What happens when...

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by symbiote, May 24, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. symbiote

    symbiote Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2006
    Posts:
    5
    Hi,

    i use acronis true image home 10. this is probably a silly question but i was wondering what happens when i'm in the middle of an incremental backup and i rip the power cord of my pc out of the wall.

    -will acronis detect that it didnt finish the backup when i try to open it?
    -will it try to use the unfinished backup to make more incrementations next time or will it be deleted?
    -if it makes new incrementations from the unfinished backup, then will the new incrementations be valid?

    oh almost forgot

    -can i use different builds of acronis true image home 10 and still continue using/restoring old backup files?

    yea sorry for all the questions, im sure you guys thought it out but i just want to know how acronis reacts

    sym
     
  2. DwnNdrty

    DwnNdrty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2007
    Posts:
    3,335
    Location:
    Florida - USA
    If you are not storing your incrementals in the Secure Zone, just use Windows Explorer to look for the unfinished incremental, delete it and start over. You should be able to identify it by date.
     
  3. symbiote

    symbiote Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2006
    Posts:
    5
    incomplete backups don't get deleted automatically the next time there is an update?
     
  4. Xpilot

    Xpilot Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2005
    Posts:
    2,318
    Why not pull the plug for real and find out?

    Xpilot
     
  5. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    17,039
    I wouldn't recommend doing this unless you have a tested restore.
     
  6. Xpilot

    Xpilot Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2005
    Posts:
    2,318
    The Op has TI 10 on his computer. If he has not already tested it it is about time he did.

    Xpilot
     
  7. thomasjk

    thomasjk Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2005
    Posts:
    1,477
    Location:
    Charlotte NC
    Agreed but not by pulling the plug! :eek:
     
  8. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello symbiote,

    Thank you for choosing Acronis Disk Backup Software.

    Please notice that if a backup process is interrupted (for example, by a power cut) the backup archive will be unfinished, inconsistent and unreadable. It will be automatically overwritten by next incremental backup.
    Yes, all versions of Acronis True Image support the backup archives created by earlier versions.

    You can find the detailed instructions on how to use Acronis True Image 10.0 Home in the respective User's Guide.

    Thank you.
    --
    Marat Setdikov
     
  9. symbiote

    symbiote Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2006
    Posts:
    5
    thank you
    that was very clear

    :D
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.