What is your security setup these days?

Discussion in 'other anti-malware software' started by dja2k, Dec 15, 2005.

  1. ropchain

    ropchain Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2015
    Posts:
    335
    Correct, but there is one catch:
    The default 64-bit IE11 in Win 8 only uses Protected Mode and 32-bit tabs. In 'desktop' IE11 you have to manually enable EPM and 64-bit tabs to make the sandbox effective. I also don't think that many users have enabled the 64-bit EPM themselves...
     
  2. Infected

    Infected Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2015
    Posts:
    1,059
    How do you enable that?
     
  3. boredog

    boredog Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2015
    Posts:
    2,499
    I have :)
     

    Attached Files:

  4. Infected

    Infected Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2015
    Posts:
    1,059
    Thanks for that.
     
  5. boredog

    boredog Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2015
    Posts:
    2,499
    Windows 8.1 64bit
     

    Attached Files:

  6. wshrugged

    wshrugged Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2009
    Posts:
    255
    Internet options >> Advanced >> scroll to Security >> tick box Enable Enhanced Protected Mode >> reboot pc

    Don't know about W8 but on W7 there's a x32IE and a x64IE. Use the x64.
     
  7. Infected

    Infected Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2015
    Posts:
    1,059
    Thanks. I'll do that.
     
  8. Solarlynx

    Solarlynx Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2011
    Posts:
    2,015
    Windows 7 Prof x64
    SUA
    UAC
    - max
    TinyWall in Normal Mode
    Sandboxied browsers
    MBAE with all internet and some daily apps shielded
    NVT ERP beta (i.e. free) in Alert Mode
    Zemana AntiLogger (lic)
    WinPatrol Free
    On-Demand scans with Zemana Antimalware and EEK

    In this AV-free setup I see some overlapping of Zemana AntiLogger and WinPatrol. All the rest seems to be covering different layers.
     
  9. bo elam

    bo elam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010
    Posts:
    5,995
    Location:
    Nicaragua
    Infected, I know you recently adopted Sandboxie full time. So you know and to avoid surprises, be aware, Internet explorers Protected mode gets disabled by Sandboxie (to avoid conflict) automatically when you run it sandboxed. :)

    Bo
     
  10. Infected

    Infected Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2015
    Posts:
    1,059
    Good looking out Bo:thumb:
     
  11. Overkill

    Overkill Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2012
    Posts:
    2,343
    Location:
    USA
    I read where ZAL and SBIE don't work together?
     
  12. Solarlynx

    Solarlynx Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2011
    Posts:
    2,015
    I never read about it. Actually I've never encountered any incompatibility with ZAL.

    Maybe MBAE and SBIE? Then there's a workaround on MBAE site to make them get along.
     
  13. Overkill

    Overkill Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2012
    Posts:
    2,343
    Location:
    USA
    I remember Bo saying something along the lines of "it's one of those programs that shouldn't be ran with sbie" or close. Bo please correct me if I misread it.
     
  14. bo elam

    bo elam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010
    Posts:
    5,995
    Location:
    Nicaragua
    Hi Overkill. That sounds like something I wrote not long ago. But I just checked a few threads that mention ZAL at the SBIE forum from the past two years and seems like compatibility between the two programs has gotten better. So, maybe they can be used together at this time.:)

    Bo
     
  15. rm22

    rm22 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2014
    Posts:
    357
    Location:
    Canada
  16. Overkill

    Overkill Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2012
    Posts:
    2,343
    Location:
    USA
    Thanks guys!
     
  17. ReverseGear

    ReverseGear Guest

    Switched to Tencent pc manager
     
  18. Page42

    Page42 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2007
    Posts:
    6,736
    Location:
    USA
    I finally upgraded Chrome browser to 64-bit. I saved the User Data folder in case there was any problem, but it installed over top without issue. I also double-checked all settings to see if anything changed, and it hadn't, except for a font setting, which was easily switched back.
     
  19. Dragon1952

    Dragon1952 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2012
    Posts:
    2,309
    Location:
    Hollow Earth - Telos
    I thought that chrome 32 had to be uninstalled first before installing chrome 64. I plan on moving to 64 from 32 some day.
     
  20. Page42

    Page42 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2007
    Posts:
    6,736
    Location:
    USA
    Info I read said over the top works fine, however some users reported problems with settings not being carried over, hence the User Data backup. I suppose it's like a lot of upgrades... an uninstall probably works best for purists, while over the top is adequate for a great many. I just had over the top success on two 7x64 machines, fwiw.
     
  21. Dragon1952

    Dragon1952 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2012
    Posts:
    2,309
    Location:
    Hollow Earth - Telos
    I looked at a few utube videos for over the top so i did it. Looks faster and maybe more stable so far. My zoom was set back at the default 100% level but that is all i had to do so far. All my bookmarks and extensions are here and working from chrome 32.
     
  22. Page42

    Page42 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2007
    Posts:
    6,736
    Location:
    USA
    Yes, I said font was changed for me but I should have said page zoom.
     
  23. Dragon1952

    Dragon1952 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2012
    Posts:
    2,309
    Location:
    Hollow Earth - Telos
    I should have made the change from 32 to 64 Chrome last year. It is so much faster and smoother now. With Dataram RAMDisk putting my temp files in memory Chrome 64 is really fast and smooth now.
     
  24. Minimalist

    Minimalist Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2014
    Posts:
    14,445
    Location:
    Slovenia
    Yes, I've had similar experience.
     
  25. Page42

    Page42 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2007
    Posts:
    6,736
    Location:
    USA
    What prompted you to finally make the switch? :cool:
     
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.