What is skeuomorphism?

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by Daveski17, Jun 13, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Daveski17

Daveski17 Registered Member

Apple announced it would scrap the "traditional" look of its mobile apps which mimicked real world objects. This is "skeuomorphic" design.

Steve Jobs believed computers should be so simple to use that a complete novice could master them based on instinct alone.

He championed a style of design in which digital elements resembled real world objects that anyone could recognise.

Behind the glass screen lay a "desktop" on which users could arrange "documents", or drop them into the "trash" - an icon in the shape of a bin

BBC News

2. Noob

Noob Registered Member

To be honest, i learned about this word after reading so many Apple news and iOS. (Gadget sites)

3. Daveski17

I wonder why Apple want to drop this concept?

4. m00nbl00d

m00nbl00d Registered Member

By reading the article, it seems that even Windows 8 doesn't have much of it either.

Why drop it? Lack of innovation. Therefore, they're innovating. Get it? :D

5. SweX

SweX Registered Member

Probably because many doesn't really like it, and they want something new, and I agree about that. And Scott Forstall, former Apple Senior Vice President of iOS software, was really into skeuomorphism designs. But he got fired last year after the not so successful "Maps" release. And now it's Sir Jony Ive VP of Industial Design that has taken over, a very good choice if you ask me. And it's Jony and his team that has designed the new iOS 7. Not all of the skeuomorphism is gone in the iOS 7 Beta, some apps still have a touch of it, but more will probably be gone in the next Beta.

FYI....
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Scott_Forstall

6. SweX

SweX Registered Member

Seriously, I see enough of comments like this on other sites do we really need to go down to that level on Wilders ? :)

7. Daveski17