What is your security setup these days?

Discussion in 'other anti-malware software' started by dja2k, Dec 15, 2005.

  1. guest

    guest Guest

    The NTFS vaccine? I thought it has passed the beta stage long time ago?

    Anyway, thanks for the input. I did test BD's USB Immunizer and, while looked to be doing its job just fine I found that the ad popup is offensive and totally unnecessary. Also, I did some grave-digging and saw some discussions suggesting that BD's Immunizer is easily bypassable. Considering that I also had some successful experience in the past with Panda's USB Vaccine, I might just go with Panda again.
     
  2. Page42

    Page42 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2007
    Posts:
    6,705
    Location:
    USA
    Removed µBlock. Put ABP back on.
    Gonna install TrueCrypt after I RTFM.
     
  3. ams963

    ams963 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2011
    Posts:
    5,974
    Location:
    Parallel Universe
    I'm using only WSA.:)
     
  4. jmonge

    jmonge Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Posts:
    13,744
    Location:
    Canada
    I am using emsisoft antimalware and webroot antivirus and also hitmanpro and hitmanpro alert
     
  5. wolfrun

    wolfrun Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2009
    Posts:
    686
    Location:
    Canada
    Sandboxie and the rest is in the signature. Giving Comodo firewall a go to see how it behaves with Sandboxie and Palemoon. Still no A\V, only MBAM and Hitman Pro on demand.
     
  6. Page42

    Page42 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2007
    Posts:
    6,705
    Location:
    USA
    Comodo FW has worked fine with SBIE for me for a long, long time.
    I eventually disabled the HIPS, and never did have the sandbox enabled, so now it's pure FW.
    That will eventually change when I migrate to ESET Smart Security, which includes a FW. I'm running NOD32 now, having tossed VIPRE, and I think running ESET's suite will be, uh, sweet.
     
  7. wolfrun

    wolfrun Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2009
    Posts:
    686
    Location:
    Canada
    Good to hear. I'm thinking of trying out the Pro Active setting and see where that takes me. As it is now it's in the Safe mode and seems to be working well. Anyway, have something new to play around with.
     
  8. Behold Eck

    Behold Eck Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2013
    Posts:
    562
    Location:
    The Outer Limits
    Great combo and I`ve never had a problem with the running the both of them either.

    Just glad Sandboxie runs smooth with Outpost Pro(lifetime license) or it would be goodbye Outpost.:(

    Regards Eck:)
     
  9. wolfrun

    wolfrun Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2009
    Posts:
    686
    Location:
    Canada
    Yes, so far so good with both. Matter of fact I'm running Comodo, just the firewall in Proactive mode with firewall set in Safe Mode, activated Hips in Clean PC Mode and activated Auto Sandbox. I've been waiting for something to blow up :eek: but so far so good, everything is running smooth with Comodo and Sanboxie. Will keep monitoring and see what happens down the line.
     
  10. Behold Eck

    Behold Eck Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2013
    Posts:
    562
    Location:
    The Outer Limits
    Same setup as I used to run and also very light which is no bad thing ?;)

    Regards Eck:)
     
  11. Malwar

    Malwar Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2013
    Posts:
    297
    Location:
    USA
    Finally here it is been waiting for it: Chromebook, got the HP Chromebook 14 g3 tegra k1 2gb of ram for Christmas!!
     
  12. J_L

    J_L Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Posts:
    8,738
    Are you sure this is the right thread? Brag about your hardware setup here.
     
  13. Mayahana

    Mayahana Banned

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2014
    Posts:
    2,220
    Removed ZyXEL USG60.
    Added ASUS RT-AC87U/R to Gateway w/Trend Scanning.
    Following that, Untangle UTM in transparent/bridge mode. (Adblocker, Intrusion Blocker, Antivirus Lite)
    Back to Norton 2015 on all Machines.

    Upgrading line to 300Mbps shortly, ZyXEL USG60 can't go that high with everything on. So I need to run with the above setup until I decide if I want to spend the coin for a high end Layer 7 NGFW. Given the amazing detection increases with ASUS+Trend, I am not confident I even need it. But I need to drop $1000.00 if I do.
     
  14. Malwar

    Malwar Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2013
    Posts:
    297
    Location:
    USA
  15. Mayahana

    Mayahana Banned

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2014
    Posts:
    2,220
  16. Malwar

    Malwar Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2013
    Posts:
    297
    Location:
    USA
    Yes. Chromebooks are beast I can do everything I want on a Chromebook besides gaming. (Video edit, Photo edit, Audio edit, all office stuff, even some games but not main big titles). They boot up in 3-10 secs depends on which one you get. Really good security features. Verified boot, sandboxing, kernel hardening, can not install programs except the app store. A perfect education system or media system. Most Chromebooks get 8-10 hours of battery life. So yeah people brag about Chromebooks.
     
    Last edited: Dec 25, 2014
  17. J_L

    J_L Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Posts:
    8,738
    They're more than capable, especially with Developer Mode.
     
  18. guest

    guest Guest

    So... how was Bitlocker then?
     
  19. Securon

    Securon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    Posts:
    1,960
    Location:
    London On
    Good Evening! Trend Micro 2015 Anti Virus & Security ...Appguard...WSA Security Plus...Curious to see how Trend...Trend's! Sincerely...Securon
     
  20. Overkill

    Overkill Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2012
    Posts:
    2,343
    Location:
    USA
    Sorry i'm a bit late, I hope everyone had a Merry Christmas and have a Happy New Year
     
  21. Behold Eck

    Behold Eck Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2013
    Posts:
    562
    Location:
    The Outer Limits
    Sure did and the same to you. I know you had a secure one looking at what`s in your sig. :thumb:

    Seasons regards Eck:)
     
  22. pling_man

    pling_man Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2010
    Posts:
    599
    Location:
    UK
    As my new Signature.

    Added MBAE (free).
     
  23. Solarlynx

    Solarlynx Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2011
    Posts:
    2,015
    Hello!

    Here's my Lenovo G570 setup which is pretty secure, without bewildering popups and lite:

    Windows 7 x32, 2GB RAM
    SUA
    UAC
    - max
    Eaz-Fix snapshot time machine
    A couple of images by Paragon and Macrium
    360 TS
    , security mode, though it advised not to enable BD and Avira engines
    MBAE trial with all shields enabled

    Setup seems same lite as it were with Avast and EMET 4.1.
     
    Last edited: Dec 28, 2014
  24. Minimalist

    Minimalist Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2014
    Posts:
    14,408
    Location:
    Slovenia
    My setup that I used most part in 2014 and will probably use it in 2015 also:

    Windows 8.1 x64 | Windows Firewall | Software Restriction Policies | User Account Control
    Macrium Reflect
    daily incremental backup
    Google Chrome | µBlock | µMatrix
     
  25. ams963

    ams963 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2011
    Posts:
    5,974
    Location:
    Parallel Universe
    So no need for security setup on Chromebooks? That's really cool. Is it true that Chromebooks need to be always online and you can't do anything offline with it? I can see Chromebooks are really cheap and have long battery life. Maybe I'll consider getting one in the new year.
     
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.