What is your security setup these days?

Discussion in 'other anti-malware software' started by dja2k, Dec 15, 2005.

  1. Noob

    Noob Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Posts:
    6,491
    I have it set to scan everything that is read. :D
     
  2. J_L

    J_L Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Posts:
    8,738
    You can force it to run as admin: right-click Winpatrol.exe > Properties > Compatibility > Change settings for all users > Run this program as an administrator. The limited account should get an UAC prompt requiring them to enter your password to start it.

    Alternatives include group policies, Parental Controls, or another software. Startup is another issue, but it should be HKCU by default anyways.
     
  3. Francis93

    Francis93 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2011
    Posts:
    311
    Eset Smart Security 7 + Webroot SecureAnywhere AV 2014 :thumb:
     
  4. tomazyk

    tomazyk Guest

    I reinstalled Webroot SecureAnywhere. Will see if I can get used to run two AVs at the same time. :)
     
  5. ReverseGear

    ReverseGear Guest

    Didnt work - neways thanx a lot
     
  6. JuniorTavares

    JuniorTavares Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2013
    Posts:
    2
    Location:
    Brasil
    Why use another anti-virus with WSA?

    WSA alone is not enough?
     
  7. tomazyk

    tomazyk Guest

    WSA alone is enough, ESET alone is enough. I've decided to add WSA to ESET for a while to see how I will like this setup.
     
  8. Replaced Chrome for IE11, going to test what the impact is of a lesser sandbox with a stronger reputation scoring mechanism..

    QUESTION Any insider knows whether any of these researches has been used in recent Ms technology?

    https://research.microsoft.com/en-us/projects/nozzle/
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Oct 20, 2013
  9. THESAWISFAMILY2005

    THESAWISFAMILY2005 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2012
    Posts:
    198
    Location:
    SACRAMENTO CALIFORNIA
    wsa is powerfull alone by itself

    i dont see why people use so much security "?
     
  10. guest

    guest Guest

    It really depends on personal preferences. Whether it's a battleship with all big cannons or a corvette which is fast but less armed and armored, it's you who sail it in a war against malware. Each setup has its own advantages and disadvantages, just be sure to not overdoing it. ;)
     
  11. Overkill

    Overkill Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2012
    Posts:
    2,343
    Location:
    USA
    Hey guys,
    Do you think this config has any overlap minus the Firewall?

    Private Firewall+DefenseWall+EXE Radar Pro+Zemana AntiLogger+Toolwiz TimeFreeze
     
  12. guest

    guest Guest

    If you ask me, I'll say "yes". If you ask someone else, you probably will get a "no". To be more specific, if PFW already had a logger-like behaviors protection, Zemana AL won't do much. And there's DW, which I haven't managed to get my hands on it. But I assume it works like GesWall. If that's the case, then I'll drop PFW and use DW, or drop DW and use PFW. No idea about EXE Radar since it was too buggy when I tested it in the past, so can't do in-depth experiments. :doubt:

    But do remember that this is just an opinion, you have to consider it yourself so you're happy with whatever the decisions you would take. :D
     
  13. Overkill

    Overkill Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2012
    Posts:
    2,343
    Location:
    USA
    I could do without zemana but hate to let my yr key go to waste, you should try exe radar, it's running great!
     
  14. guest

    guest Guest

    Maybe when I have time to resurrect my old netbook. Probably not going to stay though since I don't like having too many real-time protections running in the background. :D
     
  15. Overkill

    Overkill Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2012
    Posts:
    2,343
    Location:
    USA
    How's OA running? what's the ram usage?
     
  16. guest

    guest Guest

    It's running fine here, although not as chatty as in 32-bit. No slowdowns as far as I can tell. And none of the components ever goes beyond 20MB of RAM usage. The only problem I have is the domain blocking doesn't work. I've been suggested to report it to Emsisoft's customer support, but I want to troubleshoot it myself first.
     
  17. justenough

    justenough Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2010
    Posts:
    1,549
    Sorry I didn't reply, things went kaboom with an install of a 3rd party firewall that didn't go well, but I'm back up with a fresh system image.

    That's good advice, I am still reading what I can find in relation to the issues raised by the Bromium Labs report, and thinking about what J_L has said.
     
  18. justenough

    justenough Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2010
    Posts:
    1,549
    Replaced WOT, Webutation and DoNotTrackMe with a Chrome extension that Windows_Security mentioned, avast! Online Security. I like it so far and it's not affecting browsing speed.

    edit: grammar effect/affect:blink:
     
    Last edited: Oct 21, 2013
  19. Yep, Avast offers Chrome installation, so (my guess is that) developers of Avast have access to all insights of Chrome API's and best practises. Chance of including adblock functionality is therefore minimal, since it is against Google earning model. I had all tracking protection enabled (little more restrictive as the default).

    What are your settings?

    Regards
    Kees
     
  20. ams963

    ams963 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2011
    Posts:
    5,974
    Location:
    Parallel Universe
    You only need Defense Wall. Everything else is overlap. Try this combo instead of piling up the security apps.
    Win FW + DW FW + Macrium Reflect.

    What browser are you using? Do you have DW FW or DW HIPS?
     
  21. Overkill

    Overkill Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2012
    Posts:
    2,343
    Location:
    USA
    I forgot to mention it's XP SP3 with Chrome and DWFW
     
  22. justenough

    justenough Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2010
    Posts:
    1,549
    Hi Kees. I have Antiphishing turned on, everything checked under Do not track, and SiteCorrect checked but not the box under it, Skip prompt and automatically redirect. SafeZone and CommunityIQ are not checked.
     
  23. ams963

    ams963 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2011
    Posts:
    5,974
    Location:
    Parallel Universe
    Ah I see. You'd definitely be safe with Win FW + Chrome + DW FW + Macrium Reflect.:) :thumb:
     
  24. bigc73542

    bigc73542 Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2003
    Posts:
    23,928
    Location:
    SW. Oklahoma
    AAV+WSA+MBAB+Chrome+WFAS+Win7 Ultimate.
     
  25. ams963

    ams963 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2011
    Posts:
    5,974
    Location:
    Parallel Universe
    What are those?:doubt:
     
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.