What is win32 acovcnt.exe? Comodo had it in the pending files and Malwarebytes and

Discussion in 'other anti-malware software' started by cheater87, Dec 21, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. cheater87

    cheater87 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2005
    Posts:
    3,171
    Location:
    Pennsylvania.
    SAS found nothing while scanning. Google says that is a malicious exe. I have it locked down with Comodo. Can someone tell me what this is?
     
  2. Get

    Get Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2009
    Posts:
    384
    Location:
    the Netherlands
  3. cheater87

    cheater87 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2005
    Posts:
    3,171
    Location:
    Pennsylvania.
    Avira found nothing either. No scanner found it. I'll try combo fix if that does not find it a full system restore is what I will do.
     
  4. cheater87

    cheater87 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2005
    Posts:
    3,171
    Location:
    Pennsylvania.
    Combofix is 32 bit only. A reformatting we will go.
     
  5. thanatos_theos

    thanatos_theos Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2007
    Posts:
    576
    Upload the file to VT or SAS FRC. It's possible the file is a part of Asus.
     
  6. cheater87

    cheater87 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2005
    Posts:
    3,171
    Location:
    Pennsylvania.
    How do I locate the file?
     
  7. Get

    Get Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2009
    Posts:
    384
    Location:
    the Netherlands
    @thanatos_theos : very nice googling on your end :) or very sloppy on mine:doubt: .
     
  8. thanatos_theos

    thanatos_theos Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2007
    Posts:
    576
    IIRC, isn't the file path visible in Pending File List? If not try C:\WINDOWS\system32\acovcnt.exe. It may be hidden though.
     
  9. Get

    Get Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2009
    Posts:
    384
    Location:
    the Netherlands
    It's in the System32 folder, but I guess you ask, because it's hidden (?). If it is : open a folder > Tools > Folder Options > View > checkmark the checkbox labeled Display the contents of system folders > select Show hidden files and folders > Remove the checkmark from the checkbox labeled Hide protected operating system files > Remove the checkmark from the checkbox labeled Hide file extensions for known file types. That should do it. I gather you allready know that. If so: elaborate.
     
  10. aigle

    aigle Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2005
    Posts:
    11,112
    Location:
    Saudi Arabia/ Pakistan
    Show us a screenshot of prnding files. There must be the path. Then use gmer or root repeal to explore and grab the file if it,s hidden.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.