What is your security setup these days?

Discussion in 'other anti-malware software' started by dja2k, Dec 15, 2005.

  1. jmonge

    jmonge Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Posts:
    13,744
    Location:
    Canada
    Added SD free offer;)update:i had to removed it it slow me down so for now got to wait on this one
     
    Last edited: Jan 23, 2021
  2. jmonge

    jmonge Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Posts:
    13,744
    Location:
    Canada
    Trialing SUPERAntiSpyWare
    Professional X Edition for 14 days.its very light it doesn't slow me down at all.its very niçe note: running it with ROGUEKiller only.no conflicts at all super quiet and fast pc here
     
  3. 1chaoticadult

    1chaoticadult Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2010
    Posts:
    2,322
    Location:
    USA
    Another change to my setup -

    Added: VoodooShield Pro

    ConfigDefender - Protection: High | BitLocker - XTA-AES Encryption | UAC - Max
    VoodooShield Pro - Smart Mode & Aggressive, WhitelistCloud On
    TinyWall - Blocklists Enabled & Protected Settings | Macrium Reflect - Image Guardian On
    MBAM Premium - Always Register in WSC Off, Real-Time Protection On | HitmanPro - Scan with HitmanPro On
    Edge - UBlock Origin, LastPass & ExpressVPN
     
  4. ProTruckDriver

    ProTruckDriver Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2008
    Posts:
    1,331
    Location:
    USN Retired 1969 ~ 1992
    macOS Catalina 10.15.7
    • Malwarebytes Premium for Mac (Renewed Subscription for another year) :)
    • Malwarebytes Browser Guard on Firefox & Chrome
    • AdGuard on Firefox and Chrome
    Windows 10 on HP Desktop
    • Norton Security
    • Norton Safe Web on all Browsers
    • AdGuard on all Browsers
     
    Last edited: Jan 24, 2021
  5. jmonge

    jmonge Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Posts:
    13,744
    Location:
    Canada
    New set up for laptop OSArmor Personal and WD that's it(removed)
     
    Last edited: Jan 23, 2021
  6. digmor crusher

    digmor crusher Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2012
    Posts:
    972
    Location:
    Canada
    Should be all you need, especially if you augment WD with Configure Defender. All your configurations are making me dizzy. We need a new thread, the " jmonge, Alberta bound, multi configuration, change em like my underwear" thread.
     
  7. Bertazzone

    Bertazzone Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2018
    Posts:
    434
    Location:
    Milan, Italia
    :argh::argh::argh:Maybe they should have this 1 on 1 via PM.
     
    Last edited: Jan 22, 2021
  8. digmor crusher

    digmor crusher Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2012
    Posts:
    972
    Location:
    Canada
    Nope, the world should know.:blink:
     
  9. Bertazzone

    Bertazzone Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2018
    Posts:
    434
    Location:
    Milan, Italia
    Edited above post. Indeed you are right, this is good for laughs. :thumb:
     
  10. digmor crusher

    digmor crusher Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2012
    Posts:
    972
    Location:
    Canada
    I may as well post mine.

    Windows Defender with Configure Defender.
    SimpleWindowsHardening
    Browser apps - UBO, Lastpass
    Shadow Defender - for fun.
     
    Last edited: Jan 23, 2021
  11. jmonge

    jmonge Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Posts:
    13,744
    Location:
    Canada
    Ok fresh windows install for laptop I try OSArmor couldn't register :( then try appguard again it blocks the games so no no again so I install ROGUEKiller Premium and HitManPro Alert problem solve;)

    So in 2 desktops and 1 laptop I have ROGUEKiller Premium with HitManPro Alert running super fast ;)

    Mac I have Malwarebytes ;)
     
  12. roger_m

    roger_m Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2009
    Posts:
    8,111
    This is my security setup on my main PC. I have forty antiviruses and second opinion scanners installed on my test PC.

    OS

    Windows 10 Pro 1909

    Antiviruses
    360 Total Security Premium - I'm running it in performance mode, which makes it compatible with other antiviruses
    WiseVector StopX

    Second opinion scanners
    Kaspersky Virus Removal Tool
    HitmanPro (trial version)

    Backup
    AOMEI Backupper
    Koofr
    Tresorit

    I'm still running build 1909, as I'm not getting more recent builds offered in Windows Update yet. If I never get offered a more recent build, I will update manually. But for now I'm happy to wait, as 1909 works very well on my PC. For my usage, I don't feel it's necessary to have a complicated security setup. I just added WiseVector.
     
  13. Page42

    Page42 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2007
    Posts:
    6,749
    Location:
    USA
    You haven't forgotten trjam, have you? His changes sometimes took place on the hour!
     
  14. pb1

    pb1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2014
    Posts:
    796
    Location:
    sweden
    To some extent my set up.
    Where can i find the info about Qihoos security modes, especially the performance mode?
     
  15. wat0114

    wat0114 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2012
    Posts:
    3,488
    Location:
    Canada
    :argh:
     
  16. Floyd 57

    Floyd 57 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2017
    Posts:
    1,234
    Location:
    Europe
    Are you assuming we change our underwear?

    Amateur
     
  17. jmonge

    jmonge Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Posts:
    13,744
    Location:
    Canada
    I use the programs that work but have to try and then choose what works for me and all computers i have.i am very busy as we have 5 pcs and 1 mac not to mention cell phones and tablets
    ;) one day I will figure out the best approach of security without losing functionality(production) remember is not same to deal with 1 pc than to deal with 5 plus pc.dont forget that:)
     
    Last edited: Jan 23, 2021
  18. 1chaoticadult

    1chaoticadult Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2010
    Posts:
    2,322
    Location:
    USA
    Security Cafe :D
     
  19. jmonge

    jmonge Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Posts:
    13,744
    Location:
    Canada
    Exactly.cybercafe is caĺled;) very busy here making changes
     
  20. 1chaoticadult

    1chaoticadult Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2010
    Posts:
    2,322
    Location:
    USA
    Well at long you find what works for each pc then its all good.
     
  21. ProTruckDriver

    ProTruckDriver Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2008
    Posts:
    1,331
    Location:
    USN Retired 1969 ~ 1992
    I believe everyone here noticed. :):argh:
     
  22. jmonge

    jmonge Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Posts:
    13,744
    Location:
    Canada
    Trying my best
     
  23. wat0114

    wat0114 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2012
    Posts:
    3,488
    Location:
    Canada
    That's okay, it's all in good fun. As long as you're getting enjoyment out of it, that's all that really matters, not what the rest of use think.
     
  24. jmonge

    jmonge Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Posts:
    13,744
    Location:
    Canada
    So far RogueKiller Premium and SASProX Edition are the ones that are performing without any slow downs
    So light and fast
     
  25. Spartan

    Spartan Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2016
    Posts:
    1,045
    Location:
    Dubai
    so is SAS PRO now considered a full fledged AV since they have Avira Signatures?
     
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.