What is the trick to clone a disk?

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by tonymuffin, Nov 11, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. tonymuffin

    tonymuffin Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2006
    Posts:
    10
    I want to replace the main hard drive in my machine with a new larger drive. I am following the clone disk wizard and all appears normal. At the end of the wizard is says to click reboot or cancel. A reboot is required to complete the operation. After clicking reboot a message appears saying "locking C: Drive". However there is a pop up behind it that says Operation Cancelled. The machine reboots. Goes through some sort of routine and within a minute says to press any key to shut down the machine. Upon rebooting the machine, the new drive has nothing on it.

    What's the trick?
     
  2. FBMachines

    FBMachines Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2006
    Posts:
    229
    Location:
    Texas
    tonymuffin,
    What TI version and build number are you using?
     
  3. tonymuffin

    tonymuffin Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2006
    Posts:
    10
    9.1 for Windows (build 3,832)
     
  4. Ralphie

    Ralphie Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2006
    Posts:
    952
    Location:
    Florida
    If you doing the Clone from the TI software within Windows, try making the bootable Rescue cd, boot with it and do the Clone from there. The cd has all the Backup, Recover, and Clone features.
    BTW, can you still boot from the original drive?
     
  5. foghorne

    foghorne Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2005
    Posts:
    1,389
    Location:
    Leeds, Great Britain
    Have you tried inititalising your new disk first (i.e. create a default partition and quick format it)?

    F.
     
  6. tonymuffin

    tonymuffin Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2006
    Posts:
    10
    Yes, I can still boot from the original drive.
     
  7. tonymuffin

    tonymuffin Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2006
    Posts:
    10
    Yes, I have already done that.
     
  8. Ralphie

    Ralphie Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2006
    Posts:
    952
    Location:
    Florida
    C'mon, foghorne, the Aston Villa/Everton game is on now. Leave the computer for a while. :D :D :D
     
  9. Ralphie

    Ralphie Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2006
    Posts:
    952
    Location:
    Florida
    Okay, good, some cruel things have happened to users reporting "locking C: drive".
     
  10. foghorne

    foghorne Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2005
    Posts:
    1,389
    Location:
    Leeds, Great Britain
    Amazing. I really am a north Walian Everton fan.

    F.
     
  11. FBMachines

    FBMachines Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2006
    Posts:
    229
    Location:
    Texas
    You might also want to try running a scandisk at the CMD prompt using "chkdsk [drive] /F /R <enter>" and defrag the hard drive before you clone it.
     
  12. foghorne

    foghorne Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2005
    Posts:
    1,389
    Location:
    Leeds, Great Britain
    OK, Ralphies suggestion of booting via the Rescue Disk is your next best bet. Just make sure that you have the latest build installed before you create it.

    F.
     
  13. tonymuffin

    tonymuffin Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2006
    Posts:
    10
    I apologize for being ignorant here. But what exactly is and does the rescue disk do?
     
  14. Ralphie

    Ralphie Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2006
    Posts:
    952
    Location:
    Florida
    Well, if your hard drive refuses to boot and it has True Image on it, how are you going to run True Image to do a Recovery? Why, with the bootable Rescue CD of course. But you have to make it before disaster strikes. And as I said, it has all the Backup, Recovery, Clone features just like the installed software.
     
  15. tonymuffin

    tonymuffin Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2006
    Posts:
    10
    Got it! Thanks. I will try that.
     
  16. foghorne

    foghorne Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2005
    Posts:
    1,389
    Location:
    Leeds, Great Britain
    It allows you to run True Image from an OS hosted on a CD, so that locking of files on the disk system partition (which can occur when you run True Image from Windows) does not get in the way of operations.

    F.
     
  17. FBMachines

    FBMachines Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2006
    Posts:
    229
    Location:
    Texas
    The rescue disk is a Linux based disc with the acronis tools on it. If you have a HD malfunction you can boot from the disc and restore or create your images. You can also use the clone function as Ralfie suggested. An alternative to the acronis rescue media is Bart PE ,a windows xp based bootable enviroment, in conjunction with Mustang's Acronis Plugin's which in my and many others opinions are much better at supporting hardware than the linux based option.
     
  18. FBMachines

    FBMachines Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2006
    Posts:
    229
    Location:
    Texas
    MAN, Ralfie is quick on the trigger! 3 answers to one question. lol
     
  19. foghorne

    foghorne Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2005
    Posts:
    1,389
    Location:
    Leeds, Great Britain
    Yeah and I thought he was watching the footie :D

    F.
     
  20. tonymuffin

    tonymuffin Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2006
    Posts:
    10
    It worked! Thanks so much
     
  21. Ralphie

    Ralphie Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2006
    Posts:
    952
    Location:
    Florida
    I am ... THE game is next .. ManU and Blackburn ... live via satellite. Woo hoooooooooo!

    What worked Tonymuffin, making the CD or the Clone via the CD?
     
  22. tonymuffin

    tonymuffin Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2006
    Posts:
    10
    Both worked
     
  23. foghorne

    foghorne Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2005
    Posts:
    1,389
    Location:
    Leeds, Great Britain
    Nice one. Time for a pint.

    F.
     
  24. Ralphie

    Ralphie Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2006
    Posts:
    952
    Location:
    Florida
    I'll 'ave a half. :D
    A toast to another satisfied customer.:thumb: :thumb:
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.