What is glb1a2b.exe

Discussion in 'ProcessGuard' started by WilliamP, Aug 14, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. WilliamP

    WilliamP Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2003
    Posts:
    2,201
    Location:
    Fayetteville, Ga
    This morning I have this Program Checksum in Doc. and settings temp [glb1a2b.exe ] What in the world is it?
     
  2. Phant0m

    Phant0m Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2003
    Posts:
    3,684
    Location:
    Canada
    glb1a2b.exe

    This may be a virus: Link1 or not: Link2
     
  3. WilliamP

    WilliamP Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2003
    Posts:
    2,201
    Location:
    Fayetteville, Ga
    Thank you for the links. I will have to see if I can understand them. I have Prevx on my system. It recorded three attempts by SVCHOST.EXE to mess with WUAUCLT.EXE I allowed it then SVCHOST.EXE did something to WINLOGON.EXE and that is when PG popped up and I allowed it. I believe that is when I got the Program Checksum. It started at midnight.
     
  4. WilliamP

    WilliamP Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2003
    Posts:
    2,201
    Location:
    Fayetteville, Ga
    This is real strange. I am behind a router and have a software firewall. I did a search for the exe. and it is in Windows Prefetch. I ran a TDS scan and found nothing or at least no problems that TDS recognizes. I don't know what to do. o_O
     
  5. nick s

    nick s Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2002
    Posts:
    1,430
    I found references to glb1a2b.exe here: Discussion: GLB1A2B EXE. To verify, I installed Ad-Aware SE Plus (got the link from Lavasoft last night) and glb1a2b.exe appeared up in my Temp folder after the install completed. Was not there before. KAV says it's clean. I would consider it harmless. If you want to compare checksums:
    MD5 - 717FE667326A70644D174A252371DFE1.

    Nick
     

    Attached Files:

  6. nick s

    nick s Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2002
    Posts:
    1,430
    Also found the following pending operation:

    WhyReboot Version 1.0.0.500
    Exodus Development, Inc. http://www.exodus-dev.com

    NOTE: These results may not reflect all pending operations,
    and you should use your own good sense in deciding whether
    to reboot your computer after an install.

    Windows NT, 2000, XP, or variant

    Results:

    REGISTRY: PendingFileRenameOperations
    > DELETE C:\DOCUME~1\Nicholas\LOCALS~1\Temp\GLB1A2B.EXE
    REGISTRY: PendingFileRenameOperations END.

    1 item was found and reported.

    Nick
     
  7. WilliamP

    WilliamP Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2003
    Posts:
    2,201
    Location:
    Fayetteville, Ga
    I did a search and glb1a2b.exe is in Windows Prefetch. Not sure whats going on . I did download Ad-Aware SE yesterday.
     
  8. Tassie_Devils

    Tassie_Devils Global Moderator

    Joined:
    May 8, 2002
    Posts:
    2,514
    Location:
    State Queensland, Australia
    I had the same file, in Temp [yes, I installed my AdAware PLUS version]

    I simply did a cleanout of my Temp files with CrapCleaner, MRUBlaster and InternetSweeper [made sure] and all ok for me.

    TAS

    edit: Yep, also found in Prefetch... once again, I used a PrefetchCLeaner and zapped it also.
     
  9. WilliamP

    WilliamP Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2003
    Posts:
    2,201
    Location:
    Fayetteville, Ga
    Thank you all for the replies. I feel better. Ad- Aware is another thing. I was send an E Mail to download SE Plus but it won't install. Running the Personal version waitting on support.
     
  10. nick s

    nick s Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2002
    Posts:
    1,430
  11. Tassie_Devils

    Tassie_Devils Global Moderator

    Joined:
    May 8, 2002
    Posts:
    2,514
    Location:
    State Queensland, Australia
    You are saying you were sent email for your PLUS link of the new SE version, but it won't install?

    Obvious question I suppose, but did you uninstall any previous versions first?

    And by 'won't install' you mean once you dl'd the new PLUS version, and tried running it, it just hangs, or goes thru the motions on installing, but does not seem to work? Just curious about that.

    TAS
     
  12. WilliamP

    WilliamP Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2003
    Posts:
    2,201
    Location:
    Fayetteville, Ga
    I finally got it to install this morning. I'm not sure what the problem was ,but I'm glad that I was able to get it done. With the old version I had Ad Watch disabled,because I have PG also Prevx. I'm going to let it run and see what happens. Back to your post . I had removed the old version. SE downloaded fine but when I tried to install it I got a popup window saying the ther was an I/O error due to a corrupt file.
     
  13. Phil_G_stl

    Phil_G_stl Guest

    It is a Ad-Aware installer that comes with updates. It can be deleted...
     
  14. Davidd

    Davidd Guest

    How can I delete these garbage things that slow down my machine?

    Thanks.
     
  15. Gavin - DiamondCS

    Gavin - DiamondCS Former DCS Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2002
    Posts:
    2,080
    Location:
    Perth, Western Australia
    I've seen this filename only in cases with a certain install program, it is a temp file and can be ignored

    Davidd - you can delete the files in the "TEMP" folder, if any are in use they wont delete, everything else will. If you have other problems or possible trojans try TDS and you are welcome to email us at support for more help with scanning/cleaning
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.