What is your security setup these days?

Discussion in 'other anti-malware software' started by dja2k, Dec 15, 2005.

  1. paulderdash

    paulderdash Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2013
    Posts:
    4,391
    Location:
    Under a bushel ...
    +1 on an old netbook. Together with 360TS, as also suggested by @cruelsister.
     
  2. NSG001

    NSG001 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2006
    Posts:
    682
    Location:
    Wembley, London
    @guest
    Been pretty impressed with current Comodo 10 version to be honest.
    Had lots of hiccups with their versions 6,7 and 8 though.
     
  3. guest

    guest Guest

    My main concern is the "disappearing rules" bug, until they fix it, i won't use it on any machines. what is the point to spend time setting up super-tight rules, if they disappear out-of-the-blue without notice...
     
  4. Minimalist

    Minimalist Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2014
    Posts:
    14,403
    Location:
    Slovenia
    Yes, true, that can be annoying. It reminds me of one OS that has similar bug. After updates or upgrades settings would suddenly change on their own :)
     
  5. guest

    guest Guest

    :argh:

    Yes but the said fancy OS is needed, unlike the fancy HIPS :p
     
  6. ReverseGear

    ReverseGear Guest

    Win 10x64 Enterprise LTSB

    Emsisoft Internet Security
    Voodooshield Premium
    Adguard Premium

    HMP + MBAM + ZAM On demand

    Aomei Backupper Free
     
  7. Sampei Nihira

    Sampei Nihira Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2013
    Posts:
    2,130
    Location:
    Italy
    I have disabled in MBAE Beta installed in W.10 the mitigations under:

    Application Hardening

    - DEP Enforcement
    - BottomUp ASLR Enforcement


    TH WildByDesign :thumb:

    Win10-mitigations.png
     
    Last edited: May 7, 2017
  8. Page42

    Page42 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2007
    Posts:
    6,702
    Location:
    USA
    I put Malwarebytes 3 back on because I want the context menu right click scan capability that I USED TO HAVE with HitmanPro.
    Back on April 4th right click scan got broken on HMP, and the devs have failed to put it back.
    Makes me appreciate MBAM again.
     
  9. The Dragonfly

    The Dragonfly Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2014
    Posts:
    39
    After playing around for while with other programs. Final setup.

    Windows 10 Pro 64
    Non-sense disabled with Blackbird V0.9.98_64 and O&O Shutup 10

    Comodo Firewall
    Set to proactive security
    Firewall alert frequency level is medium with custom ruleset.
    Filter IPv6 Traffic enabled
    Filter loop back traffic enabled
    Do protocol analysis enabled
    HIPS set to paranoid mode (Major pain in the ass to set it up correctly)
    HIPS adaptive mode and enhanced protection mode enable
    Containment/Sandbox enabled
    Everything else is default

    Avast Anti-Virus
    Reputation services enabled
    CyberCapture set to allow me to decide
    Hardened mode set to aggressive
    PUP enabled
    File shield with PUP enabled and heuristics normal
    Web shield with PUP enabled and heuristics normal
    Mail shield with PUP enabled and heuristics high
    Behavior shield is set to always ask

    SecureAPlus
    Mostly default
    App white listing set to Name & Thumbprint in Trusted Certificate List.

    HitmanPro.Alert

    Set to maximum.

    On demand scanners
    Hitman Pro
    Zemana
    Malwarebytes

    Firefox 64 Bit and add-ons
    NoScript, uBlock Origin, RefControl LastPass, HTTPS Everywhere,
    Canvas Defender, Calomel SSL Validation, Cookie Monster,
    Self_Destructing Cookies, Ghostery, BetterPrivacy






     
  10. EASTER

    EASTER Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2007
    Posts:
    9,707
    Location:
    U.S.A. (South)
    The Dragonfly-Feel your pain. It's chalked full of settings galore and takes quite an effort to work your way through trial and error to get them as you expect.

    How do you feel about it now it's up and in service for you?

    I only recently began taking a hard look at how best to make the most use of those CFW10 modules that fit the schema best for usability and solid protection which is the Firewall and IMO excellent Auto-Containment / File List side of things for my system.
     
  11. The Dragonfly

    The Dragonfly Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2014
    Posts:
    39
    Comodo has quite down after to two days of training. The most annoying thing about paranoid mode is getting Windows to sign on and shut down without locking up. Lucky the View Logs feature helped out setting that up.
     
  12. EASTER

    EASTER Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2007
    Posts:
    9,707
    Location:
    U.S.A. (South)
    It might serve better with less aggravations to step back from the HIPS and also concentrate on fine tuning the Auto-Containment elements a bit more too.

    In fact per cruelsister's outstanding settings it is proven for me to be super tight and extremely formidable and that's with the HIPS Disabled!
     
  13. guest

    guest Guest

    The HIPS set as Paranoid will make CIS almost bulletproof but to use it with convenience and without much hassle, lot of preliminary tweaks & settings have to be made.
    I managed to get that but the time invested to achieve peace of mind while being on Paranoid was big.
     
  14. blacknight

    blacknight Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2007
    Posts:
    3,087
    Location:
    Europe, UE citizen
    @The Dragonfly: in the past there was a know conflict issue between Avast av and Comodo firewall: it's now solved ?
     
  15. The Dragonfly

    The Dragonfly Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2014
    Posts:
    39
    I don't doubt the containment protection level. I have a few computers in my household running Comodo with Auto-Containment enabled and HIPS disabled. But I've used the HIPS feature for so long, I've grown too accustom to it. I just prefer the proactive approach over automatic.

    Just like trying to tame a wild horse.

    Honestly, I haven't looked into it. I'm going to assume this issue was resolved since everything is running smoothly.
     
    Last edited: May 13, 2017
  16. Trooper

    Trooper Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2005
    Posts:
    4,846
    Where are her settings?
     
  17. Djigi

    Djigi Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2012
    Posts:
    554
    Location:
    Croatia
    Here you go:

    1.png 2.png 3.png 4.png 5.png
     
  18. Trooper

    Trooper Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2005
    Posts:
    4,846
  19. Djigi

    Djigi Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2012
    Posts:
    554
    Location:
    Croatia
    Yes, all strength goes to Sandbox and Firewall
     
  20. Trooper

    Trooper Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2005
    Posts:
    4,846
    That is cool. I am currently trialing EAM so was looking for this to compliment my setup. Thank you.
     
  21. NSG001

    NSG001 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2006
    Posts:
    682
    Location:
    Wembley, London
    @Djigi
    Beat me to it ;)
    Don't forget the lady's very fine YouTube channel.
     
  22. JRC

    JRC Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2013
    Posts:
    9
    Why do you use Keepass and Lastpass together?
     
  23. Arcanez

    Arcanez Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2011
    Posts:
    404
    Location:
    Event Horizon
    still using the usual suspects...

    Faronics AE
    Faronics DF
    Terabyte IFW
    Pi-Hole
    OpenDns
     
  24. ExtremeGamerBR

    ExtremeGamerBR Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2010
    Posts:
    1,351
    OS: Windows 10 Creators Update Pro x64
    Account Type: Local Account/Admin
    VPN: Private Internet Access
    UAC: Maximum
    SmartScreen: Enabled
    Firewall: Windows Firewall
    Password Manager: Keepass 2.x
    AV: Windows Defender
    Browser: Chromium x64 Portable (uBlock Origin + uBlock Origin Extra)
    On Demand: Emsisoft Emergency Kit
    Virtualization: VMware Player

    All partitions (data and system) encrypted with Veracrypt.
    Weekly backup with Macrium Reflect WinPE Recue Disk and SyncBack
    All data uploaded to cloud encrypted with Viivo.
     
  25. plat1098

    plat1098 Guest

    This machine has categorically rejected every single third party security suite since....I don't know.

    Creators Build/Windows 10 with local Admin acct. SmartScreen--yes
    Windows Defender with PUA enabled/firewall
    HitmanPro Alert
    VoodooShield in SMART mode :)
    Internet Explorer with AdBlock Plus and all the lists I can get
    Manual backups via external storage device.
    On demand: HitmanPro and rarely, RogueKiller

    A hassle-free, low maintenance setup, because I want peace and tranquility on here at all times.:-*
     
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.