What Happens When Primary Snapshot Is Corrupt

Discussion in 'FirstDefense-ISR Forum' started by TerryWood, Mar 19, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. TerryWood

    TerryWood Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2006
    Posts:
    703
    Am a newbie to FirstDefense ISR and am at an early point in learning curve.

    Have got Primary and one secondary snapshot set up along with anchoring of personal folders. Then a thought occurred to me.

    If the primary snapshot, which I understand is the one mostly used, is corrupt for whatever reason what happens?

    Do I delete it (because it won't work?

    If I delete it I will be left with only a secondary snapshot does this matter?

    Or does the system recreate another primary snapshot?

    I can't see the point of calling them Primary & Secondary unless this relationship is always the case even after deleting a Primary Snapshot. Can anyone explain please

    Thank you

    Terry
     
  2. ErikAlbert

    ErikAlbert Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2005
    Posts:
    9,455
    Hi TerryWood - Welcome to the club.

    The primary snapshot is your WORK snapshot for daily use.
    The secondary snapshot is your ROLLBACK snapshot, which is used in case your primary snapshot is in trouble, whatever the cause may be.

    In case your primary snapshot is in trouble,
    1. Reboot
    2. Press the F1-key on the blue FIRSTDEFENSE-ISR Splash Screen, which appears BEFORE Windows starts.
    3. Select your secondary snapshot and you will reboot in the secondary snapshot
    4. Copy/Update from secondary snapshot (source) to primary snapshot (destination) and wait until it is finished.
    5. Right Click on your primary snapshot and click on "Boot to Snapshot" and computer will reboot in the primary snapshot.
    6. You are back in business as nothing happened.

    It's the intention that you keep your secondary snapshot always HEALTHY.
    If you test a new software in your primary snapshot, which is working fine and you like to keep it,
    copy/update from your primary snapshot to your secondary snapshot and the new software will be installed
    on your secondary snapshot also.

    If you test a new software in your primary snapshot and you don't like the software,
    copy/update from your secondary snapshot to your primary snapshot and the new software will be gone in your primary snapshot, as if it was never there. (FDISR is a 100% Uninstaller).

    I suggest you try all this and get familiar with the screens and take your time to read these screens.

    COPY/UPDATE is the most used function in FDISR and it creates always IDENTICAL snapshots.
    The source snapshot decides what the destination snapshot will be.

    If you have questions, just ask, we all were newbies once. :)
     
  3. ErikAlbert

    ErikAlbert Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2005
    Posts:
    9,455
    Another way to recover the primary snapshot is :
    1. Reboot in your secondary snapshot
    2. Delete the primary snapshot
    3. Copy/update from the secondary snapshot to a new snapshot and call it primary snapshot
    4. Reboot in your primary snapshot and you're back in business.
    The result is the same as the first method, but this method is slower.

    Never work with only ONE snapshot in FDISR, because that kills the Immediate System Recovery, the main feature of FDISR.
     
    Last edited: Mar 19, 2007
  4. TerryWood

    TerryWood Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2006
    Posts:
    703
    An absolutely super clear response. Thank you very much Erik.

    If the products as good as the forum we have a winner

    Terry
     
  5. ErikAlbert

    ErikAlbert Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2005
    Posts:
    9,455
    Your welcome. :cool:
     
  6. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    17,046
    Hi Terry

    Welcome to the forum. We do indeed have a winner.

    Pete
     
  7. Longboard

    Longboard Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2004
    Posts:
    3,187
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    Dont forget to keep an "Archive" on external disc
    Make copy of primary and update it as you need.
    Functions as emergency parachute/ last resort if req.
    Once created, will update/copy as fast as sytem snaps.

    AS per almost everyone else here have a good imaging tool for disc recovery.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.