What is your security setup these days?

Discussion in 'other anti-malware software' started by dja2k, Dec 15, 2005.

  1. Minimalist

    Minimalist Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2014
    Posts:
    14,411
    Location:
    Slovenia
    Replaced Eset Nod32 AV with Emsisoft AM.

    New setup:
    - Windows 7, SUA, UAC on max, FW
    - Macrium Reflect
    - Sandboxie
    - Emsisoft AM
    - Freedome VPN
     
  2. ExtremeGamerBR

    ExtremeGamerBR Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2010
    Posts:
    1,351
    OS: Windows 10 Pro x64
    Tweaks: O&O ShutUp10 / MBRFilter
    VPN: Private Internet Access (via OpenVPN)
    UAC: Allow signed/Block unsigned
    SmartScreen: Enabled
    SRP: Enabled (via SSRP)
    Firewall: Windows Firewall
    Password Manager: Keepass 2.x

    RT:

    • Sandboxie 5.17.2 Beta (Ungoogled Chromium and IE)
    • VoodooShield Pro 3.52 Beta (Smart Mode)
    • Windows Defender

    Browser:

    • Ungoogled Chromium 55.0.2883.87 (64-bit):
      • uBlock Origin (Default + Disconnect lists)
      • uBlock Extra
      • Canvas and Referer disabled
    OD:
    • Process Explorer
    • Privazer (Donors)
    • Emsisoft Emergency Kit
    All partitions (data and system) encrypted with Veracrypt.
    Weekly backup with Macrium Reflect WinPE Recue Disk and SyncBack
    All data uploaded to cloud encrypted with Viivo.
     
  3. Page42

    Page42 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2007
    Posts:
    6,705
    Location:
    USA
    Can you share details as to why and how you like the change so far? TY.
     
  4. Minimalist

    Minimalist Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2014
    Posts:
    14,411
    Location:
    Slovenia
    Mainly to test it and to see how it performs. I can also get lower prices for EAM than Eset licence, so I might switch.
    So far I like EAM. System starts up and shuts down a little slower than with Eset but otherwise they both have almost no impact on system performance. I also like how I can switch file guard to on-execute only (similar as Eset).
    If I do't encounter any problems (like user profile corruption) I will probably stay with it.
     
  5. Madhon

    Madhon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2017
    Posts:
    1
    Location:
    UK
    - Windows 10 Pro x64
    - Webroot SecureAnywhere AntiVirus
    - Windows Firewall Control
    - Voodoshield Free

    Should i be looking at more ideas ?
     
  6. Pete8

    Pete8 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2017
    Posts:
    10
    Location:
    France
    Hello, i'm new here.

    Here's my config :

    OS: Windows 10 Pro x64 (up-to-date)
    Firewall: Windows Firewall
    UAC : settings max
    VPN : Torguard

    RT:
    Eset Nod32 9.0.408
    MalwareBytes AntiMalware v3.06 Premium
    VoodooShield Pro 3.51 (Autopilot)
    Windows Firewall Control 4.9.4.0
    Keyscrambler 3.10.0.0

    Browser:
    Chrome v56.0.2924.87
    HTTPS Everywhere
    WebRTC Network Limiter
    Scriptsafe (on demand)
    Disconnect
    Adblock Plus

    OD:
    Autoruns
    Process Explorer
    Privazer
    AdwCleaner
    ZHPCleaner
    Junkware Removal Tool
    Rkill

    Working fine on my PC, but i'm wondering whether it is not overkill, especially for the RT part.
    I read a lot of bad things about MBAM v3.0, but for me seems to work fine now after some disturbing disagreements (Web protection couldn't start and was set to Deactivated !).
    I'm wondering what could eventually replace MBAM v3.0 : Zemana Antimalware, Hitman Pro Alert, ... ??
    Also, what is the best setting for VoodooShield : Smart Mode, Always On, or Autopilot ? (currently in Autopilot but willing to switch to Smart or Always On)
     
  7. tonino

    tonino Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2017
    Posts:
    62
    Location:
    somewhere
    strong, super effective and very light!:thumb:

    (opting for backup)
     
  8. ExtremeGamerBR

    ExtremeGamerBR Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2010
    Posts:
    1,351
    I would remove MBAM. NOD32 and VoodooShield are a very light and strong combo. You don't need to replace it for anything.

    Smart Mode should be OK. If you don't like prompts/balloons, use Autopilot.

    Change AdBlock Plus to uBlock Origin. Select Disconnect lists and remove Disconnect. With uBlock you can block WebRTC, so WebRTC Network Limiter is unneeded.

    Only HitmanPro and MBAM on demand should be OK.
     
  9. Minimalist

    Minimalist Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2014
    Posts:
    14,411
    Location:
    Slovenia
    Hello @Pete8 and welcome to the forums.

    I agree with @ExtremeGamerBR - I would remove MBAM and replace WebRTC Network Limiter, Disconnect, Adblock Plus and even Scriptsafe with uBlock Origin.
    I would also add software to backup whole system and personal data.
     
  10. Pete8

    Pete8 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2017
    Posts:
    10
    Location:
    France
    Great experts feedbacks, thanks all !

    I didn't know uBlock Origin and it seems by far much better than Adblock Plus, i will replace asap.

    Regarding MBAM v3.0, i had the feeling it was effective at blocking some nasty url or some nasty ip address, like the one you can find on some streaming sites with lots of junk ads. I had pop-ups saying addresses and url had been blocked, so for me MBAM was doing something. I don't know if Nod32 has the same functionnality. Maybe MBAM is doing nothing in real, maybe it's just fake pop up messages. I also don't spend my time on those crapy sites but sometimes it can happen.

    I will use Macrium Reflect, in fact i've got it but don't use it regularly.

    Smart Mode or Autopilot, ok, works for me. Hitman and MBAM for on demand scanning. I used also Adwcleaner and ZHPCleaner but since I've installed Voodooshield two weeks ago, they don't find any remaining craps (now detection is 0 item, before it was 1 or 2 items from time to time).
     
  11. LoneWolf

    LoneWolf Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2006
    Posts:
    3,685
    Windows 10/64 bit

    Kaspersky Internet Security 17.0.0.611
    AppGuard 5.2.9.1
    AdGuard 6.1.314.1628
    O&O ShutUp10
    Shadow Defender 1.4.0.648
    Raxco Instant Recovery Home 2.2.0 Build 314
     
    Last edited: Feb 22, 2017
  12. EASTER

    EASTER Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2007
    Posts:
    9,722
    Location:
    U.S.A. (South)
    Changed my avatar to reflect the change on a return to a favorite platform, that being 8.1 x64.

    Tried Windows 10 for quite awhile but am not quite as sold on it as much as the familiarity with 8.

    On security end that remains basically in the siggy below and am trying to form an SRP that suits.
     
  13. Solarlynx

    Solarlynx Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2011
    Posts:
    2,015
    My family member PC:
    Core i3, 8GB RAM, Windows 10 Education
    Windows FW on default (behind router)
    MalwareBytes antimalware resident
    Kaspersky IS

    Macrium Reflect free with boot and usb restore

    Seems lite.
     
  14. Izettso

    Izettso Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Posts:
    55
    Windows 10 x64

    Kaspersky Internet Security
    VoodooShield
    Windows Defender (periodic scanning on)

    Macrium Reflect Home Edition

    Any comments on the above?
     
  15. Minimalist

    Minimalist Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2014
    Posts:
    14,411
    Location:
    Slovenia
    It seems solid to me. If it runs great I wouldn't change anything.
     
  16. Izettso

    Izettso Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Posts:
    55
    Thanks for the comment. Reading other people's postings here, I felt that mine was not too good. However, perhaps, "less is more"!
     
  17. Minimalist

    Minimalist Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2014
    Posts:
    14,411
    Location:
    Slovenia
    Definitely. :thumb:
     
  18. scootnod

    scootnod Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2004
    Posts:
    37
    Location:
    Midwest US
    Think I finally found the setup I like the best.
     
  19. Returned to Next Gen XP (Windows 7) on desktop and laptop because I like F8 to much:

    1. Router (seperate guest network), NAS (nightlyy backups) and offline USB-disk
    2. WFW set two-way with all riskware (remote, shared, legacy, gadgets) disabled
    3. Deny execute in all user folders with ACL (except Temp) and SRP (except Admin)
    4. Kapersky Anti-Ransomware free and UAC blocking unsigned programs to elevate
    5. Sandbox Chromium and Firefox in MemProtect cage using protected processes
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Feb 28, 2017
  20. LoneWolf

    LoneWolf Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2006
    Posts:
    3,685
    Giving this combo a try.

    Windows 10/64 bit

    Windows Firewall Control 4.9.4.0
    AppGuard 5.2.9.1
    Exe Radar Pro 3
    AdGuard 6.1.314.1628
    O&O ShutUp10
    Shadow Defender 1.4.0.648
    Raxco Instant Recovery Home 2.2.0 Build 314
     
    Last edited: Feb 28, 2017
  21. EASTER

    EASTER Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2007
    Posts:
    9,722
    Location:
    U.S.A. (South)
    I envy you, @Peter2150 and anyone else with Windows 7. Seems a lot of love for that system.
     
  22. A neighbour had a problem with Windows 10, looping into auto recovery mode (without option to manually go into advanced options). I could net get F8 working on the desktop (probably because SSD provides to short of a window?). My wife uses Windows7 on work and asked met to return to Windows 7 on her laptop, so I down graded on my Desktop to keep both setups identical.
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Feb 28, 2017
  23. roger_m

    roger_m Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2009
    Posts:
    8,035
    You need to enable Safe Mode in Windows 8.1/10 for the F8 key to work.
    Enable F8 key & Safe Mode in Windows 10/8

    Also, you can enable Last Known Good Configuration too.
    How to restore the Last Known Good Configuration feature in Windows 8.1
     
  24. Thx Roger,

    I had applied those tweaks on my Asus Transformer running Windows 8.1, so I tried them also on my Desktop with windows 10. Since both the Asys transformer and my Desktop have a SSD, I could not believe the cause was the SSD (as some posted on various forums), so I googled and tweaked for two hours, but did not get it to work :( but now I am a :) Next Gen XP user again (Windows 7 ;)).
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Feb 28, 2017
  25. guest

    guest Guest

    Next Gen XP :argh:
     
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.