What is your security setup these days?

Discussion in 'other anti-malware software' started by dja2k, Dec 15, 2005.

  1. ropchain

    ropchain Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2015
    Posts:
    335
    A typewriter, as complete safety is impossible.

    You could also add exploit mitigation software like EMET.
     
  2. Surreal90

    Surreal90 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2016
    Posts:
    19
    True that mate, True that, Internet is not a safe place, It's full of cat.gifs and people that are writing malwares in dark rooms :p. Back to the real talk, I was thinking about adding EMET, But it makes some apps act weird though (I guess i read that in their support forum).
     
  3. Blomberg1985

    Blomberg1985 Guest

    zemana
     
  4. Surreal90

    Surreal90 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2016
    Posts:
    19
    And what about Malwarebytes Anti-Exploit Premium (along with Bitdefender Total Security 2016)?, I read that they didn't go well together in the older/previous version(s).
     
  5. Ripcord

    Ripcord Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2011
    Posts:
    118
    Running G Data Internet Security,Malwarebytes in real time w/ Hitman Pro Alert...All running very smooth.
     
  6. J_L

    J_L Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Posts:
    8,738
    Made some changes here and there, see my sig as always.
     
  7. The Seeker

    The Seeker Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2005
    Posts:
    1,324
    Location:
    Adelaide
    Run the occasional scan with Malwarebytes Anti-Malware Free and you'll be fine, I suspect.
     
  8. Securon

    Securon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    Posts:
    1,960
    Location:
    London On
    Good Evening! Just installed Bitdefender A/V 2016...MBAM Premium...Heimdal Pro...Zap...Zap...Zap! Lol! Sincerely...Securon
     
  9. Surreal90

    Surreal90 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2016
    Posts:
    19
  10. Rompin Raider

    Rompin Raider Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2010
    Posts:
    1,253
    Location:
    North Texas
    Family:
    ESET SS - 1
    Norton Security - 2
    Webroot Security - 2
    Kaspersky IS -1

    No problems at all...I would recommend any of these! (all purchased on black Friday...real cheap! LOL).
     
  11. The Dragonfly

    The Dragonfly Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2014
    Posts:
    39
    If you're not comfortable with EMET or Malwarebytes Anti-Exploit. The only one left is HitmanPro.Alert 3. I currently have HitmanPro.Alert 3 running along side Comodo Firewall, G Data Anti-Virus and SecureAPlus without any problems.
     
  12. The Dragonfly

    The Dragonfly Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2014
    Posts:
    39
    Nice thing about Webroot Security. It run along side another Anti-Virus or Security Suite.
     
  13. The Seeker

    The Seeker Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2005
    Posts:
    1,324
    Location:
    Adelaide
    Added Malwarebytes Anti-Exploit Free, because why the hell not?
     
  14. scorpionv

    scorpionv Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2016
    Posts:
    33
    Avira Antivirus Pro (Antivirus)
    MBAM Premium (Anti-Malware)
    MBAE Free (Anti-Exploit)
    CryptoPrevent Premium (Anti-Crypto Hardening)
    Sandboxie (Sandbox for all incoming files)
    SpywareBlaster Free (Generic System Hardening)
    SpywareShelter Free (Anti-Logger)

    Chrome with HTTPS Everywhere, uBlock Origin, Disconnect.

    Everything works fine together, only uBlock Origin and Disconnect do block the same things sometimes, which causes an extension warning.
     
  15. paulderdash

    paulderdash Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2013
    Posts:
    4,462
    Location:
    Under a bushel ...
    You could try adding these Disconnect lists to uBlock Origin Custom filters and disable Disconnect?

    https://s3.amazonaws.com/lists.disconnect.me/simple_ad.txt
    https://s3.amazonaws.com/lists.disconnect.me/simple_malware.txt
    https://s3.amazonaws.com/lists.disconnect.me/simple_tracking.txt
    https://s3.amazonaws.com/lists.disconnect.me/simple_malvertising.txt

    Edit: I see the Disconnect basic tracking and malvertising filter lists are already included in uBlock - dunno if these cover all four lists above though, or just the last two.
     
    Last edited: Jan 29, 2016
  16. scorpionv

    scorpionv Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2016
    Posts:
    33
    You mean, uBlock can do everything Disconnect does, as long as it has the Disconnect lists?
     
  17. paulderdash

    paulderdash Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2013
    Posts:
    4,462
    Location:
    Under a bushel ...
    I would imagine yes, but would someone else care to confirm? Else maybe post on uBlock Origin thread.
     
  18. Security Policy for Windows 10 Pro (and Home) 32 bits
    1. Disabled command, scripting engines, risk-ware services and legacy applications
    2. UAC deny elevation of unsigned software, SRP (PGS) deny execute in user folders
    3. Secure Folders read only data partitions, run Microsoft Office Apps as Limited User
    4. Chrome with build-in sandbox, allow javascript/plug-ins on a few high level domains
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Jan 31, 2016
  19. daman1

    daman1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2009
    Posts:
    1,292
    Location:
    USA, MICHIGAN
    Added ZALF and MBARW
     
  20. KaptainBug

    KaptainBug Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2013
    Posts:
    484
    why do u need MBAM and ZAM both in realtime ?
     
  21. Minimalist

    Minimalist Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2014
    Posts:
    14,645
    Location:
    Slovenia, EU
    On my Windows 7 x64 I use

    Software Restriction Policies and Macrium Reflect to improve security and

    Freedome VPN and uBlock Origin to improve privacy.
     
    Last edited: Jan 31, 2016
  22. roger_m

    roger_m Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2009
    Posts:
    8,192
    I've just started using Process Explorer for occasional checks, since it can scan all running processes at VirusTotal. I had no idea it could do this until I saw the following article at InfoWorld (I had not used Process Explorer for many years).
    A free, almost foolproof way to check for malware
     
    Last edited: Jan 30, 2016
  23. paulderdash

    paulderdash Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2013
    Posts:
    4,462
    Location:
    Under a bushel ...
    Thanks for posting Roger. I was aware of that capability but had not tried it.
     
  24. RNG_Throw

    RNG_Throw Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2016
    Posts:
    6

    To each their own :) An obscure OS could also be backdoored in a way that could circumvent an AirGap whereas Qubes has many eyes on it and they are trying to get reproducible builds (and move to a Debian base I believe). This could be argued in circles though.

    I do like your idea of using a machine that is slow though. A machine with no networking a very little storage or Ram would make it hard to infect with a sophisticate piece of malware. Maybe something with 256MB of ram running BSD and no networking would be ideal. Not much wiggle room especially to break an airgrap. Plus older hardware is probably less likely to have a hardware backdoor or anything like that.

    I mainly picked something I was familiar with that did what I wanted. I also have to handle documents such as PDF's so disposable VMs are a must. You are right that most people here aren't dealing with state or corporate secrets. I am though (Corporate) so I have to be careful. I also have a lot of funding I can throw at this stuff.
     
  25. MisterB

    MisterB Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2013
    Posts:
    1,262
    Location:
    Southern Rocky Mountains USA
    I was thinking of older machines that use non intel processors and other obscure hardware that would involve a lot of hours of homework for anyone trying to code for them plus tracking down obscure development tools that are long out of production. Any infection would involve some very good social engineering or out and out burglary.

    Qubes is interesting to me for networked use due to the way it sets up firewalling and virtualization. Air gapped, I would find it pretty dull to work with.
     
    Last edited: Jan 30, 2016
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.