What is your security setup these days?

Discussion in 'other anti-malware software' started by dja2k, Dec 15, 2005.

  1. G1111

    G1111 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2005
    Posts:
    2,273
    Location:
    USA
    Windows 7 Professional SP1 x64

    Firewall & Anti-Virus:
    Router NAT/SPI (Password Protected)
    Emsisoft Internet Security 10.0.0.5735

    Blocking/Hardening:
    AppGuard 4.2.8.1
    Malwarebytes Anti-Exploit Premium 1.08.1.1031 Beta
    Norton ConnectSafe DNS (Malware, Phishing)
     
  2. justenough

    justenough Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2010
    Posts:
    1,549
    Sandboxie and:
    On-demand scanners
    Updated Windows OS and programs
    Browsing safeguards
    System images stored in two places
     
    Last edited: Oct 13, 2015
  3. x ZauX x

    x ZauX x Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2010
    Posts:
    139
    More rules :)
     

    Attached Files:

  4. Daveski17

    Daveski17 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    Posts:
    9,568
    Location:
    Lloegyr
    Win 7x64

    Avast! Free (custom install)
    SUPERAntiSpyware (on demand)
    SpywareBlaster
    Macrium Reflect
    Various Browser Hardening (WOT, uBlock Origin, NoScript)

    Ubuntu 14.04 LTS

    Various Browser Hardening (WOT, uBlock Origin, NoScript)

    Android 5.1.1

    None at present
     
  5. Rasheed187

    Rasheed187 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Posts:
    14,423
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Wow, looks like major overkill to me, it seems to be able to control just about everything. But I guess you can also turn this stuff off. For me there has to be a balance between security and usability, I hate annoying alerts.
     
  6. x ZauX x

    x ZauX x Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2010
    Posts:
    139
    I rarely get any alerts because of the initial whitelist scan, it basically creates a clean state and any changes from there on is monitored.
     
  7. PocketAppZ

    PocketAppZ Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2014
    Posts:
    16
    HostsMan
    PeerBlock
    Sandboxie
    SpywareBlaster
    Custom hosts file
    Browser hardening
    Windows Firewall Control
    Spybot S&D immunization
    Various on-demand scanners
     
  8. BrendanAdams

    BrendanAdams Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2009
    Posts:
    165
    Location:
    France
    Added DnsCrypt to what's in my sig. Everything's working fine so far.
     
  9. test

    test Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2010
    Posts:
    493
    Location:
    italy
    10Pro X64 (UAC Max, LUA)
    HitmanPro.Alert 3
    Macrium reflect free 6
     
  10. The Dragonfly

    The Dragonfly Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2014
    Posts:
    39
    What do the abbreviations stand for? I don't visit the forum often enough.
     
  11. WFW= Windows FireWall
    GPO = Group Policy
    SRP = Software Restriction Policies
    ACL = Access Control List
    WD = Windows Defender
    MBAM = MalwareBytes Anti-Malware

    Stopped playing Smart Object Blocker, good program :thumb:

    Only making minor changes (replaced uBlock Origing with Adguard Adblocker)
     
  12. Windows 10 PRO policy restrictions
    1. Disabled legacy software plus bloat- and risk-ware
    2. Block unsigned executables to boot/install/elevate
    3. Block running (power)scripts and user autostarts
    4. Deny execute outside UAC-folders for Basic User
    5. Also block outbound connections in firewall

    Browser security measures
    1. Use Edge as PDF-reader (no flash/javascript/internet)
    2. Chrome browser with build-in sandbox & Adguard
    3. Malwarebytes Anti-Exploit free (browser & PDF)
    4. Deny execute in drive-by's for Everyone
    5. Safebrowsing and Smartscreen check

    1=reduce attack surface, 2=sandbox untrusted, 3=mitigate exploits, 4=deny execution 5=filter internet
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Oct 19, 2015
  13. Page42

    Page42 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2007
    Posts:
    6,697
    Location:
    USA
    Sandboxie
    HitmanPro Alert
    ESET NOD32
    MBAM Premium
    Comodo FW (sans HIPS and sandbox)
    Macrium Reflect
    KeePass
     
  14. justenough

    justenough Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2010
    Posts:
    1,549
    Using WSA and MBAM protection enabled while Invincea works out the problems between Sandboxie and the latest Windows update.

    edit: v5.05.2 Beta fixed the problem, back to running just Sandboxie.
     
    Last edited: Oct 15, 2015
  15. Crazy Dave

    Crazy Dave Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2015
    Posts:
    5
    Location:
    Nevada, USA
    Hi---
    Windows 10 Pro-
    Windows Defender, MBAE, Malwarebytes Pro-Spyware Blaster
    On demand- SuperAntiSpyware
     
  16. Krusty

    Krusty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Posts:
    8,912
    Location:
    Among the gum trees
    What is that?

    Oh, two programs MBAM Premium + SpywareBlaster.
     
  17. Crazy Dave

    Crazy Dave Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2015
    Posts:
    5
    Location:
    Nevada, USA
    Yes- 2 programs---Sorry about not being clear.
     
  18. Krusty

    Krusty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Posts:
    8,912
    Location:
    Among the gum trees
    It was the hyphen, "-" ,between the two that initially confused me. ;)
     
  19. Tarantula

    Tarantula Guest

    Removed ZA free and back to Private Firewall. ZA just can't remember a specific rule. That's a bit annoying.

    No AV for now. I guess I'll add F-Secure ULAV.
     
  20. Dazzler

    Dazzler Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2015
    Posts:
    14
    Avast free
    Securalive cloud only
    malwarebytes as on demand scanner
     
  21. Securon

    Securon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    Posts:
    1,960
    Location:
    London On
    Good Morning! Outpost 9.2 Security Suite Pro...AppGuard...and SAS Pro. Everything is running Harmoniously! Sincerely...Securon
     
  22. NSG001

    NSG001 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2006
    Posts:
    682
    Location:
    Wembley, London
    So ESET Smart Security 9 lasted what ... 5 days :ouch:
     
  23. siketa

    siketa Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2012
    Posts:
    2,718
    Location:
    Gaia
    SAS Pro? Why do you use it? For cookies cleaning? :)
     
  24. Securon

    Securon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    Posts:
    1,960
    Location:
    London On
    Good Evening! NSG001...Eset Banking and setting up the Protection was a PITA...and seemed to affect performance....I feel that it needs some bugs ironed out...so I'll wait and see if improvements rectify some existing performance issues. Sincerely...Securon
     
  25. ams963

    ams963 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2011
    Posts:
    5,974
    Location:
    Parallel Universe
    My security setup is Webroot SecureAnywhere AV plus the native Windows Firewall. Simple, strong and effective.
     
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.