What is win32 acovcnt.exe? Comodo had it in the pending files and Malwarebytes and

Discussion in 'other anti-malware software' started by cheater87, Dec 21, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. cheater87

    cheater87 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2005
    Posts:
    3,125
    Location:
    Pennsylvania.
    SAS found nothing while scanning. Google says that is a malicious exe. I have it locked down with Comodo. Can someone tell me what this is?
     
  2. Get

    Get Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2009
    Posts:
    384
    Location:
    the Netherlands
  3. cheater87

    cheater87 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2005
    Posts:
    3,125
    Location:
    Pennsylvania.
    Avira found nothing either. No scanner found it. I'll try combo fix if that does not find it a full system restore is what I will do.
     
  4. cheater87

    cheater87 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2005
    Posts:
    3,125
    Location:
    Pennsylvania.
    Combofix is 32 bit only. A reformatting we will go.
     
  5. thanatos_theos

    thanatos_theos Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2007
    Posts:
    540
    Upload the file to VT or SAS FRC. It's possible the file is a part of Asus.
     
  6. cheater87

    cheater87 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2005
    Posts:
    3,125
    Location:
    Pennsylvania.
    How do I locate the file?
     
  7. Get

    Get Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2009
    Posts:
    384
    Location:
    the Netherlands
    @thanatos_theos : very nice googling on your end :) or very sloppy on mine:doubt: .
     
  8. thanatos_theos

    thanatos_theos Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2007
    Posts:
    540
    IIRC, isn't the file path visible in Pending File List? If not try C:\WINDOWS\system32\acovcnt.exe. It may be hidden though.
     
  9. Get

    Get Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2009
    Posts:
    384
    Location:
    the Netherlands
    It's in the System32 folder, but I guess you ask, because it's hidden (?). If it is : open a folder > Tools > Folder Options > View > checkmark the checkbox labeled Display the contents of system folders > select Show hidden files and folders > Remove the checkmark from the checkbox labeled Hide protected operating system files > Remove the checkmark from the checkbox labeled Hide file extensions for known file types. That should do it. I gather you allready know that. If so: elaborate.
     
  10. aigle

    aigle Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2005
    Posts:
    11,047
    Location:
    Saudi Arabia/ Pakistan
    Show us a screenshot of prnding files. There must be the path. Then use gmer or root repeal to explore and grab the file if it,s hidden.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.