What is a 2 way Firewall program?

Discussion in 'other firewalls' started by truthseeker, Jan 26, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. truthseeker

    truthseeker Former Poster

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2008
    Posts:
    977
    Hello,

    I use the Vista built in Firewall.

    But I have read that it's only 1 way Firewall, and that I need a 2 way Firewall.

    What exactly is a 2 way Firewall?

    And is there a free one for Vista?

    Thank you
     
  2. lucas1985

    lucas1985 Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2006
    Posts:
    4,047
    Location:
    France, May 1968
    A firewall that monitors both inbound and outbound connections, binding packets to applications.
    Vista built-in firewall is 2-way (not by default)
     
  3. truthseeker

    truthseeker Former Poster

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2008
    Posts:
    977
    So how do I get the Vista Firewall to work 2 ways?
     
  4. AKAJohnDoe

    AKAJohnDoe Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2007
    Posts:
    989
    Location:
    127.0.0.1
    Actually, the Vista Firewall is two-way by default.

    It does not, however, permit auto-discovery of outgoing connections by programs; they must be discovered manually and configured manually.
     
  5. lucas1985

    lucas1985 Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2006
    Posts:
    4,047
    Location:
    France, May 1968
    Thanks AKAJohnDoe :)
    I stand corrected.
     
  6. Espresso

    Espresso Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2006
    Posts:
    975
    Outgoing packets are allowed by default whether you use the control panel or the Advanced Firewall interface.
     
  7. Diver

    Diver Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2005
    Posts:
    1,444
    Location:
    Deep Underwater
    The vista firewall in the outbound filtering mode is mainly designed to enforce IT policy. It will not pass many leak tests, if that is what you are worried about. Despite all the noise about leak tests, I believe them to be of dubious value.
     
  8. AKAJohnDoe

    AKAJohnDoe Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2007
    Posts:
    989
    Location:
    127.0.0.1
    Actually, my PC passed the GRC tests with only Vista Firewall active. However, I really prefer a firewall that provides an easy interface into program blocking for connections, incoming and outgoing. And that is certainly not the Windows Firewall. As examples of program blocking: the various instances of Windows Media Player and that oddball SPOOLSV.EXE.
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: Jan 27, 2008
  9. FadeAway

    FadeAway Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2007
    Posts:
    270
    Location:
    USA
    I share that opinion. If you do some searching you will find that
    many technically experienced members don't even use out-bound protection
    from a firewall, or if they do, it's not out of concern for leak tests.

    It seems to be a debate about personal preference based upon individual
    experience.
     
  10. AKAJohnDoe

    AKAJohnDoe Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2007
    Posts:
    989
    Location:
    127.0.0.1
    Agreed. I do use outbound (or, more correctly, Program) protection, but for specific programs and reasons, not for protection against some nebulous or euphemistic "leak".
     
  11. Stijnson

    Stijnson Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2007
    Posts:
    533
    Location:
    Paranoia Heaven
    Spoolsv.exe always freaks me out too -:)
    From which firewall is this screenshot taken AKAJohnDoe?
     
  12. lucas1985

    lucas1985 Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2006
    Posts:
    4,047
    Location:
    France, May 1968
    I guess it's Zone Alarm.
     
  13. AKAJohnDoe

    AKAJohnDoe Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2007
    Posts:
    989
    Location:
    127.0.0.1
    You are correct. It is ZoneAlarm AntiVirus on Vista.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.