what happened to down load to TDS

Discussion in 'Trojan Defence Suite' started by little eagle, Feb 8, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. little eagle

    little eagle Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2004
    Posts:
    100
    Location:
    Texas
    o_Odont want to sound stupid :oops:but when i sent of for that great
    pack that had TDS WormGuard and port explorer.all I got was a nice email thank in me for the CK. did download the free version of TDSand they said that I needed to regester it ...... o_Otried that but you guys wanted more money :eek:ok i'm :mad:just kidding :)what do i do now o_O
     
  2. Gavin - DiamondCS

    Gavin - DiamondCS Former DCS Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2002
    Posts:
    2,080
    Location:
    Perth, Western Australia
    Hi,

    The "TDS Registration" email you have received has a file attachment, so click on the attachment icon - usually this is a paperclip unless you use some other email program. Choose SAVE Attachments

    And just save TDS3.KF to your TDS folder, probably in Program Files. Once the file is in place start or REstart TDS and it will find the file :)
     
  3. little eagle

    little eagle Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2004
    Posts:
    100
    Location:
    Texas
    Well got Port Explorer going :DWormGuard runs unregestered o_Oand TDS :eek:it no longer starts..got any ideas and remember i'm a newbe still.
     
  4. little eagle

    little eagle Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2004
    Posts:
    100
    Location:
    Texas
    Read Jooske's 12 steps to installing software every thing was going fine till my grandkids went home :'(
     
  5. Jooske

    Jooske Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2002
    Posts:
    9,713
    Location:
    Netherlands, EU near the sea
    And 82 more messages to go after that! Hi little Eagle, welcome!
    If you had TDS running, you copied in the TDS keyfile like Gavin described (maybe it came zipped or in other ways described exactly in the registration email) then it should all do like Gavin says, just restart TDS (maybe you needed a reboot if on a windows9x system, could be)
    and it should be up and running.
    WG might still say it's unregistered, that's a small bug that slipped in but it will keep working with the keyfile in it, and PE just does it, with the keyfile, unlock code and everything? wow!
    If it's still not going as it should we'll have to add a few extra steps to the practicle installation guide!
     
  6. little eagle

    little eagle Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2004
    Posts:
    100
    Location:
    Texas
    :eek:well guess I' got every thing going good except TDS believe I uninstalled it. :oops:when i try to install it i get an error that says that the program fills all ready exists.... :'(can i leave that one thier for CWS.and the other nasties and just reinstall into another file? :rolleyes: and can I now get rid of McAfee tired of thier update notices..every 15 min. :mad:
     
  7. Jooske

    Jooske Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2002
    Posts:
    9,713
    Location:
    Netherlands, EU near the sea
    What is the situation now, sorry english is not my first language so i have some difficulties understanding you.

    You did have the trial version of TDS running well, right?

    Since you put in the tds keyfile it no longer starts, right?

    Did you reboot after installing TDS and maybe after putting in the keyfile before you tried to start TDS?

    Which windows version are you running? XP?

    If you look with contr+alt+del in the task manager, do you see TDS running there? and if so does it say something like "not responding"?

    Do you get any error messages other then telling TDS already running or installed or ??

    Could it be you configured TDS to satart minimized so it is there but you don't see it?

    If you think you uninstalled TDS or if you want to do so look in the TDS directory if it's empty or look in the control panet add/remove and see if it's there or uninstall it from there if you really want to do so but make sure you keep your keyfile and any possible personal datafiles in a safe place.
    uninstall - reboot - reinstall in the same place where it was before.
    Did you have it in c:\TDS or somewhere like c:\program files\Diamond Computer Systems\TDS-3 ?
    It shouldn't make any difference, but there might be a reason, depending on your windows version to do it the one or the other way, this is why i ask.
    After install put the keyfile in and reboot, try again to start TDS. Try not to start it minimized, so you can see it running. And if you run XP don't lock the taskbar which would cause you not to see the icon appearing there (i configured "minimize to systray" so i have the quicklaunch button there)

    TDS at installing would never overwrite any existing files. If there is a warning about existing files and recommendation to keep the one installed follow such advices and keep to the installed or newest file there is.

    In this part i don't know about your possible infections, so if those could be there it is recommended to look in the autostart forum and follow the instructions to post a HijackThis logfile so the specialists can look if anything is wrong there.

    For mcafee support there might be people who know, but i suppose you could just change some settings so you don't see the update warnings but the updating is taking place silently in the background.

    Looking forward to your answers relating to the TDS questions i asked above.
     
  8. little eagle

    little eagle Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2004
    Posts:
    100
    Location:
    Texas
    :eek:i'm so smart :Dgot no idea what i did but when i restarted my computer TDS replaced missing files... :)then it updated by it's self now it's TDS-3 professional o_Odoes that mean I nedd to get my grand son to run it :eek: Jooske don't worry my wife doesn't under stand me either :Drunning windowes XP which shood be for kids 6-16years old..........after hitting Ctrl AltDelet.it said that TDS was running. thats when i restarted this computer.then it just started running TDS and replacing missing files o_OTks for the idea......got no idea if I made TDS minimized..dont know how to do that................and as to mcafee the pop ups are a bad idea hope that DiamondCS doesnt start doing that :)............Just another ? do I need to start TDS and WormGuard every time I restart? o_O
     
  9. Jooske

    Jooske Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2002
    Posts:
    9,713
    Location:
    Netherlands, EU near the sea
    Hi again!
    WG is running all invisible in the background: after installing that and putting the keyfile in it is just press the "install" button after which you can press the "test" button to get a message protection is installed, and you can close the thing. When it detects anything suspicious it will jump up with some message and advices so you can decide what you want to do with a file.

    TDS i start it manually after windows reboot, others prefer to have TDS in the autostart.
    In the console, TDS > Configuration, tab Startup in the right column you see options for running TDS at windows startup or not, minimizing to taskbar or systray and starting normal or minimized.
    When you're satisfied with your settings just save and hide the configuration console.
    In TDS (upper left) find Exec Protection and install that. This is a resident part in TDS which checks all executable files for malicious code before they are allowed to run. For this to be possible TDS needs to be running. It still runs when minimized, don't worry!


    TDS has no popups or it should be with errors!

    For changing anything in the configuration, in the console under TDS > Configuration.
    Now has FanJ been so kind to make a very nice step-by-step basic settings configuration thread for all of us, with explanations and screenshots, which is in the sticky threads in this forum.

    You're right for the XP for 6-16 year olds, as those guys are born with computers so they learned to work immediately with the XP, at least most of them, but mind you, older generations (of people i mean) know also former windows versions and even MSDOS! Which knowledge is really useful in urgent situations like replacing or renaming a file in MSDOS and lots of other things!


    Oh you want TDS popup to you?
    in the bottom of the console type
    msgbox "Hi Little Eagle!"
    (exactly as i did with the quotes)
    after the return/enter if your windows scripting engine is working as it should you should get a little messagebox in the center of your screen with that text.
    If your speech part is installed correctly,
    i have something here for you:
    '-------------------------------------------------------
    msgbox "Hi!"
    speak "Hello! Little Eagle!"
    '-------------------------------------------------------
    In TDS > SS3 > SS3 editor > copy those two text lines between the lines, save in the Scripts folder as HelloLE.SS3 and close the file, SS3 > Load script > doubleclick this HelloLE.SS3 file you just created and it should show the messagebox, press the OK button and you should hear TDS talk to you.
    I hope you grabbed from the TDS download page the speech and scripts parts to make this all very successfull and with this you have just created your first script!
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.