What is your security setup these days?

Discussion in 'other anti-malware software' started by dja2k, Dec 15, 2005.

  1. solitarios

    solitarios Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2016
    Posts:
    199
    webroot + zonealarm free firewalll + mbae
    CF warp.
     
  2. tipo

    tipo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2008
    Posts:
    427
    Location:
    romania
    switched to Bitdefender IS and hotspot shield.
     
  3. Osaban

    Osaban Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2005
    Posts:
    5,362
    Location:
    Milan and Seoul
    Not at all, they are just storage outside my computer. My computer is really only the operating system as in my signature and the programs I use mainly MS Office and Photoshop. I've decided to keep my data away from my machine in different hard drives for security, and to make daily images of the OS as fast as possible, a backup incremental usually takes less than 90 seconds. When I had 2 computers there was no real advantage, but double work to check them out, backups, and more than anything confusion. A laptop is portable by design, and one machine can handle just about anything for private use. If it's required I can replace it with a new machine and be operational within a day.
     
  4. wat0114

    wat0114 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2012
    Posts:
    3,320
    Location:
    Canada
    Hi Sampei,

    No rule at all. I haven't even seen any attempts by it yet to connect, since installing the firewall yesterday. In fact, I had no rule for it when I used Comodo.

    Edit

    sorry, forgot to mention no rule for it in OSArmor yet, either.
     
    Last edited: Jan 17, 2021
  5. Sampei Nihira

    Sampei Nihira Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2013
    Posts:
    2,137
    Location:
    Italy
    :thumb:

    I have to use a custom rule in OSA because Windows Firewall in W.XP does not allow blocking a command.
    I have 5 custom Block Rules in OSA.
     
  6. wat0114

    wat0114 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2012
    Posts:
    3,320
    Location:
    Canada
    After some research on it, It looks like it's become a LOLBin :) I don't run the service/daemon so I guess that's why I haven't noticed it.
     
  7. Minimalist

    Minimalist Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2014
    Posts:
    14,415
    Location:
    Slovenia
    OS: Windows 10 20H2 x64

    Backup: Macrium Reflect Home
    Updates: SUMo
    Antimalware: Kaspersky Internet Security
    Content blocker: uBlock Origin in Firefox
    DNS providers: Quad9 and Cloudfrale
    Passwords: KeePass
     
  8. Rasheed187

    Rasheed187 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Posts:
    14,629
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    I assume you had to add rules for exploit protection? I didn't really like the interface in Win 10, so I'm thinking about giving HitmanPro.Alert another try just for fun. I'm not really that worried about exploits anymore.

    https://www.ghacks.net/2017/10/25/configure-windows-defender-exploit-guard-in-windows-10/

    Yes exactly, less user interaction has become more important to me in the last years, I was getting fed up with all of the alerts. I'm still running 5 real-time security tools which seems like overkill, but they don't actually overlap and hardly use any system resources, plus I have configured them to be as silent as possible.
     
  9. wat0114

    wat0114 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2012
    Posts:
    3,320
    Location:
    Canada
    yes, I've added several rules under that option. I think OSArmour should cover pretty much everything else, as I've also added to the defaults.

    Edit

    Forgot to mention I've utilized ConfigureDefender just today to configure rules for Windows Defender.
     
    Last edited: Jan 17, 2021
  10. ProTruckDriver

    ProTruckDriver Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2008
    Posts:
    1,317
    Location:
    USN Retired 1969 ~ 1992
    I found an old keycode I didn't activate. I installed Norton on my HP Desktop last night. I want to see if I get the pop ups! :argh: :argh:
    I got one this morning about activating Password Manager. :eek:
    I'll test it out for a few weeks to see what I get.

    On the Mac still going strong with Malwarebytes Premium for Mac. Malwarebytes Browser Guard / AdGuard on Firefox and Chrome. :thumb:
     
  11. Krusty

    Krusty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Posts:
    9,034
    Location:
    Among the gum trees
    Oh, I'm sure you won't be disappointed. :D

    Here's another couple after I tried Norton again. Once again Norton has been banished from my machines.
     

    Attached Files:

  12. plat1098

    plat1098 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2018
    Posts:
    1,155
    Location:
    Brooklyn, NY
    Krusty? Is that you?

    Never thought I'd see the day when you would say that. Won't ask why because that would be nosy. But it must have been a humdinger of an experience. :cautious:

    Not even NPE?
     
  13. Krusty

    Krusty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Posts:
    9,034
    Location:
    Among the gum trees
    Well after receiving all of these annoying pop ups, this one and the ones above, I just couldn't take it any more. Their marketing department is destroying their brand and my loyalty I'm afraid.

    NPE? Well I may run it once it a blue moon but it has been known to remove critical Windows files resulting in a machine that will no longer boot. I would never allow it to remove anything on my machines and I would triple check any detections from it.
     
  14. plat1098

    plat1098 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2018
    Posts:
    1,155
    Location:
    Brooklyn, NY
    Good gravy, that's obnoxious, Krusty. I tried out CCleaner for approx. 30 sec and couldn't get it off of here fast enough after even one toaster popup (for "Smart Clean monitoring", get out of here)

    Totally understandable, then.
     
  15. imdb

    imdb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2011
    Posts:
    3,160
    hey, plat. you should give r-wipe a try.
    https://www.wilderssecurity.com/threads/r-wipe-clean-20-0.435746
     
  16. plat1098

    plat1098 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2018
    Posts:
    1,155
    Location:
    Brooklyn, NY
    You know what? I actually did. This program is pretty impressive, it puts a few free cleaners I've used instantly to shame. That's the thing though--it ain't free, just a 30 day trial. :'( It's on sale for today's holiday, 20% off.
     
  17. Floyd 57

    Floyd 57 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2017
    Posts:
    1,197
    Location:
    Europe
    Google R wipe trial reset ez clap
     
  18. Antarctica

    Antarctica Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2003
    Posts:
    1,980
    Location:
    Canada
    I wonder if it is it legal to reset a free trial date software?:cautious:
     
  19. Infected

    Infected Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2015
    Posts:
    1,057
  20. imdb

    imdb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2011
    Posts:
    3,160
    actually when the trial period is over, it turns into a "limited" free version but it's pretty sufficient for a "regular user".
    see this post and this post for more details.
     
  21. imdb

    imdb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2011
    Posts:
    3,160
    it's quite different than wdc. rwc is much more elaborate as @plat1098 noted. see this thread for more details and screenshots.
     
  22. plat1098

    plat1098 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2018
    Posts:
    1,155
    Location:
    Brooklyn, NY
    Ah, well that's different, and actually good to know. I would only want to use a free software if it's sanctioned by the vendor. Or better yet, take advantage of a really good sale thru the vendor. I would definitely not do anything else to cadge free use off a software but it's always a personal decision and opinion. :doubt:
     
  23. Floyd 57

    Floyd 57 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2017
    Posts:
    1,197
    Location:
    Europe
    whos gonna catch u
     
  24. stapp

    stapp Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2006
    Posts:
    17,492
    Location:
    UK
    Talking about circumventing legal software terms and conditions can get you banned on some forums.
     
  25. Floyd 57

    Floyd 57 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2017
    Posts:
    1,197
    Location:
    Europe
    Oh ***** thats not good I am sorry stapp senpai pls spare me
     
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.