What is your security setup these days?

Discussion in 'other anti-malware software' started by dja2k, Dec 15, 2005.

  1. Tinstaafl

    Tinstaafl Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2015
    Posts:
    886
    Location:
    USA
    I hear ya! I still keep a copy of Win XP SP3 running as a guest VM in VirtualBox, for running my old apps that don't like the new Windows. I have VBox shared folders setup on a data drive that I can access from both the host and guest.

    I don't go out on the net with it much, and back it up weekly. I have Avast, MBAE, and MBAM installed. I have verified all executables with VirusTotal. I wish VoodooShield would run on XP, but it's probably not that important, as I rarely install new executables on this machine.

    The browser support seems to be the next thing to drop off for XP. No more Chrome. Using Firefox as the main browser with uMatrix and uBlock, but Mozilla is going to stop issuing updates this year. Installed Opera, but that seems to be an old version based on Chromium. Also trying Avast Secure Zone browser, not sure what to make of that one yet. Also appears Chromium based.
     
    Last edited: Aug 7, 2017
  2. stapp

    stapp Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2006
    Posts:
    17,722
    Location:
    UK
    Tinstaafl I keep an old XP machine running which uses SeaMonkey 2.46 (the latest). The browser runs well.
     
  3. Tinstaafl

    Tinstaafl Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2015
    Posts:
    886
    Location:
    USA
    I have heard of SeaMonkey, but have never tried it. When I went to check it out, I was greeted by this disclaimer on the 2.46 page:

    "Warning! The SeaMonkey version available for download from this page is outdated and may suffer from known security vulnerabilities. This page is only available for historic reference.
    We strongly advise you to download the current release instead."

    That's just what I am hoping to avoid by using a SUPPORTED browser in XP.
     
  4. stapp

    stapp Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2006
    Posts:
    17,722
    Location:
    UK
    @Tinstaafl
    Sorry slip of the keyboard.. I meant 2.48 (the latest) working well on my XP machine.
     
  5. justenough

    justenough Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2010
    Posts:
    1,549
    Sandboxie and AppGuard.
     
  6. Tinstaafl

    Tinstaafl Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2015
    Posts:
    886
    Location:
    USA
    Ahh, OK, no problem! Good tip anyway! I have found the new version 2.48 and it works fine on XP here. The layout reminds me of the old Netscape Navigator, but with Firefox under the hood. :)

    It's lacking a few Firefox extensions, but at least uMatrix and uBlock Origin work. And MBAE automatically picked it up and started protecting it. :thumb:
     
  7. Trooper

    Trooper Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2005
    Posts:
    4,933
    Of late.

    EIS
    Appguard
    Adguard
    Macrium Reflect Free to images.

    Plus some other tweaks that I have done to the OS itself. Which for me is, Win 10 x64 Ent
     
  8. simmersK00L

    simmersK00L Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2013
    Posts:
    323
    Location:
    USA
    I just uninstalled KIS_2018
    added comodo firewall 10 @ cruelsister settings aka cruelcomodo
    added emsisoft antimalware now with forensics log
    ++ AppGuard & Voodooshield

    Still feeling out this combo. no complaints here with KIS, fast and light, but I like cf10@cs containment aka sandbox.
     
  9. luciddream

    luciddream Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2007
    Posts:
    2,545
    Won't affect me. I haven't updated Firefox since v27.0.1 Well, I did, but when I saw the nightmare called Australis that ensued and also that it removed many of the entries in the about:config which limited my ability to tweak & harden the browser I changed back quickly. It's the last good version IMO. Ever since it's become a Chrome clone that becomes less & less customizable.

    I have my useragent string tweaked to appear as if it's Win7x86 with a current Firefox version so it allows me to update my addons.
     
  10. luciddream

    luciddream Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2007
    Posts:
    2,545
    I do feel though that 64-bit has finally been ironed out sufficiently, and that there's enough support for it to go ahead and start using it. Mainly because my favorite Bitcoin wallets require it. I have an offline machine with Win7 Pro x64 on it just to store my BTC securely with a Trezor. And I'm thinking about reformatting my Precision M6800 and putting the same OS on it.
     
  11. trjam

    trjam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2006
    Posts:
    9,102
    Location:
    North Carolina USA
    Windows Defender and Heimdal Secuirty
     
  12. Solarlynx

    Solarlynx Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2011
    Posts:
    2,015
    Standard User Account
    User Account Control at max, with password

    Comodo FW:
    - FW on Custom
    - Auto-Containment enabled
    - HIPS on Safe
    - Cloud Lookup On

    Malwarebytes Antiexploit with additional shields for routine apps.

    Kaspersky Free with KSN on

    The setup seems lite. As usually Comodo is never bug free. I enabled browsers autosandboxing but after a while they stopped being autosandboxing. Can't figure out what's wrong.
     
  13. Tinstaafl

    Tinstaafl Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2015
    Posts:
    886
    Location:
    USA
    I run one physical machine with Win7 Pro x64 and it is solid.

    Use it for a homegrown light gaming PC, plus HDTV off-the-air DVR, as well as KODI appliance.

    For security I have Bitdefender Free with real-time disabled, VoodooShield on autopilot, and MBAE beta for browser protection, along with uMatrix and uBlock. No performance hits whatsoever with that setup. :thumb:
     
  14. n8chavez

    n8chavez Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2003
    Posts:
    2,986
    Location:
    Location Unknown
    I need some advice. Do you think that Comodo Firewall, with HIPS in safe mode and auto-containment enabled, along with Sandboxie, would be better paired with an on-demand scanner like HitmanPro or an resident scanner like BitDefender free? Would using BitDefender free be overkill?
     
  15. Minimalist

    Minimalist Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2014
    Posts:
    14,446
    Location:
    Slovenia
    IMO on-demand scanner only should be enough. Update OS and apps and backup your data and you should be fine.
     
  16. Libraman

    Libraman Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2016
    Posts:
    110
    Hi.

    • Kaspersky IS 17.0.0.611 ( f ) Paranoic and personal configuration
    • HitmanPro.Alert 3.6.7 ( 611 )
    • Malwarebytes Antimalware Premium 2.2.1.1043 (No resident)
     
  17. Krusty

    Krusty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Posts:
    9,286
    Location:
    Among the gum trees
    On this machine:

    • Windows Firewall Control
    • Windows Defender
    • HitmanPro.Alert
    • VoodooShield
    • + some on-demand scanning tools
    = More than enough for me.
     
  18. ArchiveX

    ArchiveX Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2014
    Posts:
    1,464
    Location:
    Land of the Light
    What a combination!:thumb:
    This offers solid protection. ;)
     
  19. dja2k

    dja2k Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2005
    Posts:
    2,113
    Location:
    South Texas, USA
    Aug. 14, 2017 - Updated, Added, Removed

    Network
    • Two Netgear Nighthawk R7000-100PAS Routers (Stock Firmware)
    • Four Netgear PowerLine AV 500 Adapters
    • Wired Cat5e Connection between both Routers
    • WPA2-PSK AES Encryption
    • SPI & NAT Firewalls Enabled
    • OpenDNS Configuration
    Computers
    • Desktop (Custom Built) - Windows 10 Pro x64 Ver. 1703 Built 15063
    • Tablet (Surface Pro 4) - Windows 10 Pro x64 Ver. 1703 Built 15063
    Built-In Security
    • USER ACCOUNT CONTROL: HIGHEST SETTING
    • WINDOWS SMART SCREEN: ENABLED
    • WINDOWS DEFENDER: DISABLED
    • WINDOWS FIREWALL: DISABLED
    Resident
    • Emsisoft Internet Security 2017.7.0.7838 (Paid)
    • Sandboxie 5.21.2 Beta (Paid) - Sandboxie Container Folder on RAMDisk
    • Adguard Premium 6.2.379.1984 Beta (Paid)
    • KeyScrambler 3.11.0.3
    • Simple DnsCrypt 0.4.2 - Enabled
    On-Demand
    • PeerBlock 1.2 (P2P Blocking List)
    • Macrium Reflect Home Edition 7.0.2199* (Paid)
    • VMWare Workstation 12.5.7 build-5813279** (Paid)
    Browser, Immunization, Tweaks
    • Chrome 60.0.3112.90 x64 (HTTPS-Everywhere, Gmelius Premium, Lastpass Premium) - Chrome Profile Folder on RAMDisk and Sandboxed
    • Homepage and Search Providers set to Startpage (Chrome)
    • Cleaner Professional Edition 5.32.6129 (Paid)
    • Spyware Blaster 5.5 (All Protection Enabled + Customblocking.txt)
    • CryptoPrevent Premiium Edition 8.0.4.2 - Default (Paid)
    *Macrium Reflect Home Edition installed in both Desktop & Tablet - Backup Template: Grandfather, Father, Son.
    **VMware Workstation only installed on Desktop


    dja2k
     
    Last edited: Aug 18, 2017
  20. gery

    gery Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2008
    Posts:
    2,145
    ZoneAlarm Firewall free Emsisoft Antimalware Zemana pro
     
  21. Solarlynx

    Solarlynx Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2011
    Posts:
    2,015
    Can't figure out if it is hard or soft problem. It periodically freezes. Reverted to 4 years old image with Macrium and removed Eaz-Fix time machine. Symptoms got alleviated but didn't vanish.

    Windows 7 Ultimate

    Standard User Account

    User Account Control at max behind a password

    Comodo AV 6.0 as it cannot update to the latest:
    - Antivirus On
    - Firewall in custom mode
    - Behavior Blocker disabled
    - HIPS in safe
     
  22. Solarlynx

    Solarlynx Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2011
    Posts:
    2,015
    Comodo FW in such settings and BitDefender free (as it has some sort of BB) are rather overkill, but may get along. I would use this combo.
     
  23. imuade

    imuade Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2016
    Posts:
    751
    Location:
    Italy
    I've come back to Comodo Firewall, VoodooShield is very nice, but with too many FPs... even printing a document generated an alert...

    OS: Windows 10 Creators Update
    RT: Comodo Firewall 10 with cruelsister's settings
    OD: Zemana Antimalware free, HitmanPro free and AdwCleaner
    Browser: Chromium with Adaware Ad Block
    DNS: OpenDNS
    MS stuffs: SmartScreen enabled, UAC disabled, Windows Defender disabled
    Misc: Some hardening as explained here http://hardenwindows10forsecurity.com/

    I'm still thinking if it's worth to add MBAE
     
  24. EASTER

    EASTER Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2007
    Posts:
    9,778
    Location:
    U.S.A. (South)
    Her sharing of the best settings in CFW 10 is stupendous. I even went as far as removing all the Trusted Vendors list once except Microsoft and boy did I have a time fine tuning things so that Auto-Containment green box wasn't always triggered first on safe apps and some critical files. That was fun watching the PC after a reboot pop up containment green border for all sorts of usual operations. I won't repeat that again because it took too long to place them where they actually belonged but that Auto-Containment is a sure TRAP for the unusual or unidentified and that makes it IMHO awesome!
     
  25. Tinstaafl

    Tinstaafl Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2015
    Posts:
    886
    Location:
    USA
    I tried very hard to like Comodo Firewall, even used it for a couple of years. But I always ended up disabling everything except the network firewall itself. It always felt like I had poured super glue into my Windows registry...
     
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.