll give you that :D
     
  4. Sampei Nihira

    Sampei Nihira Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2013
    Posts:
    2,499
    Location:
    Italy
    Xubuntu 21.10 (PC my daughter)
    Strong password enabled
    Quad9 DNS
    UFW Firewall - enabled

    Mozilla Firefox (latest version)

    • Changed the settings in about:config for best privacy and security.
    • Fission - enabled
    • HTTPS-only-mode enabled
    • DuckDuckGo set as search engine and homepage.
    Extensions:
    • UBO - Hard Mode - with TLD by Kees1958
    • LocalCDN
    • Speed Dial
    • VideoDownloadHelper
    P.S.
    I checked the Linux Firefox Sandbox

    Sandbox1.png
     
    Last edited: Nov 25, 2021
  5. Moose World

    Moose World Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2013
    Posts:
    819
    Location:
    U.S. Citizen
    @Sampei Nihira

    Are you Firejail on Linux and/or RLbox as far as being Sandbox?

    Kind regards,
     
  6. JohnMult

    JohnMult Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2012
    Posts:
    130
    Location:
    Greece
    How do you check Linux Firefox Sandbox?
     
  7. imdb

    imdb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2011
    Posts:
    3,603
    about:support
     
  8. Sampei Nihira

    Sampei Nihira Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2013
    Posts:
    2,499
    Location:
    Italy
  9. Krusty

    Krusty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Posts:
    9,562
    Location:
    Among the gum trees
    Uninstalled Hard_Configurator and ran Simple Windows Hardening instead.
    https://malwaretips.com/threads/configuredefender-utility-for-windows-10.79039/page-72#post-965820

    Probably. With H_C enabled I could not download .exe files in Firefox for some reason. Disabling H_C and uninstallling H_C re-enabled downloading of .exe files.*

    Uninstalled KSC and reinstalled N360.

    #393

    * Please note; I am not looking for support for this issue. Uninstalling Hard_Configurator resolved it.
     
  10. Warklen

    Warklen Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2009
    Posts:
    112
    Wow nice to see this is still on the go. Its been a long time since I've been here.
    Voodoo Shield and windows firewall running on windows 10
     
  11. tipo

    tipo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2008
    Posts:
    432
    Location:
    romania
    AVG IS
    Avira phantom vpn
    Cloudflare dns 1.1.1.1 (don't know if it helps as I'm using vpn)
    Rollback rx
    Backup on external hdd
    On demand: hmp, adw cleaner, npe, f-secure online scanner, eset online scanner
    Chrome extensions: lastpass, bitdefender anti-track, adblock plus.
     
  12. roger_m

    roger_m Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2009
    Posts:
    8,192
    I ditched Huorong and started using 360 Total Security Premium again two weeks ago. 360 is lighter. I've still got WiseVector installed but don't currently use it, as it was causing some internet problems.
     
  13. Rasheed187

    Rasheed187 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Posts:
    15,193
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    You're really into these Chinese AV's LOL. So now you're even paying for it? What does it provide you that others don't? I just wonder about it.
     
  14. tuvalu_tt

    tuvalu_tt Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2013
    Posts:
    55
    Location:
    Finland
    I think i stopped using Malwarebytes 4 or 5 years ago.

    All 6 computers have Emsisoft Anti-Malware and 4 those computers also have HitManPro.Alert.
    Win 7 is not used, 5 are Win 10 and 1 Win 8.1.

    Something needs to be done with Win 8.1, Emsisoft is gonna stop with definition updates june 2022.
    Maybe Voodooshield and Windows Defender.
    Now i test Voodooshield with Win 10.
     
    Last edited: Nov 28, 2021
  15. roger_m

    roger_m Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2009
    Posts:
    8,192
    Yes, you can buy very cheap licenses from third party sellers. It doesn't automatically quarantine files.
     
  16. bellgamin

    bellgamin Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2002
    Posts:
    7,637
    Location:
    Hawaii
    3rd party sellers on Ebay or.... ?
     
  17. roger_m

    roger_m Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2009
    Posts:
    8,192
    I bought it from the website gamivo.com. In the past I've purchased it from eBay, but this time, I couldn't find it there.
     
  18. moredhelfinland

    moredhelfinland Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2009
    Posts:
    192
    Location:
    Finland
    Im testing F-Secure AV with Secureaplus free. F-Secure is quite good, but it lacks against lolbins. On my own malware testing, secureaplus freebie is really good to stop lolbin malwares.
    Thinkin about to upgrade SAP to pro version, because of its unique way to check certificate checks (Trusted Certificate List, Name & Thumbprint).
    Tried against fresh signed malware, F-Secure failed, secureaplus pro warned thumbprint certificate. Pretty good eh?
     
    Last edited: Dec 1, 2021
  19. Rasheed187

    Rasheed187 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Posts:
    15,193
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Oh yes, now I remember that you liked it for this reason. But didn't you like any other feature in the Pro version?
     
  20. moredhelfinland

    moredhelfinland Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2009
    Posts:
    192
    Location:
    Finland
    If your favorite AV software does have a feature that allows user to choose to quarantine, allow, deny. Depends on software used, this might work or not.
    On my own testing ( i do like test all kind of security softwares). One basic example i've came across is:
    1) Run ransomware malware sample or something similar and destructive
    2) Your favorite AV(or other solution) pop-ups a window something like "Heur/APC", then it asks Allow or Deny
    3) Don't click Allow or Deny, leave that pop up window open
    4) Malware spawns several other child and/or parent processes
    5) Those spawned processes are encrypting your system in the background
    6) Click Deny
    7) It kills the main process, but those background parent processes are still encrypting your files
    :cool: System encrypted

    So sometimes "auto-quarantine" feature is recommended.
     
  21. ako

    ako Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2006
    Posts:
    667
    Standard user account
    Microsoft defender (+ Defender UI)
    Malwarebytes
    Voodooshield
    Chrome + AdGuard + uBlock + Trafficlight
     
    Last edited: Dec 6, 2021
  22. Rasheed187

    Rasheed187 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Posts:
    15,193
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Good point. But perhaps that's why it's also a good idea to use dedicated anti-ransomware in case AV messed up, something like HMPA or AppCheck.
     
  23. roger_m

    roger_m Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2009
    Posts:
    8,192
    It removes the annoying ads that the free version has.

    I would have though that unless you specifically clicked on Allow, the malware wouldn't be able to anything, but obviously that is not always the case. Anyway, that's an interesting situation and I have no idea how 360 would handle it.
     
  24. bellgamin

    bellgamin Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2002
    Posts:
    7,637
    Location:
    Hawaii
    Restoring a clean image will solve encryption by ransomware, correct? If so, why worry about ransomware (am I missing something)?
     
  25. Gandalf_The_Grey

    Gandalf_The_Grey Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2012
    Posts:
    956
    Location:
    The Netherlands
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.