What is the difference between Nod32.exe & nod32kui.exe

Discussion in 'NOD32 version 2 Forum' started by mpe1224nodder, Oct 5, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. mpe1224nodder

    mpe1224nodder Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2007
    Posts:
    6
    Hi Blackspear!
    Got one more question...I found this post by KATBERT concerning making a WINDOWS XP BOOT DISK & running NOD32 from it....Dated July 22nd 2007...
    Here is the link to his posting-
    https://www.wilderssecurity.com/showt...od32 Boot disk
    He said to goto http://www.nu2.nu/pebuilder/ and download the BartPE program & create the XP Bootdisk & put NOD32 on the disk....so you can BOOTUP to the XP Bootdisk & run NOD32...
    I did this & it works very well running Nod32.exe , but then I tried running \nod32kui.exe to start NOD32 Control Center... however I ran into errors trying to run \nod32kui.exe ....the error says "ERROR OCCURRED During Communication with NOD32 Kernel Service"....
    1. what does this error mean?
    2. What can I do to stop the error?
    3. What is the difference in running NOD32.exe or running nod32kui.exe .... is running the Nod32 Control Center/nod32kui.exe more THOROUGH than
    nod32.exe ??
    Thanks in advance!
    nodder
     
  2. cupez80

    cupez80 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2005
    Posts:
    605
    Location:
    Surabaya Indonesia
    NOD32.exe is on-demand scanner
    Nod32kui.exe is NOD32 control center (interface only not kernel).
    So you got that error msg because nod32krn.exe(nod32 kernel / core) is not started and only can be started via windows service.
     
  3. mpe1224nodder

    mpe1224nodder Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2007
    Posts:
    6
    SO I created this WINDOWS XP BOOT DISK....wouldn't that START the nod32krn.exe(nod32 kernel / core? OR if it did not start-can I MAKE it start the Kernel service?
     
  4. cupez80

    cupez80 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2005
    Posts:
    605
    Location:
    Surabaya Indonesia
    no it wouldnt start nod32krn.exe and no you cant start nod32krn.exe manually. why would you need to run nod32 control center as you still scan via nod32.exe ?
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.