what is name of partition

Discussion in 'backup, imaging & disk mgmt' started by WYC999, Jul 16, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. WYC999

    WYC999 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2011
    Posts:
    74
    Hi all,

    in Image for Windows in the Program Options there is a Setting use Volume Label. In the help it says:


    I kinda know what in Win7 a volume label is - i think it is this crazy long number you get when type in CMD: mountvol. Something like "Volume{a7fee50c-7266...."

    But i couldn't find in the web what a name "in the MPT" for a partition would look like and how i can see that.

    And most important: For what is this setting important backup?restore? o_O

    Hope someone knows...

    Greetz
     
  2. MudCrab

    MudCrab Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Posts:
    6,483
    Location:
    California
    The volume label is the same as what Windows shows for the partition. For example, when you look at the partition in Explorer. Your Windows 7 partition may be labeled Win7 and your backup partition may be labeled Backups. (What you describe is actually the volume GUID.)

    When you use IFW (or IFL/IFD) it can also access the MPT and the labels saved there (if they exist). These labels are used by BING/BIBM and are separate from the standard volume labels. For example, on an EMBR drive you could have a Windows partition with a volume label of Win7 and an MPT label of Win7 Testing. The option controls which label is used in IFW when displaying the partitions.

    The option isn't specifically for backing up or restoring. It just lets you use the MPT labels. Depending on how you configure your system it may allow you to more easily select or distinguish your partitions from one another.
     
  3. WYC999

    WYC999 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2011
    Posts:
    74
    Hi Mudcrab,

    what i still don't get is:

    • the "names" saved in the MPT is this a Standard Windows thing or does this ONLY apply if i have BIBM installed? If its a windows feature how can i read out the names of the MPT (i don't have BIBM on my machine).
    • I bootet IFW from CD went in the menu of "Restore" clicked on settings and unchecked "use volume label" Then the partitions had "weird names" in like lots of spaces and 1 or two strange signs i do not remember. When i checked the option the had the same names i gave them in Windows. Is this normal? When i unchecked the box are this are the names from the MPT (they were not really a name)? So still No BIBM and no EMBR on my machine, never has been.

    Thanks for your answer! As you can see I'm still a little confused over this...
     
  4. MudCrab

    MudCrab Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Posts:
    6,483
    Location:
    California
    It only applies to EMBR type drives. BING or BIBM doesn't have to be installed, but could be. It's not a Windows feature.

    Normally, when there is no EMBR the option works the same either way -- the standard volume label is used. What version of IFW are you using? There were some label fixes in one of the last few versions. Otherwise, have you looked at sector 1 and verified there is no EMBR?
     
  5. WYC999

    WYC999 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2011
    Posts:
    74
    Hi Mudcrab,

    honestly i don't know what an EMBR is. I googled this some time ago when i puchased IFW, first 2 hits were from terabyte talking about BIBM - so i thought this is not a term for all Harddisk but something that they created for multiboot environments.

    On my machine is latest version of IFW 2.82 besides that only TBIView and the Terrabyte OS Deployment Tools.

    I have to say that I had long time Acroni TiH installed and lately i tested some imging programs on this computer: AXTM and ShadowProtect

    What is EMBR drive and how did this come to my machine? What i know is this the Option had an impact on my machine with checkmark in, it showed me - as you explained - the volume label.

    I looked it up again, if i uncheck the names looked like:" H P" or " # l "
    which has nothing (not even the letters) to do with the volume label.
    Where does this come from and how can i look for myself in the MPT?

    Have a good one!
     
  6. MudCrab

    MudCrab Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Posts:
    6,483
    Location:
    California
    You can't look in the MPT if there isn't one. BIBM configures the drive to EMBR when it's installed and you can (optionally) choose to convert other drives to EMBR. The EMBR starts at sector 1 and is contained in track 0. The MPT is stored in the EMBR and contains the partitioning information for the drive.

    It would appear that it's not there and it's just reading the characters that are there. Are all the partitions showing the garbage names or just some? For Logical partitions it could be getting the garbage label from the OS/2 Name space.

    In any case, it's not a matter for concern. Just use the volume labels.
     
  7. WYC999

    WYC999 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2011
    Posts:
    74
    well indeed they are all logical partitions the primaries are o.k. But what means OS/2 name space?
     
  8. MudCrab

    MudCrab Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Posts:
    6,483
    Location:
    California
    As far as I know, it's just where the partition is labeled -- bytes in the EBR that are specified for that use. Programs don't always manage it correctly or keep it in sync with the label Windows uses.
     
  9. WYC999

    WYC999 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2011
    Posts:
    74
    Thanks for for clearing that MudCrab,

    one thing i'm not really able to find out though, no matter how hard i google this is: is EMBR and MPT an "Ivention" from Terrabyte or is it some kind of standard

    This is a bit hard to find out, since when you google EMBR you get a hit for Wikipedia which directly links you GPT. BUT in the Software IFW if you click on change partition type during restore you can chose from MBR, GPT and EMBR which makes it sound like EMBR is not the same as GPT o_O
     
  10. MudCrab

    MudCrab Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Posts:
    6,483
    Location:
    California
    As far as I'm aware, the EMBR specification is TeraByte's. EMBR and GPT are not the same.
     
  11. WYC999

    WYC999 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2011
    Posts:
    74
    O.K. This was a bit confusing since Wikipedia redirected EMBR to GPT. But thx again..
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.