What is your security setup these days?

Discussion in 'other anti-malware software' started by dja2k, Dec 15, 2005.

  1. Grumlo

    Grumlo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2015
    Posts:
    176
    I have question is sens use on windows 10 pro togheter Appguard and Spyshelter firewall ?
     
  2. ichito

    ichito Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2011
    Posts:
    1,973
    Location:
    Poland - Cracow
    No on Vista (where was Firewall)...as Premium it still works on XP in combo with Kerio, ERP, WTF :)
    I decided to change my setup becuase it was a bit boring...I don't want to fall in rutine :)
     
  3. Securon

    Securon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    Posts:
    1,960
    Location:
    London On
    Good Evening! Avira A/V Pro...ZAM...Heimdal Pro...Wham...Bam...Shazam...Lol! Sincerely...Securon
     
  4. guest

    guest Guest

    hello,

    Symantec EP took over the system and kicked ZAM premium (RT), Binisoft WFC, and NVT ERP :p
     
  5. RNG_Throw

    RNG_Throw Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2016
    Posts:
    6
    Currently I am rocking:
    Windows:
    • ESET Advanced Security - Highest settings on everything but the HIPS
    • Anti-Executable - Deny DLL's and Jar files
    • EMET
    • Sandboxie for untrusted folders and chrome
    • VeraCrypt Full Disk
    Linux:
    • Debian w/ GrSecurity & PaX
    • FireJail for chromium
    • Qubes OS for AirGaped machine
    • Full DIsk encryption
     
  6. yigido

    yigido Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2016
    Posts:
    6
    Operating System: Windows 10 Home 64bit
    Realtime Protection: COMODO Internet Security (loyal user)
    On-demand scanner: Zemana AntiMalware Free
    Browser: Firefox 64bit - Opera
    Add-ons: uBlock Origin - HTTPS Everywhere - Canvas Blocker
     
  7. Ro4dRuNn3r

    Ro4dRuNn3r Guest

    Switched back to Kaspersky....... :rolleyes::eek::D
     
  8. Blomberg1985

    Blomberg1985 Guest

    theres a free Zemana AntiMalware ?
     
  9. roger_m

    roger_m Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2009
    Posts:
    8,072
  10. kerykeion

    kerykeion Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2010
    Posts:
    281
    Location:
    Philippines
    Welcome to Wilders @RNG_Throw, what anti-executable are you using?
     
  11. ReverseGear

    ReverseGear Guest

    Added ZAM premium

    After adding ZAM , EAM's ram usage has suddenly dropped . There used to be a process that used somewhere aound 50-60 MB and now that is taking only around 5 MB
     
  12. Why Qubes OS on an AirGapped machine? I have an old Atari laying around in the basement (which is in bad condition and airgaped)
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Jan 20, 2016
  13. Surreal90

    Surreal90 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2016
    Posts:
    19
    My Avira Antivirus Pro license is ending soon, Any other "Good" or better suggestion? or shall i renew :)?
     
  14. Rasheed187

    Rasheed187 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Posts:
    14,789
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Well, luckily I don't have this problem, my last setup on Win XP lasted for 8 years, before I had to switch to Win 8. But yes, sometimes it's exciting to install new apps, the only problem is, there aren't that many good security apps IMO. I was thinking about installing GlassWire, but to be honest, I don't really need it.
     
  15. Minimalist

    Minimalist Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2014
    Posts:
    14,443
    Location:
    Slovenia
    You can try other solutions before renewing and see if you like it better, or if they perform better. I would suggest Eset and Emsisoft.
     
  16. Surreal90

    Surreal90 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2016
    Posts:
    19
    Hi Minimalist, Thank you for your reply, How about Kaspersky Internet Security 2016 (Realtime), Malwarebytes Anti-malware (Realtime), Malwarebytes Anti-Exploit, Would they be compatible or shall i remove/add something else?
     
  17. Buddel

    Buddel Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2015
    Posts:
    1,595
    Hi Surreal90, KIS 2016, MBAM Premium and MBAE seem to be perfectly compatible with one another on my Windows 10 machine (32 bit), no problems at all.
     
  18. trjam

    trjam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2006
    Posts:
    9,102
    Location:
    North Carolina USA
    Norton Security
     
  19. Minimalist

    Minimalist Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2014
    Posts:
    14,443
    Location:
    Slovenia
    I didn't use them so I can't give you advice about using that combination.
     
  20. RNG_Throw

    RNG_Throw Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2016
    Posts:
    6
    Faronics AE. It works very well on windows 10. I also set my downloads folder to low integrity and non-execute (Over skill but hey, my partner seems to have a way with getting malware and now I am the only one that can install anything).

    Because while an Airgap is nice and secure, there have been attacks that leaked information. Sure they are pretty sophisticated attacks and probably would never happen, but why risk it? If I open anything in the Airgap it's opened in the Disposable VM, I reply to emails in a dedicated VM just for that and use a smartcard to store the GPG Key. Once the e-mail is written it's sent to a USB VM where I mount the encrypted USB drive and copy over the files.

    I then take this to my computer, import, and email the response. The flash drive is then wiped.

    I also have a VM for my Cold BitCoin wallet.

    Call me paranoid but isolation keeps everything protected so I may as well do it considering it isn't much more work than a normal airgap.
     
  21. Surreal90

    Surreal90 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2016
    Posts:
    19
    Been using both for a while too, in addition to Avira Antivirus, So was wondering if it they would interfere with Kaspersky Internet security or now, I'm testing it now.
    No worries mate, Thanks.
     
  22. MisterB

    MisterB Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2013
    Posts:
    1,251
    Location:
    Southern Rocky Mountains USA
    I was wondering about that too. I have several airgapped machines but they are like Kees's Atari, museum pieces that are way too slow for the modern internet. There has to be something on an airgapped machine that someone really wants to employ that kind of attack. Most of us are not guarding state or corporate secrets and are just trying to keep out garden variety malware. Qubes without an airgap is enough already. A good part of its appeal is the way it handles networking and I would choose a really obscure OS for an airgapped machine that would add another layer of difficulty for any potential malware. Qubes, for all its strengths, is built on a pretty well known code base.
     
  23. idaho

    idaho Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2011
    Posts:
    32
    Location:
    USA/Europe
    Keeping EMSISOFT Internet Security 11 with ADGUARD Chrome extention. Works just great for me.
     
  24. kerykeion

    kerykeion Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2010
    Posts:
    281
    Location:
    Philippines
    I am currently using Kaspersky AV and MBAE, the combination seems pretty stable on Windows 10, separately I've used both MBAM in real-time, MBAE with ESET NOD32 on Windows 8.
     
  25. Surreal90

    Surreal90 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2016
    Posts:
    19
    hi everyone, after testing a couple of anti-viruses, I've got myself Bitdefender Total Security 2016 - 1 year license, And gotta say, It's so smooth, I even don't feel like adding anything else to it, But you guys know, No one is safe this days, So what would you recommend adding? (excluding common sense ofc, which is already no# 1).
     
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.