what is the purpose of the "secure zone " ?

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by mantronix, Sep 9, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. mantronix

    mantronix Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2004
    Posts:
    20
    Can anyone explain why one should create an Acronis "Secure Zone " ?

    The manual just does NOT explain very well what the point of creating this zone is for,
    sure they tell you how to do it, but they totally overlook **why** it is required.....

    Isn't the point of the program to create an image on a separate drive and to restore your image from a separate drive ?

    If this is so, then why do you need a "secure zone' ?

    From what I have read in the manual this "secure zone" is there to work
    if you boot TrueImage from a bootlable CD ( the recue disc ) ... but but....
    if you create space on your c: drive for example, then TI cannot restore this data to a bad drive, - you can't restore to the same disc that the image info is on, so what am I missing here ? ...

    I'm totally puzzled.

    thanks :)
     
  2. TheQuest

    TheQuest Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2003
    Posts:
    2,301
    Location:
    Kent. UK by the sea
    Hi, mantronix
    The Secure Zone is mainly for people with only one HDD.

    Take Care,
    TheQuest :cool:
     
  3. mantronix

    mantronix Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2004
    Posts:
    20
    ok now you have me even more confused :doubt:

    how can you restore a drive with an image on the same drive ?
    it is impossible..... no ? o_O
     
  4. jimshu1

    jimshu1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2004
    Posts:
    63
    You create multiple partitions on the one hard drive and image from one partition to another. However, if you don't copy these images to removable media, like CD's or DVD's, and lose your HD, you're screwed.

    Works well when bad software messes your system up, but doesn't protect against HD failure.
     
  5. mantronix

    mantronix Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2004
    Posts:
    20
    Hello,

    ah well, so my first thoughts about this secure zone are correct,
    it's just a bunch of bull to make the program look more "powerful" when in fact it is not.

    Anyone who uses this function is just playing with fire, if you backup, then
    you obviously should be backing up to a separate hard drive, so in reality
    if you have to backup to a separate drive anyway there IS NO point in
    creating a secure zone if you really think about it, you are just wasting space
    on your main drive, at least this is how I see it. If you use TI you must have 2 hard drives or you are just fooling yourself.

    in the end, making this secure zone just uses up space on the main drive.

    anyway thanks for the info, I see clearly now :)
     
  6. wdormann

    wdormann Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2004
    Posts:
    480
    It's a feature. Either use it or don't. I don't think there is any "bull" going on here. There is no place where Acronis indicates that the Safe Zone is safe from hardware failures. It is a feature that some people find useful, primarily those with just a single hard drive. They can roll back their OS by pressing F11 on startup and not have to monkey around with any boot CDs or manually doing housekeeping on their images, such as deleting old ones.
     
  7. mantronix

    mantronix Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2004
    Posts:
    20
    Hello,

    I stand corrected. You do have a very valid point there and I overlooked
    the obvioius. I see now how this can help out rolling back the clock if you will.

    thanks for straightening me out on that, I've learned something today :)
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.