What is your security setup these days?

Discussion in 'other anti-malware software' started by dja2k, Dec 15, 2005.

  1. atomomega

    atomomega Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2010
    Posts:
    1,292
    Was running Threatfire for a couple of days, it felt really nice, since I wasn't running anything else, other than my beloved No Autorun.
    Now I'm running Baidu... not sure at the moment, I feel it lags a bit... we'll see after a couple of days.
     
  2. jmonge

    jmonge Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Posts:
    13,742
    Location:
    Canada
    yeap threatfire is a champ:thumb: :thumb:
     
  3. jmonge

    jmonge Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Posts:
    13,742
    Location:
    Canada
    another combo i was thinking to try is AppGuard and SandBoxie;)
    but i think i will have to add sandboxie to the power app list in appguard;)
     
  4. jmonge

    jmonge Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Posts:
    13,742
    Location:
    Canada
    AppGuard:thumb: :thumb: :thumb: :thumb:
     
  5. jo3blac1

    jo3blac1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2012
    Posts:
    739
    Location:
    U.S.
  6. jmonge

    jmonge Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Posts:
    13,742
    Location:
    Canada
    Dumped my antivirus cause DefenseWall Personal Firewall 3.21 is in the house again;) :thumb: i fired emsisoft :D
    note:look at my signiture do i look like i need an antiviruso_O:) only hitmanpro and that's it
     
  7. LoneWolf

    LoneWolf Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2006
    Posts:
    3,683
    Can't says that I blame you, dumped my AV years ago and never looked back. :D
     
  8. jmonge

    jmonge Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Posts:
    13,742
    Location:
    Canada
  9. Securon

    Securon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    Posts:
    1,960
    Location:
    London On
    Good Evening ! G-Data I.S.2014...WSA Essentials. Zap...Pow! Sincerely...Securon
     
  10. trjam

    trjam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2006
    Posts:
    9,102
    Location:
    North Carolina USA
    jmonge, thought your computers were 64 bit, how are you using DefenseWall?
     
  11. Rompin Raider

    Rompin Raider Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2010
    Posts:
    1,253
    Location:
    North Texas
    Mirrors!:argh:
     
  12. Rompin Raider

    Rompin Raider Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2010
    Posts:
    1,253
    Location:
    North Texas
    Hi Securon...was running G Data IS 2013 earlier this week. How do you like 2014...is it any lighter on the system? I haven't tried it thus far...thanks
     
  13. ams963

    ams963 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2011
    Posts:
    5,974
    Location:
    Parallel Universe
    I'm using AIS+HMP combo.:thumb:
     
  14. jmonge

    jmonge Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Posts:
    13,742
    Location:
    Canada
    trojan :) AppGuard my son;) ;) :thumb:
     
  15. Dark Shadow

    Dark Shadow Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2007
    Posts:
    4,553
    Location:
    USA
    Who needs a trojan,I mean who got a trojan horse.:D Put on a raincoat with AppGuard and it should protect against infections.
     
  16. jmonge

    jmonge Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Posts:
    13,742
    Location:
    Canada
    lol:) i was talking to my friend trojam :);)
    but you are correct too my son:)
     
  17. Main laptop
    HP Pavilion dv6000 series with a Pentium D and 2 GB of RAM. Back to using Salix 13.37 Mate, because using e.g. Fluxbox on such a recent machine due to resource problems is ridiculous. On a netbook, sure. On this thing... no.

    Firefox with Noscript

    First line of defense, as usual. I don't see why I should render every piece of third-party rubbish content that a website wants to throw at me.

    UFW

    Default (inbound only) configuration, in case some application opens a port without my say-so. I don't see the point of using outbound control at the moment; not without a MAC system.

    Open Source Tripwire

    The most recent addition. The FOSS version of Tripwire is... passive, I guess? It doesn't run in the background like OSSEC. You establish a baseline of what your system looks like, and do regular scans to verify that checksums haven't changed in the wrong places. On this computer a scan takes a few minutes.

    Tripwire seems to have an advantage over OSSEC for local use, in that the database of checksums is encrypted with a password of your choosing. This should make it a lot harder for a hypothetical intruder to cover his tracks. OTOH the whole thing is not very automated, and depending on what you do with your computer there could be all kinds of background noise... For a novice it would probably be hard to differentiate ordinary filesystem changes from an intrusion.

    AFAIK it does nothing to prevent intrusions, only to detect them after the fact. But if you are going to get hacked, knowing that you've been hacked is a good thing; the sooner the better. :)
     
  18. Securon

    Securon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    Posts:
    1,960
    Location:
    London On
    Good Evening! Rompin Raider...so far 2014 seems to run lighter...there's the new in house engine replacing Avast...the new Close Gap Technology...Improved Bank Guard Technology...and new Auto Start Manager for quicker boot times...so a lot of changes...and the Gui is a Big Improvement. So a lot to absorb...and contemplate now and for future needs. Sincerely...Securon
     
  19. Rompin Raider

    Rompin Raider Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2010
    Posts:
    1,253
    Location:
    North Texas
    Thank you!
     
  20. arsenaloyal

    arsenaloyal Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009
    Posts:
    513
    @ jmonge how is your combo working together? Have you set any exclusions in appguard/defensewall or do they play nicely together out of the box?
     
  21. jmonge

    jmonge Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Posts:
    13,742
    Location:
    Canada
    they love each other and they live in harmony;) ;) :thumb:
     
  22. jmonge

    jmonge Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Posts:
    13,742
    Location:
    Canada
    just decided to removed appguard as with defensewall i am well cover in all areas:thumb:
     
  23. ams963

    ams963 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2011
    Posts:
    5,974
    Location:
    Parallel Universe
    @jmonge
    You're absolutely right J. DefenseWall is very strong.:thumb:
     
  24. zitch

    zitch Guest

    Am not familiar with G-Data, took a look at their site after reading your post. Looks interesting enough...Not sure I want to trade out and remove Avast, will take a closer look....am a little concerned about Avast 8 being a bit bloated, but it is still my fav.....and as most of us know Avast is rock solid.
     
  25. Securon

    Securon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    Posts:
    1,960
    Location:
    London On
    Good Evening! Just a heads up Zitch...even though the new version isn't as Ram hungry...I still feel you need 4gigs and up...to eliminate any lag factor. Sincerely...Securon
     
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.