What Happened with TI 8

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by frankb_c, Mar 31, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. frankb_c

    frankb_c Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2005
    Posts:
    28
    My problem is that they have win98SE as system and all programs. On a PIII-1000
    Upgrading to P4 2.8 and WinXP PRO. Would like to transfer "Everything" over.
    namely programs, not O/S.
    I have True Image 8 build 937, and Disk Director Sute 9 build 554.

    BUT.

    My first attempt, to Clone win98SE drive was a disaster. For reason's only known to .... TI crashed the system. The original O/S could not find some files of Win98SE, and so I proceeeded to re-install '98.
    That left me with a lot of programs that had no path, missing dll's, and on and on. Bad feeling and taste.
    I checked the HD I had cloned to and disaster same darn thing.

    When I clicked on the Icon for TI The TI Folder was empty. Not a single entry. Clean. what the?

    Other computers where I have used TI, no problem... just this one.
    Reason?
    Only thing left here is loaded the O/S (winXP-Pro) and load from scratch, using info from CD's that where imaged. Thank God for that bit, anyway. Pass the coffee.
    Had the wisdom to back up working files, before giving me the OK. So no lost DATA.

    Guess Image is good, if going on another partition.
    cloning is good or better if off site storage of main drive.

    Comments
     
  2. Allen L.

    Allen L. Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2004
    Posts:
    335
    Location:
    -Close-
    What you are attempting is not from a fault with Acronis True Image. TI will image your Win98 and restore it to another disk, complete as Win98, but what you are expecting is too much to expect of any program.

    You are best served to install WinXP to your new prospective WinXP system, and then re-install programs to your new XP system (the ones that will work with XP). After that, transfer your data files to the new system disk. Just consider the Win98 and it's programs 'old news', but use it to transfer all your needed data from the Win98 controlled disk to your XP OS disk. Programs don't transfer readily from an identical OS to a new system (motherboard, ect.), and for sure not from a Win98 to a WinXP transfer as they are vastly different systems.

    ...Allen
     
  3. frankb_c

    frankb_c Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2005
    Posts:
    28
    That's the way I'm going to go
    All new, than bring in data.

    BUT that does NOT explain why TI8 decided to crash the system and the cloned copy all in Win98SE.
     
  4. Chutsman

    Chutsman Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2005
    Posts:
    1,181
    Location:
    Brandon, Florida, USA
    You have a few options for transferring the data and you don't have to use TI for this.

    1. Use and external usb device whether it be hard drive or flash disk.
    2. Install the old drive in the new computer and simply copy the data from the old drive to the new one. But check whether doing this will void the warranty on the new system since the case will have to be opened.
    3. If it is not going to be too cumbersome, burn the data on to cd. This assumes you have a cd burner on the win98 system.
     
  5. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello frankb_c,

    Thank you for choosing Acronis Disk Backup Software.

    First of all, please make sure you use the latest build (937) of Acronis True Image 8.0. To get access to updates you should first register your software.

    Please note that during cloning process no data will be lost because the original disk is only being read (no partitions are changed or resized) until data transfer is completed. Unless you select manual mode for clone and select "Create a new partition layout" or "Destroy data" during the clone procedure. Additional information can be found in the Chapter 7. "Transferring the system to a new disk" in Acronis True Image User Guide.

    Please explain your step-by-step actions which you took that led you to this error. Did you use Acronis True Image Bootable Rescue Media or did you use Acronis True Image in Windows?

    Thank you.
    --
    Aleksandr Isakov
     
  6. frankb_c

    frankb_c Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2005
    Posts:
    28
    Please explain your step-by-step actions which you took that led you to this error. Did you use Acronis True Image Bootable Rescue Media or did you use Acronis True Image in Windows?


    Acronis True Image Bootable Rescue Media is what I used.
    As stated in my original message TI8 build 937.

    Would I have been better to use TI in Windows?

    At this stage, its for information only, as the HD and Back-up (clone) where scrapped. As Mentioned again it also took out any all files in the TI folder?
    Now That's an interesting topic to reply to, if you can.
    What would have caused TI to scrub itself out?
     
  7. tanviper

    tanviper Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2006
    Posts:
    11
    upgrade to XP :D
     
  8. frankb_c

    frankb_c Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2005
    Posts:
    28
    That's exactly what I was proposing to do. And Now have done.
    Computer system is WIN XP PRO.

    Would that have have prevented the fiasco?
    What difference is there?
    TI 8 build 937 is supposed to work in WN98SE and WIn XP flavours!
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.