What is a simple Realtor to do

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by dannybye, Sep 14, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. dannybye

    dannybye Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2007
    Posts:
    2
    Hello All,

    I've just purchased my 1st lap top. a Dell Vostro 1500 dual core processor 1.66mh with 2gigs of ram

    I now am using a fairly old desktop system with only 512k of ram. Recently I had to renew my Norton Internet Security lic. 2007 is what got installed The desktop slowed down to a crawl when I'm using my internet based MLS whenever I click on a certain function in the MLS 100% of my system resources is used up and I can't do anything else until the new screen opens up in my MLS

    My knowledge of computers is really somewhat limted. By reading these forums I more confused on what to do. I like the idea and simpleness of a security suite. My son swears that I should use Zone alarm, Other articles I have read and your forums experts forum say use Kaspersky, bitdefender, AVG and on and on ... including Norton again. Zone Alarm in this forum is really not mentioned

    1. If I use Norton again with this new machine/laptop will I have the same problems again ... Is this a fair question?

    2. If not Norton what's best for a non techie like me who is on the computer at least 6 hours a day.

    3. By the way I do not game I just do simple text work and e-mails all day long

    Thank You
     
  2. WSFuser

    WSFuser Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2004
    Posts:
    10,632
    Most posts I read about Norton 2007 say that it is light; so I think it would run well on your new computer.
     
  3. JerryM

    JerryM Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2003
    Posts:
    4,221
    There is only one way to know; try it.
    Norton 2007 has been given some good informal reviews by forum members. I would give it a try, and unless you do no one can tell you how it will work for you.

    Best,
    Jerry
     
  4. bigc73542

    bigc73542 Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2003
    Posts:
    23,873
    Location:
    SW. Oklahoma
    Norton 2007/2008 antivirus does run pretty light on resources. But on an older less powerful machine it could present a noticable load on the system. But on a newer machine it will run very well.

    bigc
     
  5. dannybye

    dannybye Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2007
    Posts:
    2
    So then for a non techie stay with Norton and buy Norton Internet Security 2008?

    The new laptop with 2gigs of ram and dual core processor should handle this piece of software ok rather than the old Celeron processor 512k which brought my working in the MLS to a halt

    It sounds like some consensus to me

    Thnaks guys
     
  6. ccsito

    ccsito Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2006
    Posts:
    1,579
    Location:
    Nation's Capital
    That's because Zone Alarm has its own forum. Certain software programs have registered to have their product included in this particular forum. Zone Alarm is not one of them.
    1) It depends. Maybe or maybe not. Since the hardware configuration will most likely be different, I would say no, but you have to use it to see if it creates the same problem
    2) There are other security suites such as McAfee, AVG, Kaspersky, Trend Micro, Panda, etc. I don't use suites and prefer to select individual programs. If you wish to use light resource programs, I think Avira is good as an Antivirus, and LookNStop is good as a firewall. Zone Alarm and Outpost are two products with a longer history than others. But I don't know if the newer versions are resource friendly or not. Zone Alarm is the simplest firewall to setup, other than the Windows firewall.
    3) Since you do mostly non-demanding type of work on the PC, you should not need to install boatloads of security software on it.
     
  7. Davidpr

    Davidpr Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2006
    Posts:
    92
    I have been running Mcafee Virus Scan Plus on a 256Mb laptop for a few days and the machine runs ok. Other more popular suites/combinations slowed it up noticably.
     
  8. mercurie

    mercurie A Friendly Creature

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2003
    Posts:
    2,442
    Location:
    Sky over the Wilders Forest
    I am by no means a McAfee "fanboy" but on my vintage 2001 Compaq with the same amount of ram as Davidpr I have been pleasantly suprised thinking my old system would be bogged down too. I am seriously considering putting Norton 2008 on my other machine. My research indicates these old vanguards have come a long way in dumping the bloat while covering more and more nasty malware. When discounted they seem to offer good bang for the money. :)

    I wish I had a suggestion for the "simple realtor" as I am disapointed to hear about this. I would think on a new machine it would ran very well too.

    However, I certainly appreciate ccsito position on this as well...build your own suite.
     
  9. mercurie

    mercurie A Friendly Creature

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2003
    Posts:
    2,442
    Location:
    Sky over the Wilders Forest
    MLS online...in my office (at work) this can be slow on their end. :doubt:
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.