What is your security setup these days?

Discussion in 'other anti-malware software' started by dja2k, Dec 15, 2005.

  1. G1111

    G1111 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2005
    Posts:
    2,273
    Location:
    USA
    Windows 7 Professional SP1 x64

    Firewall & Anti-Virus:
    Router NAT/SPI (Password Protected)
    Emsisoft Internet Security 11.6.0.6267 (with hpHosts file)

    Blocking/Hardening:
    AppGuard 4.3.14.5
    HitmanPro.Alert 3.1.9 Build 363
    Norton ConnectSafe DNS (Malware, Phishing)
     
  2. martk1972

    martk1972 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2009
    Posts:
    6
    Location:
    Sheffield, UK
    Windows 10 Pro x64

    Comodo Firewall 8.2.0.4978
    Qihoo 360 Total Security Essential
    Zemana AntiMalware Premium (Lifetime Licence)
    Sandboxie 5.11.3 (Lifetime Licence)
    VoodooShield Pro 3.10 Beta
    Malwarebytes Anti-Exploit Premium 1.08.1.1189
    Keyscrambler Premium 3.9.0.3
    AirVPN
     
  3. ExtremeGamerBR

    ExtremeGamerBR Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2010
    Posts:
    1,351
    Man, only one is more than the needed.
     
  4. roger_m

    roger_m Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2009
    Posts:
    8,004
    I've switched antiviruses from IObit Malware Fighter 4, to the new Advanced SystemCare Ultimate 9. Both use Bitdefender's scan engine, but IMF was not detecting some threats that it should of (Bitdefender itself was detecting them). However, I'm not having this issue ASC Ultimate, and it's having no issues detecting threats. Like IMF it is extremely light. But, unlike with IMF the quick scans are very fast. In IMF a quick scan would take well over 15 minutes. With ASC Ultimate, the initial quick scan took around 5 minutes, and subsequant scans are taking under 30 seconds.

    I think it gets updated Bitdefender deifinitions once a day. At the moment, its definitions are about 21 hours older than the current BD ones.
     
  5. digmor crusher

    digmor crusher Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2012
    Posts:
    909
    Location:
    Canada
    Blueridge activated my Appguard license again, so back to running AG, MBAE, MBAM and EAM. I think a combination of these 4 will pretty much be my permanent setup for some time to come.

    My permanent setup a few years ago was Avast , MBAM, Online Armour and Win Patrol.

    And in between I tried about 30+ other programs. In another 300 programs or so I'll be up to Securon's level.:D
     
    Last edited: Apr 8, 2016
  6. Azure Phoenix

    Azure Phoenix Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2014
    Posts:
    1,312
    Windows 10 x64

    Real-time:
    Norton Security (Trial)
    EXE Radar Pro
    HitmanPro.Alert
    Adguard

    On-demand:
    Zemana AntiMalware
    Malwarebytes Anti-Malware
    HitmanPro

    Sandbox:
    Sandboxie

    Built-in:
    UAC (always notify)
    SmartScreen (ON)
     
    Last edited: Apr 7, 2016
  7. guest

    guest Guest

    Alternate security setup (on another RX's snapshot)

    - MBAE instead of HMPA ( HMPA causing compatibility with ReHIPS)
    - ReHIPS instead of NVT ERP
     
  8. Tornado AMR

    Tornado AMR Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2016
    Posts:
    7
    Windows 10 Home
    64-bit

    Norton Security, Zemana AntiMalware, Zemana AntiLogger, Heimdal Pro, Norton ConnectSafe (Secure DNS), SpywareBlaster (Immunization) and CryptoPrevent (Immunization).

    UAC - Always Notify
    Windows SmartScreen - Enabled, Require Administrator Approval

    PIN Enabled
     
  9. boombastik

    boombastik Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2010
    Posts:
    264
    Location:
    Greece
    zemana antimalware +eset + SpywareBlaster
    windows firewall+windows smart screen+Uac at default level

    scanners: malwarebytes antimalware,sas,hitmanpro,spybot(old one)
     
  10. trjam

    trjam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2006
    Posts:
    9,102
    Location:
    North Carolina USA
    still with TrustPort. One fine product
     
  11. Minimalist

    Minimalist Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2014
    Posts:
    14,386
    Location:
    Slovenia
    My setup didn't change in past few months:
    OS: Windows 7 x64
    Backup: Macrium Reflect
    Security: Software Restriction Policies, User Account Control, Windows Firewall
    Privacy: uBlock Origin, Freedome VPN, Sandboxie
    OD Scanners: Emsisoft Emergency Kit, Avira PC Cleaner, Malwarebytes AM, HitmanPro
     
  12. khanyash

    khanyash Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2011
    Posts:
    2,188
    Currently on Win 10 64
    Eset Smart Security
    Zemana AM Portable, Comodo Cleaning Essentials & Process Explorer (On-Demand scanners & tools)
    Adguard Desktop
    Unchecky
    Zenmate VPN Desktop (Occasional use)
    AX64/FB V2
     
  13. Securon

    Securon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    Posts:
    1,960
    Location:
    London On
    Good Evening! Vipre I.S.Pro 2016. Took advantage of two yrs at 50% off Promo. Sincerely...Securon
     
  14. Solarlynx

    Solarlynx Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2011
    Posts:
    2,015
    Many thanks to @blacknight for hint to uninstall Comodo with special tool to fix its problems on my PC.

    Now my setup is:

    Comodo FW
    - FW: Custom ruleset
    - HIPS: Safe Verbose
    - AutoSandbox in default mode (Block Malicious, Virtual Unrecognized)
    - Most time FW and HIPS in "Do NOT show popup alerts, Block Requests", especially when I have to give my PC to other people.

    Malwarebytes Anti-Exploit with additional shield for routine and sensitive apps.

    Zemana Antimalware resident with Pandora on.

    Sandoboxie free for browsers via sandboxied link.
    - Autodelete on
    - Drop rights on

    I would use Comodo AutoSandbox but browsers are slow there.

    The setup feels light on my PC.
     
  15. Infected

    Infected Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2015
    Posts:
    1,043
    Sandboxie for browsers
    WFC Pro for anything malicious that tries to connect outbound while sandboxed
     
  16. Moose World

    Moose World Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2013
    Posts:
    733
    Location:
    U.S. Citizen
    @Solarlynx

    "Many thanks to @blacknight for hint to uninstall Comodo with special tool to fix its problems on my PC."

    Many individuals have a real problem trying to uninstall Comodo completely.

    What is the special tool to uninstall and can you share? Provide a link?

    Kind regards,
     
  17. Solarlynx

    Solarlynx Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2011
    Posts:
    2,015
    I was lucky to encounter to the following thread at Comodo forums: Most Effective Way to Reinstall/Update CIS to Avoid/Fix Problems. (I linked it). The first huge post is a breathtaking instruction how to really remove Comodo and all tools are given there. I was a bit lazy to go through this long and boring journey. So I just donwloaded the tool "COMODO Removal Tool 2014 - Mods version.zip" which is attached at the end of the first post of that miraculous thread. I used that tool in Safe mode of my Windows 7 and voila.

    I hope this will help.
     
  18. Moose World

    Moose World Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2013
    Posts:
    733
    Location:
    U.S. Citizen
    @Solarlynx

    Thank you for sharing! Always looking for removal tools to make life easier.

    Appreciate!
     
  19. Solarlynx

    Solarlynx Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2011
    Posts:
    2,015
    Glad to help. You are most welcome!

    :)
     
  20. Cyrano2

    Cyrano2 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2010
    Posts:
    131
    Location:
    Spain
    Try using their Chromodo browser, inside the sandbox is as fast as it can be (at least on my rig).
     
  21. Djigi

    Djigi Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2012
    Posts:
    554
    Location:
    Croatia
    Running browser in Comodo AutoSandbox and Malwarebytes Anti-Exploit have some issue working together.
     
  22. guest

    guest Guest

    removed NVT ERP and replaced it by ReHIPS.
     
  23. Solarlynx

    Solarlynx Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2011
    Posts:
    2,015
    Is ReHIPS as convenient as NVT ERP?
     
  24. Solarlynx

    Solarlynx Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2011
    Posts:
    2,015
    Thanks for hint. Same slow. :(

    Even if this is the case I don't want to refuse from MBAE.
     
  25. guest

    guest Guest

    new version is still in "RC" test stage, need some usability improvements but we (closed beta-testers) pinpointed most of them (will be surely corrected for the stable release).
    Overall usability is convenient enough, pop-ups display enough detailed infos and the color schemes are easy to figures.

    Compared to NVT it is slightly less convenient, but it can be handled easily in short time of use.
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Apr 14, 2016
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.