What is your security setup these days?

Discussion in 'other anti-malware software' started by dja2k, Dec 15, 2005.

  1. justenough

    justenough Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2010
    Posts:
    1,549
    An effective cloud AV, one of the best firewalls/HIPS, and the great Sandboxie. Impressive that such a powerful combination is also fast.
     
  2. Newby

    Newby Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2007
    Posts:
    153
    So after 5000 posts or so I won't be needing third party secuity anymore :D
     
  3. JoeBlack40

    JoeBlack40 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2009
    Posts:
    1,579
    Location:
    Romania
    Yes,very fast.In fact,my laptop boots up in about 40-45 sec (the best time for me with an AV installed) and all the operations and web browsing are very fast indeed.I dare to say almost like no AV or HIPS installed.And i know what this means.
     
  4. jmonge

    jmonge Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Posts:
    13,744
    Location:
    Canada
    how is Ocster Backup Pro 7.1?
     
  5. biscuits

    biscuits Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2010
    Posts:
    112
    Here are the stats based on my experience.

    1. Time it took to do a full system back-up of 35 GB 5400 RPM SATA HDD:

    17 mins 59 secs

    2. Time it took to do an incremental back-up for the system back-up above:

    41 mins 44 secs

    I wasn't able to get the time it took to do a full back-up restoration.

    Problems (in my opinion are little to negligible nuisances) encountered:

    1. When I still had a resident AV, I usually had a BSOD ONLY AFTER removing the virtual drive that I created with Ocster. Ocster Backup can mount your backup image on a virtual drive so that you can easily retrieve/check/verify data. Unfortunately I did not take the initiative to check the logs (w/c I can't find now).

    2. If you set the ocster backup service to run manually, you have to manually start it as it can't be started through the main ocster executable.


    Model of PC: ASUS Eee PC 1000HE
    CPU: Intel Atom 1.66 GHz
    RAM: 2GB
    OS: Win XP 32-bit Home
     
  6. jmonge

    jmonge Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Posts:
    13,744
    Location:
    Canada
    thanks biscuits for your value info:thumb:
     
  7. guest

    guest Guest

    yes hahaha; btw i revert back to my old love ^^

    - Emsisoft IS (EAM + OAP)
    - WSA
    - Sandboxie free
    - Shadow Defender

    for the rest check my sig below, i like to have a layered setup that covers everything.
     
  8. Newby

    Newby Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2007
    Posts:
    153
    CIS 6.0

    I get the idea of a BB and an AV working together
    I get the idea of a AV and a Sandbox working together (virtualising programs unknown to the AV which are unsigned and have questionable reputation)
    I get the idea of a FW and a HIPS working together

    BUT HIPS + BB + AV + Virtualisation together, considering applications run with default Medium/User rights (UAC) and browsers use AppContainer/Low Rights o_O

    Okay paranoid, layered security, I can understand people use AVG BB+AVG, Comodo FW+HIPS and DefenseWall/Sandboxie/Bufferzone f.i. since the layers come from different vendors, each with its own hooks to SSDT and kernel level drivers.

    When all these layers come from one vendor (sharing the protective programming code), it defeats the point of a layered security o_O

    N.
     
    Last edited: Dec 5, 2012
  9. eugene91

    eugene91 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2010
    Posts:
    192
    Trying out Panda Cloud AV Free 2.1

    Looks very light on Windows 8 Pro 64bit

    PSUAMain (32bit) 0.3MB
    PSUAService (32bit) 0.3MB
    Application Host Service (32bit) 14.2MB
     
    Last edited: Dec 5, 2012
  10. jmonge

    jmonge Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Posts:
    13,744
    Location:
    Canada
    running malware defender and geswall together and no problems at all or slow downs
     
  11. siketa

    siketa Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2012
    Posts:
    2,718
    Location:
    Gaia
    Too bad only 32-bit system can make use of them...
     
  12. jmonge

    jmonge Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Posts:
    13,744
    Location:
    Canada
  13. luciddream

    luciddream Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2007
    Posts:
    2,545
    Excellent point/post. And aside from what you stated, it's just too damn bloated for my taste period.

    Slim version(s) please...
     
  14. jmonge

    jmonge Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Posts:
    13,744
    Location:
    Canada
    just the firewall with D+ will be more than enough;)
     
  15. koolthing

    koolthing Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2012
    Posts:
    13
    Location:
    Netherlands
    I'm using

    Kingsoft Antivirus 2012
    Comodo Firewall 5.12.256249.2599 (d+ and sandbox are active)
    Malwarebytes AntiMalware (paid)
     
  16. The Red Moon

    The Red Moon Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2012
    Posts:
    4,055
    im running online armor and avast free with no issues.:thumb:
     
  17. internet addict

    internet addict Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2012
    Posts:
    517
    Panda Cloud Antivirus FREE 2.1
    Comodo Firewall with both the firewall and defense+ turned on
     
  18. Solarlynx

    Solarlynx Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2011
    Posts:
    2,015
    After removal of Kingsoft AV and DigitalLifeboat (a cloud storage, you must have it always resident) my computer flies like a jetplane!
     
  19. kjdemuth

    kjdemuth Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2005
    Posts:
    2,975
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    Nice set up Solarlynx. Was Kingsoft giving you problems or just slowing things down?
     
  20. Solarlynx

    Solarlynx Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2011
    Posts:
    2,015
    Thank you, kjdemuth.
    Kingsoft AV worked perfectly :thumb:. I advise to try it if someone didn't. I'll return to it someday. As for slowing down it is difficult to determine was it KAV or DigitalLifeboat or their some mutual interaction. I used KAV in different combinations on several comps and usually there was almost unnoticeable impact.
     
  21. internet addict

    internet addict Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2012
    Posts:
    517
    How well does KAV work as a standalone antivirus?
     
  22. kjdemuth

    kjdemuth Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2005
    Posts:
    2,975
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    Yeah I agree with you totally. I liked kingsoft a lot when I was using it. I'm anxiously awaiting KAV 2013. I never noticed any slow downs. For the moment I have the very light and effective WSA AV on a 6 month trial. The only thing that stinks is that I can't use Shadow Defender with WSA. Even though I tend not use SD all that much.
     
  23. kjdemuth

    kjdemuth Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2005
    Posts:
    2,975
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    It works great if you change it to standard monitoring. You would also want to use a few other layers. HIPS, firewall and maybe an Anti-exe.
     
  24. jmonge

    jmonge Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Posts:
    13,744
    Location:
    Canada
    i cant believe the power of Outpost Security Suite Pro's hips protection(anti-leak)wooooo when it is password protected it is very informative and 3 kinds of alerts,1 for know good files(green)2 second pop up orange for unknown programs and the third red for known malware files:thumb: :thumb: :thumb:
    good program
     
  25. ReverseGear

    ReverseGear Guest

    Whats in my sig
     
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.