What is the best anti virus to use with Prevx

Discussion in 'Prevx Releases' started by Saint Satin Stain, Dec 9, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Saint Satin Stain

    Saint Satin Stain Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2004
    Posts:
    222
    Location:
    Huntsville, AL and Greenwich Village, NYC
    I know that no other realtime av is needed, but which other malware/antivirus scanner free or paid is best with Prevx? I have a license for Eset's NOD32, but haven't installed it. NOD32 uses about 35 to 40 MB ram. Prevx uses about 41 MB ram. I also have Sandboxie and Online Armor. My O S is XP Pro SP2. I may just use these I have installed now.

    Prevx
    Online Armor
    Sandboxie
    Trojan Remover
    SpywareBlaster

    Gmer
    Rootkit Unhooker
    IceSword 1.22
    Malwarebytes' Anti-Malware
    SUPERAntiSpyware


    Only 3 in the first group are real time. I want the smallest ramprint possible without sacrificing effectiveness. According to Neil J. Rubenking I don't need another.
     
  2. Blackcat

    Blackcat Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    4,010
    Location:
    Christchurch, UK
    Overall I have tried a number of AVs alongside Prevx and all of them ran well, except initially Avast 5 beta with its web scanner. Joe solved this problem after I sent in a scan-log.

    The best AV is again one that runs well with Prevx on YOUR system.

    IMHO, you have most of the bases covered with your present real-time configuration; particularly with Sandboxie and Online Armor.

    If you have a license for NOD and it does not slow you down, then by all means install this one. But you do not really need it with your present setup, particularly if you are a safe surfer.
     
  3. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Webroot Product Advisor

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    12,012
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    I use Prevx with NOD32 on my main system and Prevx and VIPRE and they work well others I can't say!

    TH
     
  4. Durad

    Durad Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2005
    Posts:
    591
    Location:
    Canada
    G-Data 2010 & Prevx
    A-Squared & Prevx

    are my dream team.
     
  5. trjam

    trjam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2006
    Posts:
    9,057
    Location:
    North Carolina
    how bout just Prevx. 9 times out of 10 it will find something before your AV does. Pay for Prevx and use MSE for free. That is about as tight a fitting as you can get for security.
     
  6. DavidCo

    DavidCo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2005
    Posts:
    503
    Location:
    UK
    What do you folks think of the introduction of PrevX V4 with optional local cache.
    I assume that if enabled PrevX would not be able to run alongside any other AV.

    Perhaps Joe could give us an update.
     
  7. PrevxHelp

    PrevxHelp Former Prevx Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Posts:
    8,242
    Location:
    USA/UK
    It will still be able to run alongside any other AV :)
     
  8. DavidCo

    DavidCo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2005
    Posts:
    503
    Location:
    UK
    Thanks.
    Puzzled by how but happy.
     
  9. CogitoTesting

    CogitoTesting Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2009
    Posts:
    901
    Location:
    Sea of Tranquility, Luna
    I think just by reading your signature you just prove yourself wrong.
     
  10. Mongol

    Mongol Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2004
    Posts:
    1,581
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    Hmmm, whats wrong with Trjam's signature o_O It's back to Prevx...:cool:
     
    Last edited: Dec 15, 2009
  11. trjam

    trjam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2006
    Posts:
    9,057
    Location:
    North Carolina
    lets just say that jmonge, knows his ~ Snipped as per TOS ~ .;)
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Dec 15, 2009
  12. jmonge

    jmonge Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Posts:
    12,883
    Location:
    Canada
    my signiture is very unique trjam:) :D
     
  13. Dundertaker

    Dundertaker Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2009
    Posts:
    385
    Location:
    Land of the Mer Lion
    Hi;

    I have Prevx running alongside Avira Personal and OA Premium as real-time in an old pc with MBAM/HitmanPro as on-demand. Sandboxie 3.42 when online with it. It's okay and functioning well with no issues. I also even tried turning off the HIPS of Prevx for a time since OA has HIPs also then the otherway around (OA HiPs disabled while Prevx HIPS is on) still good and no infections whatsover.

    Merry Christmas!!!
     
  14. Fajo

    Fajo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2008
    Posts:
    1,812
    I have ran Prevx along side

    Norton IS
    Avira
    Avast
    Eset
    F-Secure
    G-Data
    Viper
    Kaspersky

    It's had no issues at all, The one it had with Avast was resolved as soon as it was discovered. So I would say run it along your own personal favorite AV. Or all by it self. Ether way its awesome protection.
     
  15. Saint Satin Stain

    Saint Satin Stain Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2004
    Posts:
    222
    Location:
    Huntsville, AL and Greenwich Village, NYC
    I inverted the RAM usage of Prevx; it uses 14 MB RAM instead of 41. And I decided to not install NOD32. Eset gave me a partial refund. Eset is a great company, and produces a great av. It uses more RAM than I want.

    This is the RAM usage of my real time security apps.

    ram MB vm MB



    oacat.exe service,exe 1.82 2.16
    oahlp.exe oaui.exe 1024 KB 5.61
    oasrv.exe service,exe 8.00 17.76
    oaui.exe explorer.exe 8.00 6.16

    prevx.exe service,exe 12.49 8.13
    prevx.exe prevx.exe 2.73 3.86

    sbiesvc.exe services.exe 2.23 900 KB
    sbiectrl.exe explorer.exe 6.67 2.70
    sandboxiedcomlaunch.exe 2.27 1.15
    sandboxierpcss.exe 3.00 1.39

    TOTAL: 49.08891


    This is what NOD32 uses alone
    egui.exe 4.0.467.0 3.75 MB 3.21 MB
    ekrn.exe 4.0.467.0 42.96 MB 42.04 MB
    TOTAL: 46.71 MB

    So NOD32 alone is about 47 MB; Online Armor, Prevx, and Sandboxie together about 49 MB.

    I believe that Online Armor, Prevx, Sandboxie, SpywareBlaster, Trojan Remover, IceSword, SUPERAntispyware, Rootkit Unhooker, and IceSword should suffice.
     
    Last edited: Dec 31, 2009
  16. pegr

    pegr Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2008
    Posts:
    2,279
    Location:
    UK
    I've tried AntiVir, NOD32, and Panda Cloud Antivirus on my 32-bit XP Pro system. All ran alongside Prevx without a problem.

    When I tried Returnil RVS 2010 with VirusGuard (based on FPROT) enabled, VirusGuard interfered quite badly with Prevx's scanning speed, causing Prevx scans to slow down to a crawl, taking several minutes to finish. With VirusGuard turned off, Prevx scans ran at their normal speed.
     
  17. Davidpr

    Davidpr Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2006
    Posts:
    92
    I am now running this set up and so far very pleased on Win 7 HP.
     
  18. PC__Gamer

    PC__Gamer Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2009
    Posts:
    526
    Well, I aint big on the idea of prevx running with any other realtime antivirus,

    I'd suggest my own setup, I've tested prevx many many times and hand on heart, a machine using prevx is extremely difficult to infect, I'd suggest all the wannabe testers to test this also,

    ... And I don't even use Max settings,

    I've never needed my hitman pro but I have a 3 year license, purely for the what-if scenario, I have however used hitman a couple of times during my random tests of my own software, but prevx and the PCs it protects is very hard to infect, even undetected samples get detected eventually before the sample can do anything in 99% of all cases I've tried.

    But each to the own :)

    Enjoy testing with malware,its one of the joys of testing these types of software, its rather fun if done properly in a controlled and tracked environment (well, I enjoy it anyway) lol
     
  19. Threedog

    Threedog Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2005
    Posts:
    1,125
    Location:
    Nova Scotia, Canada
    Unless you are a very unsafe surfer, Prevx alone would suffice. If you do trod into malware infested waters on a regular basis I would suggest some form of sandboxing or lite virtualization to run with it rather than another AV.
     
  20. PC__Gamer

    PC__Gamer Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2009
    Posts:
    526
    Sandboxie is very good, but it doesnt work with PSO i dont think, due to the nature of the software,

    maybe an exclusion?

    but i agree, Prevx alone is what ive been using for ages now, HMP has only recently in the past few months become a what-if ondemand scanner for me, mainly because i like the software, it doesnt run in real-time and was a decent enough price for 3 years, i thought it was worth it just incase something should ever get through that prevx cant pick up on after all its behaviour/community based detections.
     
  21. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Webroot Product Advisor

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    12,012
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    I also would like to add that Prevx Guarantees cleanup if you ever got if infected :thumb: That's a bonus that all AV's do not give!

    TH
     
  22. pling_man

    pling_man Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2010
    Posts:
    463
    Location:
    UK
    I'm using Prevx with Kaspersky Internet Security and with real-time monitoring from both applications. I have not had any problems.
     
  23. webbit

    webbit Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2008
    Posts:
    222
    just gets a bit exspensive if you use 2 paid for solutions, prev x and MSE are the ones i will look at when my webroot runs out
     
  24. lubieplacki

    lubieplacki Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2010
    Posts:
    151
    Location:
    Poland
    I'm using Prevx without any realtime antivirus, Prevx and DefenseWall are for me sufficent protection. But without problem You can use Vipre, Avira, Avast, Comodo and lot more.
     
  25. blackcobra

    blackcobra Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2004
    Posts:
    16
    I am using.. Prevx Free with Norton.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.